We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there !!!”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go there !!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a hotel with very very unfriendly and rude people behind the desk ! when I arrived in the rain in the early evening, before I asked a question, the blond bimbo behind the desk already had decided they where fully booked, geus wat happened when I asked for a room, they did not ask for a reservation, they just asumed I did not have one and showed me the door.

Now how rude is that !!!

Room Tip: don't go there if you wanted to be threated with respect !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagar2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
20
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is great. Large, clean rooms. Excellent selection of TV stations. A restaurant on-site. Everyone is friendly, and helpful. I really liked having a mini-balcony with a full door to let in the cool breeze.

I had dinner in the hotel one night. The meal came with bread and olives. I had a prawn appetizer (prawns in mint creme) and venison with a mushroom sauce. A nice Hansa beer as well! It was all perfectly prepared and very tasty. The venison was so tender I did not need a knife.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It is included in the rate...but when I was down for breakfast many items were out, including the scrambled eggs and crackers I like to have with my salmon.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that in the summer, it never really gets dark and the sun rises early. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Having stayed at the Park Hotel on and off for the last 13 years, I still find it, the hotel of preference, over all others in the immediate area.
All the normal hotel accolades, like cleanliness, friendliness, etc aside, the restaurant, which has always been of a high standard, has suddenly taken on a new persona.
The normal a la carte menu, together with a daily special, has been replaced with a "super daily special", which consists of a starter, two main course choices, and a dessert, all at a very reasonable price,
"Not much to choose from there" one might think. True, but this menu changes daily, so during the course of a weeks stay, one does not have to eat the same thing twice.
But above all things, the standard of the food is now of such a high quality, that it will equal, or even surpass, that expected of a 'Michelin Starred' type of restaurant. You have to try it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This small hotel provides more than you would expect on first sight. The rooms are newly renovated, clean and well equipped.
I liked the breakfast-buffet with norwegian specialities (but also a good choice of the usual stuff) and a waffle station.
Staff was very friendly and helpful at any time.
Not located near the water, but the harbour is in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Park Hotel Halden is where we chose to spend the night after a splendid concert with Leonard Cohen at the pittoresque Fredriksten Fortress which towers over this sleepy little town. The hotel has all the amenities you need in a situation like this: free parking, free internet, free breakfast buffet, etc. This service staff is very friendly and forthcoming. We were able to check in at 2.30 and rest before the evening. We also had excellent sandwiches before the concert at 4. p.m. We would definitely use this hotel again, if we ever needed to revisit Halden.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i12bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SP
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel has a friendly atmosphere. The staff is well trained and sympathetic.
The room is recently renewed but it is a little impersonal. The air-conditioner was turned off, even it was during beginning of summer.
Breakfast is honest.
Free wifi and parking complete the package.
Just a contra: the blackout is not big enough to cover the entire window.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room we had last time was on the 3rd floor with a view to the cluster of houses down below. There was a small balcony. The room was quiet, clean and very cosy. All the staff members are helpful and the breakfast is quite extensive. It was very quiet the two times we have been here. We do recommend it, absolutely. Very comfortable bed; my rating: 9

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor, I think it's the old part of the hotel. we had 306.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halden
0.9 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#2 of 6 in Halden
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#4 of 6 in Halden
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Halden
Thon Hotel Halden
#1 of 6 in Halden
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
488 reviews
14.4 mi away
Scandic Sarpsborg
Scandic Sarpsborg
#2 of 2 in Sarpsborg
126 reviews
14.7 mi away
Stromstad Spa
Stromstad Spa
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Marcus Thranes gate 30, Halden 1776, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing