We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel with a very good restaurant”
Review of Ioana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ioana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Ioana Hotel is a very nice boutique hotel, located in green area of Sinaia, close to Taverna Sirbului restaurant and the gondola.

The rooms are large, very modern, clean and well maintained, some of them having a balcony with forest view. They have one the bets beds I’ve ever experienced in Romania. The staff is very helpful and polite (the even offered a toy to my son at the arrival). There is also a very nice lobby with a chimney, free books and free wi-fi.

The big minus was that the hotel was quite noisy (we have stayed there from Fri to Sun) and the music from the restaurant can be heard very well into our room . We need to call the reception desk couple of times, around midnight, to convince the restaurant to turn down the music. Normally you expect a quiet place from a boutique hotel which was not our case (and I have seen similar comments from other guests…).

The hotel has a small SPA area with Jacuzzi and sauna that can be booked for you and your family.

The restaurant is really amazing serving very interesting food, outstanding food quality, excellent taste, looking very nice, very good services, a live band singing and of course for an expensive price but it worth any penny.

Room Tip: Don't go for restaurant facing rooms which may be very noisy especially during the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Andreica,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were glad to read your kind words.
Regarding the noise level, we assure you that it has been a unique situation, especially in the holiday season, as we always try to keep the music at an acceptable level.
We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Located on a quiet street, but close enough to the telesky. Big rooms, great restaurant (the ribs were perfect). The price is not a bargain, but... if you want a hot tub in your open space room and a fireplace....

Room Tip: Romantic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Mr. Mihai,

We are grateful for your review.
Besides the hot tub and the fireplace, certain rooms also feature a free iPad to be used during your stay!
Hearing that you have enjoyed the ribs has also been a delight to us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Special place, excellent located. Not many hotels like this in Romania and even abroad you cannot find same comfort at balanced costs.
The staff is friendly, paying attention at all details, all time improving ... I was there many times already.The restaurant - built in the forest - is amazing, the menu offers you various food specialties and drinks.
And the bar is nonstop open!

Room Tip: You sleep well everywhere, the boutique concept make you never get bored and curious to choose diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Mr. Eduard,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We were delighted to read how much you appreciate our property and team.
We wish that you will enjoy your next visit even more!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Ioana Hotel is definitely one of the best hotels in Romania but Romanian hospitality industry has always wonderful and disappointing things, in the same time.
The hotel has the best staff you may encounter in your trip in Romania - attentive, proactive, smiling - unfortunately rare features in the Romanian hospitality.
The rooms are nice and warm and the restaurant is truly unique and worth a lunch or a dinner. The children playground inside the hotel is great and attended in permanence by a caretaker.
The hotel disappoints in several aspects, quite unexpectedly. I will focus on these because the good things are already praised in many other reviews.
The way the smoking and non-smoking areas are separated is a disgrace. The (otherwise, excellent) bar near the reception has a smoking area but this is on one hand a passage area to the spa and to some of the apartments (which is disturbing and, obviously, against the non-smoking law) and, on the other hand, there is no door separating it from the non-smoking area, so any non-smoker will receive all the smoke from the nearby smokers. The smoke is getting also at the reception and in other common areas – it is a “boutique” hotel, so very small. The worst situation – that we had to face – was when cigars were used in the smoking area (they are offered at the bar, together with a good French cognac). The smell of the cigars is much stronger and transformed all the ground floor of the hotel, non-smoking area included, in a countryside pub. This is very surprising for a hotel where foreign tourist come in large numbers and where there are many families with small children. I hope this situation will change rapidly and the law will be observed. For this reason, it must lose a star, in my opinion.
The air in the rooms was always dry and there is no possibility to set the temperature at the desired level other than turning off some of the heaters.
The spa is a joke (maximum 2 persons sauna and a very small Jacuzzi, no fitness room or other facilities) but is true that half of the rooms enjoy their own private sauna and Jacuzzi.
The passages to all the rooms and apartments outside the central building do not have heating and are protected from the weather by a plastic foil! In a mountain area, where it is cold even in the summer time! We have been in February and had to cross some 30 meters in the cold when going and returning from the sauna – an unpleasant experience.
It is obvious that Ioana was not built to serve as a hotel but it was rather a residential complex, made of a central building, with apartments, and 3 or 4 separate villas. All these are now united by the precarious passages I mentioned, protected only by the plastic foil.
5 stars? No until it solves the issues mentioned above.

Room Tip: Take a room with its own sauna and jacuzzi. Some even have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Mr. Valentin,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property.
We do thank you for your compliments regarding our staff – they go through continuous training regarding our products and services, so that our team may keep improving.
Our hotel does have its own soul so to speak, and as we understand the importance of families needing someone to look after their children while on holiday, we have a lovely playground and a caretaker available for them.
We have a special area for smoking, but unfortunately not all of our guests respect and choose the non smoking area. We will be more careful with that from now on. Meanwhile, we already took out the cigars from our bar range products, for the same reason.
When talking about our spa area, it is true that it is not large. However, considering that we have a few apartments with their own spa areas and the fact that access to the public spa area is based on reservations and is done in an exclusive manner, meaning that we only have one family at a time attend that area for intimacy and relaxation purposes, we find the word “joke” a little bit exaggerated. We are not, nor do we wish to become an overly crowded hotel. We are aware that our guests come here for relaxation and privacy, and that is why we strive to provide them with individual experiences. You must have noticed the fact that even in the restaurant, our tables are separated through wooden walls for the same reason.
Ioana Hotels Sinaia was designed from the beginning as a five star boutique hotel, and that was also the final result. As you must have noticed, the architecture was not made for a standard and economical building ( as apartments building usually are ), you can see that all our special apartments are not in the same building with the rest of the rooms, and this was also done for privacy reasons.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope that on your next visit at Ioana Hotels you will only have positive feedback.

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A truly exceptional boutique hotel!
First of all, it has very good location, close to the "Telegondola". The staff makes you feel comfortable and taken care of. Rooms are decorated with good taste and beds are dangerously comfortable. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise - reach and varied, everything was fresh and of good quality. My favorite place in the hotel was the lobby which has a nice fireplace and a cozy atmosphere. I would like to recommend the massage - after a hard snowboarding day, it really saved me.

It's an amazing place for spending an weekend or a holiday, we stayed in twice until now and we are planning to come back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Anca,

Thank you for your kind words.
Our beds are, in fact, quite amazing, and all of our guests love them!
Also, we are glad that you have enjoyed the massage after your snowboarding day.
We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent more weekends in Ioana Hotel and every time we want to go somewhere special, we choose this particular hotel. Starting with the lobby - which is my favourite spot in the hotel - counting in the restaurant and the rooms, everything is decorated with exquisite taste and the staff is friendly and helpful. The last time we were there, it snowed for 2 days and the manager arranged for us to be driven to our car which was parked in the city.
Breakfast is excellent and you can choose for any taste - fresh fruits, pancakes, a variety of meat and cheese, different kinds of bread and a lot of other treats. For lunch and dinner, a la carte menu goes from average to high prices, but everything is carefully prepared and every time we were pleased both with the service and the quality of food. The atmosphere is very nice, entertainment matches with the design and all guests are treated very well. In few occasions we were alone in the restaurant, but they still had the live singers in the restaurant.
I recommend the massage and the spa area which were the perfect end for a beautiful day.

Room Tip: For a romantic weekend, choose romantic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonaPenescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Simona Penescu,

Thank you for this wonderful review!
We always strive to provide exemplary service, and reading your review has put a smile on all of our faces, because for us there is no better feeling than the recognition of our guests regarding our efforts.
During those two days of snowthat you mentioned, we had our driver on stand by for tansporting any guests who were in need of such services in order to avoid any unpleasant situations for our guests while driving to our hotel in the snow.
As for the music, we decided that regardless of how many guests we have in the restaurant, our singers should keep on playing, as the live music is part of the Ioana Hotels experience!
However, regarding the room tip for romantic getaways, we also recommend giving our Salt Lake apartment a try, as it features a spatious living room with a recently installed fireplace, a cosy bedroom and its own Spa area!
Nonetheless, we have several other surprises planned, so make sure you keep in touch!
Again,we thank you for this amazing review and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We started this year with an exceptional party in this lovely hotel. We were 7, 4 adults and 3 children. From 29 December 2013 to 3 January 2014 we stayed here, and we had a great time. This wasn’t the first time for us in this hotel, but they manage every time to surprise us whit their programs for children, with their ospitality, their attention for details and concern for our relaxation. The children had every day at least 3-4 hours of fun (baking, making cards, learning magic trucks, 3D cinema and contests). Meantime us, the adults, relax in the loby or retaurants, and had really great time.
We will defenetly return here.
Thank you Ioana Hotel for a great holyday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioana H, Guest Experience Manager at Ioana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season, as we have put in tremendous effort into creating a memorable stay to all of our guests, especially for the kids.
We hope to see you again soon, as we have plenty more surprises planned!

Best Regards,
Attila Szocz
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinaia
0.9 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.6 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regal
Hotel Regal
#5 of 29 in Sinaia
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
New Montana
New Montana
#9 of 29 in Sinaia
225 reviews
21.5 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
674 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lux Garden Hotel
Lux Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Azuga
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ioana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ioana Hotel

Address: Sinaia Str. Calea Codrului nr 11-15, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ioana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ioana Hotel is a 5 stars boutique-hotele, located in quiet surroundings, in the Bucegi mountains above Sinaia. It offers panoramic views, a spa centre and close to the ski slopes.All rooms at the Hotel Ioana are tastefully styled in pastel colours and feature high-quality beds and a balcony. Each of them comes equipped with a flat-screen TV. Bathrobes and slippers can be found in the elegant bathroom.The Cota cable car is only 300 metres away from the Ioana Hotel and the Peles and Pelisor Castles can be reached on foot within a few minutes. A minibus stops right in front of the hotel but the centre of Sinaia is also reachable on foot within 40 minutes.Spa facilities include a sauna, a hot tub and a wide range of massages.Unique in Romania, the Forest Restaurant serves international cuisine and local specialities to guests who dine surrounded by still growing trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ioana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing