We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality in Dracula-land”
Review of Vila Retezat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Retezat
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Ardfern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hospitality in Dracula-land”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were unfortunate with the weather in Sinaia. From a scorching 29C in Bulgaria, we got to Sinaia in the middle of a thunderstorm and a 12C temperature so our review reflects this, we hope not unfairly.
Vila Retezat it a huge Saxon-Gothic style house set several hairpins above the town. The rooms are traditionally furnished, large and very comfortable. Although very big, the house was warm and we were given a wonderful welcome by Carmen who manages the guesthouse. Carmen is hugely enthusiastic to give her guests all the information that they might need to make their stay in this spectacular place, as fulfilling as possible
Sinaia is famous for skiing, the Peles Palace and being close to Castle Bran, (legendary home of Count Vlad Tepec - Dracula). The town itself is ringed with massive, forested mountains so it has a gloomy feel. There are a few restaurants offering Romanian cuisine but, strangely, only one cafe, (which does very good coffee). The town, a former royal resort, is dilapidated with many streets dug up and left unrepaired.
There is a cable car which takes you high into the mountains but, to take advantage of this, you would need to be able to see the summits! We couldn't.
Carmen is a great hostess and would be an asset to any branch of the hospitality industry. Unfortunately, the town has a large population if uncontrolled dogs which bark all night, so take ear plugs.

Room Tip: Try to get the tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    30
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Vila Retezat is an historic house with many original features and some orginal furniture. It is in a good location to visit Peles and Pelisor castles and is not too far from the town centre. The stained glass windows are amzing and if you like the art deco/nouveau period, then you will love this place.

Carmen and the staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and the history of the vial. I cannot reccommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Stay in the room in the tower for beautiful windows and fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Sinaia was out first overnight. We wanted to see the palaces which are among the most spectacular palaces I have ever seen. The little city itself is on steep hillsides so a pleasant place. the Vila Retezat is an old house well kept and historical. It was very clean and well managed. Breakfast was a very reasonably priced extra served in a very nice room.

The woman cooperating the place was Greek and very informative and helpful.

The price is very reasonable.

I would go back

W C Kaesche

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scharmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Despite (or probably due to) the "Motel Bates" look, it's definitely a wonderful place: comfortable and well furnished rooms, great welcoming reception.
Unlikely we didn't try the breakfast, but the sight was promising.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkcecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was with my family in August 2012 for one night at this location, choosed trough Tripadvisor reviews. It was, as I wrote in title, a good report between price and quality. I paid RN 90 for a double room, but we slept 3 people, without any comment from Administrator Lady.
It is an old villa, from interbellic times, 50's years. Do not choose to eat there, because they are expensive, RON 25 per person, for breakfast. If you choose to eat in town it will be more cheapper.

Room Tip: I do not know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We recently spent 1 week there, after 20 years from our first stay. Then and now we have appreciated this beautiful villa and its rich decorations.
The hotel has an excellent position in Sinaia:not far from downtown (max 10 minutes “per pedes” ) and easy access to the highest part of this mountain resort.
Our suite (2 rooms) was clean & spacious, with large and comfortable beds, TV set and a big bathroom with Jacuzzi. The breakfast was good, besides that the lunch/dinner were tasteful, at reasonable prices (30-40% lower than in town).
Mrs.Monika,the owner of Retezat villa ,is a great host and an affable person. Mrs.Gabriela and all staff are friendly, always with a good recommendation: what to visit, where to go. All personnel speaks at least 2 foreign languages, the tourists are from all Europe and not only.
All in all,we had an excellent time and we would come to Retezat villa ,whenever we could.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luminita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#9 of 28 in Sinaia
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marea Neagra
Hotel Marea Neagra
#11 of 28 in Sinaia
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 28 in Sinaia
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Economat
Vila Economat
#12 of 28 in Sinaia
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Montana
New Montana
#10 of 28 in Sinaia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Retezat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Retezat

Property: Vila Retezat
Address: Cartier Furnica | Street Mihail Kogalniceanu nr. 68, Cod, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sinaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vila Retezat 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Retezat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing