We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too smoky”
Review of New Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Montana
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Reviewed 2 July 2011

It is a nice hotel except for the smell of smoke you notice when entering the lobby and throughout.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and the room was clean.
We liked being able to open the window in the back; the dogs barking bother some people but we were glad to be able to breathe fresh air because of the smoky smell. Even though it was chilly we had to keep the windows open all night because of the burning throats and noses we experience.
The location is nice; lots of restaurants nearby.
If they change their smoking policy; it is an excellent location.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear have fresh air but barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorettamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks on whilst working in he nearby town of Campina. The hotel is clean and tidy and the rooms are reflective of this although a little basic and on the small side, this tends to be normal for Romania though. The pool and gym are very good and open until 10pm so suitable if you are working through the day. The location of the hotel gives easy access to nearby restaurants and bars (try the bucegi next door for good well priced food). Overall good hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JCx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I stayed in March for 2 nights, participated at a conference; rooms are very small but clean, noisy at night due to the bad quality of the windows joinery and the trafic from outside. We had swidish boufet but the food was average, not for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lumidobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Been there with friends ... about 12 of us. reception area looks good, with the lounge bar were i had a super Long Island Ice Tea ;) Up in the rooms... not to much space, nothing to talk about for a 4 star hotel.average.standard. I read about AC... i was there in the winter so i was not really bothered about that... the heating was working just fine. Beautiful pool .. had a good time except the diving (not allowed) :) . Bad experience in the club situated behind the hotel, when barman "forgot" to tell us we have a discount because we are guests of the hotel. anyway... not impressed for a 4 star hotel but i love the pool and the location.
A... don`t forget ... really good breakfast :D

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcordea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

In 2010, it's a shame for a 4 stars hotel that there is no wi-fi internet access. Incredible !
It's also hard to find a free outlet!
No place in the bathroom to put your toothbrush and tooth paste
Small, rooms, no air conditioing.
The hotel personnel is "Romanian classic" if you know what I mean...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachtripsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

stayed there for 4 nights had an amazing view from my window, the stuff was very nice and helpfull, the only thing in my opinion that was missing was AC im a big sucker for AC and most of the summer i live with it open all time other than that it was great

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PUMIKIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Arrived having driven from Bucharest as a stop on the way to Brasov. The map location on google maps and hotel website doesn't actually put the hotel where it actually is, which is on the main road through the very centre of Sinaia. We were able to do the palace and castle (again, difficult to find) and then zigzag across for Bran and Rasnov on the way to Brasov. Hence, a very good location.

As for the hotel, the rooms are very average, beds not very comfortable, but having stayed in different hotels in Romania, this seemed to be the case across the board. I believe all of the rooms allow smoking, and they had clearly tried to get rid of the smell, windows open, smell of Febreeze etc. This did seem to have worked, but woke up in the middle of the night to smell the stale smoke etc.

Free parking and the bar/breakfast area were plus points, room comforts not great, but served a purpose of a place to rest our heads before moving on again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.2 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sinaia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rina Hotel Sinaia
Rina Hotel Sinaia
#6 of 29 in Sinaia
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regal
Hotel Regal
#5 of 29 in Sinaia
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marea Neagra
Hotel Marea Neagra
#11 of 29 in Sinaia
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Montana

Address: Carol I Blvd. 24, Sinaia, Prahova, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sinaia
Price Range: £54 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sinaia, a small mountain and ski resort, the New Montana Hotel is the ideal place for leisure and business, providing guests with a cosy, relaxing atmosphere and top quality services. With over 10 years of excellence, the hotel boasts a bed capacity of 360 and is equipped to handle functions of any size, ranging from a board meeting of 10 to a full cocktail event for 1,000 guests. Each of the 175 rooms and suites at the New Montana Hotel feature an LCD TV with satellite programming, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe deposit box, wireless phone, mini bar, daily housekeeping, electronic lock and spectacular views of the Carpathian Mountains. En-suite private bathrooms are complete with bathtub, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries, bathrobe and slippers. The Artemis Restaurant offers a wide range of carefully selected meals from authentic Romanian and international cuisine, along with delicious desserts created by the hotel’s in-house pastry Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Montana Sinaia
New Montana Hotel Sinaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing