We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIMELESS ELEGANCE AND FANTASTIC FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After a slightly late arrival at 10pm, we arrived at what proved to be an oasis of elegance and tranquility. Beautifully appointed rooms, helpful staff and a much needed welcome glass of their own produced Vinho Verde! We then spent 4 lovely days in and around the town of Amarante (not a huge amount to do there), but we were into 4 days of relaxing by their very quiet pool area - they could have had a slightly better service here but we suspect that most people go out for the day visiting the nearby Douro Valley.

The breakfast was excellent - good choice of fresh fruit, breads and some hot breakfast for those who enjoy more of a "British" breakfast while away!

We had dinner one night - and chose from their fixed menu which including a bottle of wine was 89 Euros - this was very reasonable considering you are staying at a Relais & Chateaux hotel. The food was magnificent - we could not fault it in any way. With only a few people dining on their outdoor terrace the service we received was first class.

Rooms are large, very tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would not hesitate to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review about your stay at Casa da Calçada and about your experience in our restaurant. When the terrance is open, during the summer season and only when the weather is good, I recommend to have dinner there. It is fantastic.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

All the team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

After a tedious drive due to rain and fog we entered the small town of Amarante, We did not expect much because we knew that there was very little to see in the area. We asked for directions and everybody knew about the Casa da Calçada, the one painted yellow that could not be missed, and what a pleasant surprise that was! From the moment we walked in the door a cozy feeling seemed to wrap us around warmly welcoming us. We were ushered to agreat room with a lovely terrace right by the edge of the river Támega, overlooking the small old town with its church and ancient bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for room 407 in the top floor, overlooking the river and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay.
Glad to know that we were able to surprise you!
Amarante is a small town, but there are a few things to visit, like the famous Amadeo Souza Cardoso Museum (a museum that you wouldn't expect in such a small town), the Romanic churches, the beautiful Romanic bridge and the old town, full of typical Portuguese shops.

We hope to welcome you back again in a future.

PS: Room 407 is on of our best rooms being a Luxury Superior Room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked a deal through Fleetway Travel (travelzoo email). It included a hire car - don’t go for this without asking exactly what you’ll get and with which company. Plus you will need a transponder installed for the electronic motorway tolls - don't risk fines being ripped from your credit card if you've no transponder. We had Gatwick EasyJet flights and we also paid to upgrade to a Deluxe room from the standard Executive rooms (which have no view) for the whole week.

It started out with lovely late September weather, with plenty of time round the very attractive pool area. The hotel is very well sited, with views across to the main part of Amarante. Stay on the same side of the river and a cobbled street leads down past lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Go 400 metres and there’s a little supermarket. Amarante is also an excellent base for exploring. We went to Porto, Guimaraes, Vila Real, Lamego and along the Douro valley from Mesa Frio to Pinhao – the views from the Pinhao to Sabrosa road were especially beautiful. We always managed to find a space for our Ibiza in front of the hotel after the first day (there’s an overflow car park up the hill). Even when we had a few wet days we always found plenty to do.

The hotel staff were brilliant, buzzing around at breakfast, always friendly and helpful and despite being fully booked they managed to get us into a much better deluxe room (306) with wonderful views over Amarante, after a few days in a spacious but gloomy room with dark green walls and overgrown trees to look out on (203). Breakfasts were excellent, with lots of fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs and decent coffee. We ate in the restaurant 2 nights out of 7 (they did not vary the set menus and there’s no choice on these, so one set menu mid week plus one a la carte at the weekend was fine). The food was good and cheaper than London for that Michelin star quality. But there are also lots of choices at far lower price levels if you walk out. We went to Faustino 3 nights and loved it.

When we got back to the hotel each night we checked out the games room and always found the pool table free. Great fun before bedtime. Back in the room the wifi would be usable mornings and late evening. It’s good in that there’s no login fuss (it’s unsecured, free access) so it was easy to have laptop, phones and tablet all on the internet. Bandwidth limits meant that it was very slow before people went out for dinner. But I did manage to upload all our photos to flickr before we left.

Room Tip: 203 was a "deluxe" upgrade at an extra cost of GBP20 per day. Nice room but most of the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our beautiful house.
I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed every single thing in our house but also in Amarante, including Faustino Restaurant. There are also other excellent restaurants in Amarante, if you like traditional portuguese food, like A Eira Restaurant, Ze da Calçada and A Quelha, among many others.
We hope to welcome you again in a future!

Best regards from all the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Casa and would highly recommend a visit. The rooms are large, airy and comfortable and are beautifully furnished. The hotel is in the centre of Amarante which makes a short break a really easy option with plenty to wander out and see on foot. We also caught the bus up to Oporto which was very easy to do and had a great day out at the annual wine festival (September is a good month!). The hotel's staff are delightful and are very helpful. Breakfast is continental and delicious with an excellent range of fruits, breads and other cold treats. Our crowning delight however was dinner in the Michelin restaurant on our first and last night. Quite superb menus, wonderful service and a fabulous treat. I would recommend the Casa to any couple looking for a good value, but elegant break. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay in our property.
Glad to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.
September as you mention, is a great period to travel and is the period when starts the picking of the grapes! Beautiful colors all over the area.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon to Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked our 4 night stay through Fleetway Travel to celebrate my 60th birthday and paid a supplement for a room upgrade. On arrival, having negotiated a way in with the marshalls of a cycling event who had blocked the entrance to the hotel and the direct road in, we were given our room even though we had arrived early. Unfortunately this room (102) didn't live up to our expectations. It was a room for disabled guests so although it was large with a huge bathroom it was also very dark with no easy chair just a put-you-up bed in one corner and it overlooked the road to the rear and car park at the side of the hotel. We went to reception to ask for a better room as per our invoice confirmation from Fleetway but were told that we had been given a 'luxury' room as per the Fleetway booking. They couldn't move us on our 1st night but for the remaining 3 nights we were given room 303 which was better in terms of lighting and comfort but still overlooked the entrance when we had expected a river view room. All in all we were disappointed that we had had to move on the morning of my birthday.
Because we were going to have the tasting menu on our 2nd night we ate out on our 1st night. The hotel only serve the a la carte or tasting menu on Saturday and Sunday.
The tasting meny was excellent with wines to match chosen by the sommelier. Unlike a previous contributor I didn't receive a birthday cake.
The following 2 nights we also ate at the hotel and had the table d'hote menu which was excellent value but unfortunately it was the same menu on both nights. We had expected that it would change each day.
The hotel has a lovely pool area with comfortable sunbeds and umbrellas for shade. There is a small bar there too that serves lunch but we were not able to try it.
Breakfast was excellent throughout but like other guests we would have loved tea/coffee making facilities in our room but understand that this is a conscious decision by the hotel.
Parking at the front of the hotel is limited but they were quite happy to valet park our car for us in the rear car park and bring it to reception when we needed it.
We also noticed that Fleetway Travel had checked in both flights for us on our behalf which wasn't a problem but having the original booking email reference would have been useful although it's Ryan Air who charge for changes not Fleetway Travel as a previous contributor has suggested. We did have a problem getting our car at the airport as there was no meet and greet as indicated by Fleetway and we had to make a phone call to the hire company who came out to collect us and take us back to their office to get the car.
We would recommend this hotel and Fleetway Travel but next time I will confirm the exact room type and position in writing before booking.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us.
I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, since our main objective is to make sure that all our guest are happy.
About the room you were allocated, the first one 102, is a Luxury Room, since it has view over the front Garden (also the entrance to the house) and also has a window, to the back road (like all our executive rooms). Only our Luxury Superior rooms and over, has views over the river.
I'm glad that our team was able to move you to a better room, 303, also a high up floor with views over the river and city at no extra charge (as I said before our objective is to make sure our guests are happy). In terms of the lighting, this is the decoration of our house. The whole hotel is a bit dark, but this is the charm of it. Now in January we will invest in putting some more lights in the rooms to make sure we resolve this problem.
About the birthday, I'm sorry that we didn't congratulate you and give you our birthday amenity. I have checked up in our records and we didn't have this information with us. I will check it out with FleetWay.
I really hope that we can welcome you soon again, and make it up for the "bit disappointed".

Thank you in advance from all the Team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent five nights at this beautiful hotel in the town of Amarante. The bedroom was well furnished and comfortable and kept immaculate by the staff. We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room but that was a minor consideration. We arrived mid morning and were delighted that our room was ready fearing that we would be unable to gain access until the afternoon.
It was my wife's birthday during our stay and we decided use the restaurant and have the tasting menu accompanied by the sommelier's wine selection which was an excellent choice as the food was delicious and the wines a very good match. At the end of the meal they brought a chocolate cake covered in fruit to celebrate her birthday.
The weather was very warm and we spent a couple of afternoons by the pool lounging on very comfortable sunbeds and enjoying the views as well as the cool water of the pool.
The whole experience was enhanced by the staff who were friendly,knowledgeable and helpful in every way. They provided with excellent information for our trip to Porto.
Our stay was a wonderful experience.
Like a number of guests we arranged this break through Fleetway Travel who charged additional fees to make any changes to to the Ryan Air flight such as checked baggage or priority queuing. Other travel companies have provided the email address they used for the original booking so that we can make these arrangement free of charge. We expect to be exploited by Ryan Air not by the travel company who we will not use again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our house.
I'm really happy to know that you and your wife had a great time among us. I'm also happy to know that your wife, in such an important date "birthday", decided to spend it with us.
We look forward welcoming you again in a near future.

Thank you in advance for beliving in us.
The whole team at Casa da Calçada Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We spent a brilliant relaxing week. We ate on the terrace and had fabulous food. The pool was very pleasant and had great views. The chateau had character and the rooms were comfortable. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueamaranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol J, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our charming house.
I'm really happy to know that we were able to deliver a relaxing and nice stay for you and your partner. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Thank you in advance from all the team at Casa da Calçada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarante
4.3 mi away
Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel
11.6 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Navarras Hotel
Navarras Hotel
#4 of 4 in Amarante
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
792 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
17.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Address: Largo do Paco, 6 | Amarante, Amarante 4600-007, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Amarante
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Amarante
Price Range: £105 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Calcada Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Hotel Amarante
Casa Da Calcada Relais & Chateaux Portugal/Amarante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing