We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ioana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ioana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Sinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Ioana Hotels for 2 nights in March 2012. The hotel is very well situated, not far from Sinaia town centre, but in a quiet, plenty of trees area. If you have a GPS map, or a plain mobile map application it shouldn't be too dificult to locate it. Otherwise, it may get a bit difficult, as there are too many hotel signs around Sinaia. I believe it to be difficult as well when reaching it from the railway station, wich is quite far. In this case, probably the best option would be a taxi.
The room we stayed in was really large, with a large balcony and bath. The rooms are really nice decorated, with natural stone bricks and relaxing lightning. I particularly liked the sink support, made in natural, patined wood, and the large bathroom window.
The bed proved to be a bit too high for our 3 years old boy, but was really large and comfortable instead.
The hotel has a restaurant as well and breakfast or lunch or dinner in there may be quite an experience, as it's placed out in the open and covered and heated during cold seasons. Tables are placed among tree trunks, on wood floors constructed over plain earth.
They offer a buffet breakfast, quite varied and tasty. The restaurant menu is also varied, but I haven't tried anything but salads.
While in there, you can benefit from free sauna and extra charge massage. They also offer free baby sitting (upon previous booking) and a children play ground that could use an up-to-date. "Taverna sarbului" restaurant is walking distance away, but I'd prefer having meals inside their own restaurants. If you're a wine drinker, you'll be surprised with the really high scores of most common wines, that may be found in any supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lienotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the nice words you said about our hotel and about our restaurant.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Ioana Hotels and we hope to see you back, soon.

Thank you for choosing Ioana Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    27
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
90
122
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were there one month ago and it was nice, confortably and very friendly for us as a family with little child (they have a play room, a courtyard with kids corner and even a dedicated toilet for kids). Very good taste for the design, very good services, a rich and original breakfast. Non-smoking rooms. Appartments on two or even three levels, some of them with own sauna and jacuzzi. Weak points: no great view from the rooms, not very tasteful restaurant meals, expensive hotel's bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Ms. Ambra,

Thank you for your feedback, your opinion it is very important for us.

We are glad you like our hotel and we hope you will visit us again, soon.

Thank you for choosing Ioana Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I decided to visit Sinaia and I was looking for a special place to stay, Ifound this hotel and I thought it looks good.And I was so right: everything is special in this place ,I found myself in this small romanian town entering the lobby with the feeling that I am in one of the most special hotels I ever been.
The building is new and the whole decoration looks superb,you can see that a lot of thought was invested in this building,everything is in the right place.
Rooms are beautifully appointed and have balconies ,very clean ,perfect service.
Everyone is not only very polite but also very friendly and willing to help .
Breakfast is excellent ,we also had dinner in their beautiful restaurant and we really enjoyed the food and the live music.
All in all, it is obvious that this hotel is very well managed,we will definitely return.

Room Tip: everything looks good to me but...take the higher floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Ms. Laura,

Thank you for your nice words, we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at Ioana Hotels and we hope to see you back, soon.

Thank you for choosing Ioana Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed for 1 night during business trip, i would have enjoyed it more with my girlfriend, very clean, polite staff from NEPAL, they really do smile a lot and they actually speak romanian:D, too bad you have to pay for the internet in the room and the drinks from the espresso in the room(i thought it was complimentary stuff)
otherwise pleasant experience, and the bed is amazing

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I spent there 2 nights with my husband , between the 23-25th of September, as we wanted a special treat for our third wedding anniversary. The hotel was fully booked and even if we had booked our room well ahead, what we got was a room on the first floor, for disabled persons (with all the paraphernalia in the bathroom) and extremely small, at the regular price.

I was shocked but it was 11 PM when we arrived and there was no other room available so we had to settle for the tiny room for persons with special needs.

The second unpleasant surprise was the lack of control regarding heating/climatization. It was crispy and we wanted a bit more heat, the doorman came to solve it but he could not do it himself, regulating the heating was not a possibility so we jumped under the blanket.

The toilet paper missing from the bathroom was the final straw and my husband had to call the reception to get one.

To get on the positive side, the hotel is exquisitely decorated, the staff was helpful and the restaurant is nice. The bed was also very comfortable. Nevertheless, I felt cheated after the week end there, as I wanted a regular room, I payed the regular price and what I got was a 12 sqm crowded special room, with no warning.
The hotel has a lot of positive aspects but when you label both in price and quality with 5 stars, you should keep that promise and Ioana Hotels overpromised and underdelivered in my opinion

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Asha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Superb Hotel very modern and tastefully furnished.
Very clean and comfortable, Nice rooms, comfortable bed, superb bath/shower room. Bath Robes, Slippers and L'OCCITANE toiletries provided.
Staff Pleasant and helpful - Particularly Dev.
The only downside for me was Wifi was 10 Ron Per hour or 40 Ron Per Day which this should have been included in the price of the room. Also there was a Lavazza coffee machine in the room for making espresso coffee this should also have been complimentary as on check-out we were charged 7 Ron per Coffee. (A bit excessive given its a pricy hotel)
From a safety perspective there was a serious 'trip' hazard on the first floor in the form of a live electrical extension cable plugged into a socket on the lift wall, this cable stretched directly across a main walkway on the first floor.
Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is a really lovely hotel. We originally booked in for two nights during a September holiday in Romania but ended up staying for five because we were having such a super time. Our room was lovely, it was a standard room but it had everything you would expect; big bed, fluffy towels, dressing gowns, nice toiletries. The staff were exceptional. Very friendly, nothing was to much trouble but the service was also unobtrusive. Absolutely spot on. The restaurant was also a real treat. Hotel resaturants always tend to be a bit bland - something you certainly can't accuse this hotel restaurant of being. The restaurant is in a tent (a very big, posh,warm tent!) connected to the hotel. It is called the forest resataurant and it is a great experience. The food was fabulous and there was also a great wine list to go alongside it. I would imagine this place is as lovely if not more so in the winter. We were there in September and did lots of walking in the mountains which was great. But you could certainly also use it as a winter ski-ing holiday base. I can't think of anything nicer than coming back to such a lovely hotel after a days ski-ing to a lovely fire and cosy rooms! All in all, we couldn't fault this place, modern, yet not out of keeping with the forest in which it is situated, cosy, comforting, lovely food great bar but above all great service. The staff were first class.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinaia
0.9 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.6 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#6 of 27 in Sinaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regal
Hotel Regal
#9 of 27 in Sinaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vila Camelia
Vila Camelia
#8 of 27 in Sinaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#4 of 27 in Sinaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ioana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ioana Hotel

Property: Ioana Hotel
Address: Sinaia Str. Calea Codrului nr 11-15, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Sinaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ioana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ioana Hotel is a 5 stars boutique-hotele, located in quiet surroundings, in the Bucegi mountains above Sinaia. It offers panoramic views, a spa centre and close to the ski slopes.All rooms at the Hotel Ioana are tastefully styled in pastel colours and feature high-quality beds and a balcony. Each of them comes equipped with a flat-screen TV. Bathrobes and slippers can be found in the elegant bathroom.The Cota cable car is only 300 metres away from the Ioana Hotel and the Peles and Pelisor Castles can be reached on foot within a few minutes. A minibus stops right in front of the hotel but the centre of Sinaia is also reachable on foot within 40 minutes.Spa facilities include a sauna, a hot tub and a wide range of massages.Unique in Romania, the Forest Restaurant serves international cuisine and local specialities to guests who dine surrounded by still growing trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ioana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing