We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst this is a nice hotel it is certainly not a 4 star. The spa area is nice but it's €5 per person to use the spa pool and Turkish bath. Not a long walk from town and a taxi will cost about €4. Lovely views from the pool and. Staff are nice and friendly

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    220
    129
    35
    15
See reviews for
141
272
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Miramar. The hostess welcomed us without a smile, gave us the key and when I asked if she had a city map, told me she was too busy to give it to me. There was only one other couple waiting after us. When I said I didn't need directions, just the map she told us to come at another time. The room was ordinary, very plain. The mini bar was empty.the air conditioning remote wasn't working. My husband had to go and get new batteries for it. There is no parking reserved for this hotel and we were lucky to find a spot on the very narrow surrounding streets.
It is on top of a hill which makes for a fantastic view while having breakfast. It is within walking distance to the beach ( 10 minutes brisk walking downhill), ( 20 minutes back as the hill is steep).It was Saint Peter's holiday and a few feet away from our window, in a small park, festivities went on till the wee hours. Loud singing kept my husband awake. Better to check if the reserved days fall on a Saint's birthday as apparently, these festivities are common.
We would chose another hotel were we to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaboudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Miramar is a very nice hotel. It has spectacular views over the coastline, and the pool area is fabulous. The spa is EXCELLENT - lovely treatments and great value.

Most of the staff we encountered were very nice, but there was one outstandingly rude receptionist who really took the shine off the place. She was increadibly unhelpful - she even put the phone down on my friend at one point when we queried our room allocation.

On that note, we booked via booking.com and we paid extra for a sea view and balcony/patio. When we got there we had no patio. We were eventually told by the (nicer) receptionist that booking.com has no authority to guarantee patios (which we thought was strange) but they did find us a vacant room with one, so it worked out fine.

Finally, the hotel advertises as 800m from the beach. Which is probably true, if you have wings and can fly down the hill. But in reality, it is a 10 min walk (and we are relatively quick walkers) down a pretty steep hill and a busy main road to get to the town. We didn't mind it too much, but anyone with fitness/health issues would struggle to leave the hotel. There are no taxis in sight anywhere in Nazare and the hotel's shuttle bus service appeared to go only 6 times a day for the princely sum of €10 (a total rip off).

Overall, we had a great time in Nazare. The Miramar gets a mized review but there are so few other places to stay, it will probably still continue to get a lot of business!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel has a great location on the hill of Nazaré, therefore there is a very nice view on the bay from certain rooms. The hotel is kind of used, the rooms are clean but not very fancy anymore. The breakfast was very poor, you would expect far better in a 4* hotel. If you want to go to indoor pool (very small one), you have to fill in a form and than you have to wear a cap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedlackojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The staff is friendly and efficient and the rooms have space enough with big bathrooms. This hotel is on the top of the hill and we take 15 minutes walking to the city centre. The view over the city is amazing.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo_Marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Good large comfortable rooms; clean towels every day if you need them changed - though the bath towels are huge and the Portuguese air dries things so quickly. Lovely restaurant next to the clean blue pool with outstanding views down to the red roofs and golden sands of Nazare. Friendly efficient staff and if you travel with Newmarket -though there are other solo guests from other parts of Europe who seem to have luckily found there was space for them via the internet - there is Maureen to find you your taxi or arrange a trip by local bus on the days the tour company is not taking you to Lisbon, or Obidos or Fatima - all places you MUST surely want to visit. the little village of Pedereino surrounds the hotel - there is a beautiful little square with a fine church at one end and a bus stop at the other; close by is a small bar where you can pick up a couple of beers from the fridge to take out to go with a picnic and another livelier bar round the corner... as the hotel out of season (i.e June) doesn't seem to man the little corner bar next to the room with the pool table. There is a lift for the less mobile to go up to floor three breakfast room (or down to the basement access to the pool and restaurant) One of the best little hotels we have stayed at with Newmarket tours -great value .

Room Tip: Room 107 if you are disabled as the lift is nearby and floor 0 has a ramp to get you to the poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have had a brilliant time in Portugal and was very impressed by Newmarket Holidays and the Miramar Spa Hote, just fantastic and so glad we booked.

Our tour guide was a lovely lady called Maureen and she was a brilliant guide and very helpful throughout. I would love to take my Mother on another Newmarket holiday in the future. We loved the excursions and the optional ones are well worth paying a little extra for but most trips are included in the holiday price

Would recommend both Newmarket and the Miramar Hotel & Spa to anybody. The Miramar is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nazare
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#4 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mar Bravo
Hotel Mar Bravo
#3 of 10 in Nazare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Praia
Hotel Praia
#6 of 10 in Nazare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adega Oceano
Adega Oceano
#5 of 10 in Nazare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel & SPA

Property: Miramar Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua Abel da Silva 36 | Pederneira, Nazare 2450-060, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Nazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Miramar offers a panoramic pool and natural light spa including a turkish bath, hot tub, gym and relaxation area. Located 700 metres from Nazaré beach, the hotel features 2 restaurants, 1 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.All rooms are simply furnished and fitted with large windows, most of which overlook the Atlantic Ocean. All have flat-screen TV with cable channels, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can experience international cuisine and a variety of Portuguese delicacies including seafood and spicy dishes at Miramar’s restaurant. Light snacks, speciality wines and beers are available at the Mar Aberto wine bar.The Miramar has an entertainment and lounge area which has a pool table, a TV, and a computer with free internet access. Relaxation treatments including massages are available at the Miramar Senses spa.Miramar Hotel is less than 10 km away from Valado Railway Station. Forte de Sao Miguel Arcanjo is 10 minutes’ drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Nazare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing