We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is a 3 star level hotel”
Review of Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palace
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very nice old building but the rooms are not 4 star it is a 3 star level hotel. cold in the room. It is very close to the Peles castle.The continental breakfast was very tasty.The staff was ok not very friendly. Wi-fi is not useable in the room but if you are lucky at the public spaces.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is long past it's glory days but still retains some of it's elegance and grace. I love old hotels and I found this hotel attractive specially with it's location in the Carpathian mountains. The rooms are small and cramped but the beds are comfortable. The room I stayed in still had it's vintage furnitures. The public areas have lovely chandeliers but also those hideous looking leatherette sofas. The hallways leading to the rooms are dark. Breakfast is buffet style and has pretty adequate choices. I felt odd that they kept on playing American songs from the 50's in the dining area. It was almost like you were transported to another time and era.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Old classic hotel located in the park. Short walk from the train station and to main street. Short walk up the hill to Peles Castle. The exterior is grand. Interior looks grand but the lighting is very dark. I had a nice stay here, but it is a 3 star level hotel, so be prepared. Do not expect a lavish experience. The rooms are small and hallways are very dark. The bed was comfortable though. Don't have such high expectations, and you will like the place. See the pictures.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Exterior look (classic palace, recently repainted) and location in the park are marvelous. Same impression gives you the entrance hall. Rooms, especially those with street view, are small, crowded, uncomfortable and dark even with artificial lighting. Bathroom has unpleasant smell and bath and sink are draining poor. Bath cosmetics and breakfast are rather poor. On the other side, personnel is fair and a great night sleep is possible due to silence environment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are bigger and the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luminita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wholeheartedly recommended.
This old historical building overlooks the quiet Sinaia central park.
It used to be the meeting place of the old Romanian bourgeoisie and it is incredible to experience what fine living used to mean.
The hotel is newly refurbished and quite low lit, without being unpleasant; rooms are small and intimate, personnel is friendly.

I recommend having a nice cigar in the deep leather armchairs in the lobby. This hotel is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielZamfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Built about the same time as Titanic, the 100m corridors and huge reception spaces remind me of the great liner. The beds were the best quality experienced in Romania whilst he shaving mirror, weighing scales, slippers and bath robes were wonderful touches that made our stay just great.
The staff couldn't be more helpful and the breakfast was absolutely fine. They even cooked just for me fresh scrambled eggs with peppers and cucumbers just as I like it. And there is Fresh expresso coffee as much as you want.
Please stay at this hotel whenever possible to keep these great old places going.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the park for best light and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daijhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Decent rooms, faded but stil glorious. Great views and and value for money. Breakfast is a bit odd. The cooked food was not good but we enjoyed ourselves nevertheless. Recommended.

The public gardens are good, but a warning....We arrived at lunchtime and had prepared our own picnic in a cool box. We sat out on the grass in the gardens but after 20 mins were joined by the most officious policeman ever; apparently no one is allowed on the grass! There were no signs nearby saying this but we apologised and made to move back to the pavement. This wasn't enough for our new friend, however; he demanded passports, driving licences and then asked me to leave my family and accompany him somewhere else, presumably the station. My Romanian is only 3 months old so I didn't understand everything he was saying. I refused to leave my family and then he brought out the cuffs! A crowd had gathered by now and when I asked for his name he suddenly backed off and drove away on his police scooter.

Room Tip: Ask for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Camelia
Vila Camelia
#5 of 29 in Sinaia
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#8 of 29 in Sinaia
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sinaia
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Montana
New Montana
#10 of 29 in Sinaia
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rina Cerbul
Hotel Rina Cerbul
#13 of 29 in Sinaia
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Address: 4-11, Octavian Goga St., Sinaia 2180, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sinaia
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sinaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing