We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Odivelas, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a great view”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms have space enough with big bathrooms. This hotel is on the top of the hill and we take 15 minutes walking to the city centre. The view over the city is amazing.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo_Marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    231
    141
    37
    16
See reviews for
150
288
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Good large comfortable rooms; clean towels every day if you need them changed - though the bath towels are huge and the Portuguese air dries things so quickly. Lovely restaurant next to the clean blue pool with outstanding views down to the red roofs and golden sands of Nazare. Friendly efficient staff and if you travel with Newmarket -though there are other solo guests from other parts of Europe who seem to have luckily found there was space for them via the internet - there is Maureen to find you your taxi or arrange a trip by local bus on the days the tour company is not taking you to Lisbon, or Obidos or Fatima - all places you MUST surely want to visit. the little village of Pedereino surrounds the hotel - there is a beautiful little square with a fine church at one end and a bus stop at the other; close by is a small bar where you can pick up a couple of beers from the fridge to take out to go with a picnic and another livelier bar round the corner... as the hotel out of season (i.e June) doesn't seem to man the little corner bar next to the room with the pool table. There is a lift for the less mobile to go up to floor three breakfast room (or down to the basement access to the pool and restaurant) One of the best little hotels we have stayed at with Newmarket tours -great value .

Room Tip: Room 107 if you are disabled as the lift is nearby and floor 0 has a ramp to get you to the poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have had a brilliant time in Portugal and was very impressed by Newmarket Holidays and the Miramar Spa Hote, just fantastic and so glad we booked.

Our tour guide was a lovely lady called Maureen and she was a brilliant guide and very helpful throughout. I would love to take my Mother on another Newmarket holiday in the future. We loved the excursions and the optional ones are well worth paying a little extra for but most trips are included in the holiday price

Would recommend both Newmarket and the Miramar Hotel & Spa to anybody. The Miramar is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I travelled with Newmarket & have done so before. This hotel was better than their usual standard. With Newmarket you sit together as a group & we enjoy that interaction. I thought the food was of a very good standard, the room was fine as was the pool. No complaints whatsoever & the spa was available for a few euros plus cost of any treatments. Wine on ice at your table was 14 euros a bottle. The only minor downer was that spirits were way too dear at 6.5 euro for 50mm. The room would empty at the end of the evening meal as people headed for the local taberna 200 yards away where a J&B set you back 1 euro! or a Jameson for 1.5 Euro. Hotel also has a great view of Nazare. The trips out are interesting but a long way away, 70/80 miles for Lisbon or Cascais. Overall though it was good fun & most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Location: wow - great view over Nazare and the Atlantic Ocean - but need a car for everything.
Hotel itself: Rooms superb (all seaview - beautiful and breath in the fresh air!) but ! small! ! Ok for us even with 2 kids (3 and 5 years old), but not the size as one might expect / be used to. Great restaurant on the topfloor - staff amazingly good; prices according to category but - considering the quality of the food - worth the value. Swimming pool small, but view must be honoured - I do NOT want to miss a single minute in it (makes up for all the times we were not able to go to the sea at the beach due to high waves).

Nazare: definitely a hit for the old part of the city. As can be seen on Youtube - the old sexy! - ladies of Nazare with their pettycoats are memorable and sooooo super friendly and open to tourists - respect! Buying souvenirs from them is definitely an experience to remember and no rip off.

WARNING: beach / sea. As much as I loved it - I would never go there again with my small kids. We saw dramatic scenes at the beach; our daughter refused to go even nearer than 50m near the sea and our son (5 years) got almost flushed away by the waves. Not a joke - 2 weeks later a six year old and her mother drowned because the sea sucked them in while they were on a walk along the beach ... I still have nightmares when I remember the waves and what could have happened to my kids. DO take this seriously if you have kids. It is great for surfers (highest surf in the world), but definitely not for kids.

Room Tip: Do not go to the beach with small kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustriaPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Miramar Hotel claims to be a 4 star hotel but never in a million years will this hotel ever be anywhere near that rating. In my opinion it would struggle to achieve a 2 star rating.
During our stay we had no hot water for the first two days until a number of guests complained, only then did they do something about it.
Carpets in the communal areas were dirty and were never cleaned. Some greasy footprints appeared on the carpets the day after we arrived – they were still there when we left (see photo).
Lights did not work in the corridor (see photo) and those that did only came on when you reached the end.
In the Bar/Restaurant (where the food is served) the seating is nothing like it is shown on the Miramar Hotel website. It is extremely cramped and a better description would be to liken it to a canteen.
You cannot have a drink in the bar as it is constantly set out for dining. The only place to drink is outside.
The food was the worst thing about this hotel, it was DISGUSTING. I would honestly say that it was the worst food that I have ever tasted in my whole life (67 years). Here are some examples:-
You only had the choice of one “soup” each day. This was usually a variation of cabbage soup variously called “Vegetable soup”, “Farmers soup” and “Green soup”. One day we were served, for a change, “Chicken Broth” which looked and tasted just like lukewarm water.
You had the choice of one meat dish and one pasta dish on one day, the next day you would only have the choice of one fish dish and one pasta dish. If you didn’t like either it was bad luck – no other alternative.
Vegetables were only served on two occasions and were never fresh always tinned and cooked to death. Mashed potato was served on one day, they called it "Mushed Potato" (which accurately describes it), it was like thick potato soup (made from powdered potato and far too much water).
One day we had a dish called “Chicken in Oven” this consisted of chicken, complete with bones, which had just been hacked into pieces and not cleaned properly because mine still had parts of the innards attached.
On one occasion my wife and I were last into the “canteen” only to find that a seat was not available for us. The seats that we normally sat in had been taken from the row of seats and reserved for guests who were paying extra for their meal. After another argument with the abrupt and rude waitress we were allocated one of the reserved tables.
On our last night there were no labels on the food so we did not know what we were eating – neither did the staff I might add.
There were only three ashtrays available and these had to be requested from staff who were not very fluent in English and not very interested.
This is a hotel to be avoided at all costs unless you are only Bed & breakfast, then it might possibly be OK if you are prepared for a two star establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms 109-117, 209-217 all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank_1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Don't be put off by older reviews of this hotel. It has been recently refurbished and the rooms are now as good as you would hope for in this grade of hotel. Only the bathrooms remain the same. It would have been expensive to replace all the marble, but they are clean.

The restaurants are serving adequate food, not cordon blue (if you stay on a Newmarket Travel package you don't expect that). There isn't a separate Bar to sit in, but all the restaurants double up as bars after you have eaten. There is no rush to move you out. The seating area outside one restaurant is beside the pool. That's OK if the weather is fine, not sure what it would be like if not!

In the main the staff were very good. They like you to enjoy yourself, and do there best to help. Understanding of English is, mostly, good but one receptionist seemed to have a little problem with her language skills.

The new Spa is very good, and cheap to use by UK standards. A full, one hour massage, costs 35 Euros (at Sept. 2012). Do the conversion to sterling yourself.

Not within the hotels control, but if you travel with Newmarket be aware (or beware) of the optional excursions. Don't book before you go, you may choose not to do them all. The hotel sits above the town of Nazare, which has little to do after the first visit. You wont want to spend you holiday trying to find things to do and see in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms 107 to 115 were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_in_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nazare
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Praia
Hotel Praia
#5 of 10 in Nazare
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#3 of 10 in Nazare
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mar Bravo
Hotel Mar Bravo
#4 of 10 in Nazare
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adega Oceano
Adega Oceano
#6 of 10 in Nazare
282 reviews
3.9 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel & SPA

Property: Miramar Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua Abel da Silva 36 | Pederneira, Nazare 2450-060, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Nazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Miramar offers a panoramic pool and natural light spa including a turkish bath, hot tub, gym and relaxation area. Located 700 metres from Nazaré beach, the hotel features 2 restaurants, 1 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.All rooms are simply furnished and fitted with large windows, most of which overlook the Atlantic Ocean. All have flat-screen TV with cable channels, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can experience international cuisine and a variety of Portuguese delicacies including seafood and spicy dishes at Miramar’s restaurant. Light snacks, speciality wines and beers are available at the Mar Aberto wine bar.The Miramar has an entertainment and lounge area which has a pool table, a TV, and a computer with free internet access. Relaxation treatments including massages are available at the Miramar Senses spa.Miramar Hotel is less than 10 km away from Valado Railway Station. Forte de Sao Miguel Arcanjo is 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miramar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Nazare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing