We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 3 stars hotel. Dirtier and dirtier every time.”
Review of Hotel Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mara
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I cheked-in at this hotel for the first time, 9 years ago. At that time, it was a 5 stars hotel.
After a few years became a 4 stars hotel, and in the end a 3 stars hotel, owned by RA-APPS (by the state).
Last time, I cheked-in last autumn, for a week-end. The pool was dirty, the lockers for the pool were dirty.
The room and the bathroom were ok. Real 3 stars room.
The lobby is nice, the piano-bar is clean and classic, at the limit of luxurious term to be used.
The pool is half inside - half outside.
Private parking.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the mountain view (at the back-side of the hotel). It's more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights in this lovely hotel in Sinaia, one of the most beautiful resorts in the Romanian Carpathian mountains, where I used to go skiing as a child and young man and where on this occasion we were guests at a superb wedding. The wedding reception took place in one of the several restaurants within the same hotel and this wedding will be fondly remembered forever. The price for the room was less than expected for such super-sized room, the view of the mountains from our balcony was magnificent, food was excellent and very varied at the wedding but not that great at breakfast, but still ok. The service in the restaurant and at reception was excellent, everybody was helpful and smiling, there is also a gym and a large swimming pool available but we did not use them on this occasion. The only real problem is the distance from the town centre and the less than sophisticated neighbourhood, but more in terms of unattractive blocks of flats rather than any risk to the tourist as such. By the way, from the hotel we ventured out in a 4X4 and had an amazing experience at the "Stana Regala" restaurant up in the mountains (the scenery is simply heavenly!), in the past we also visited the famous Royal Peles Castle, an architectural gem, in other words there are many places to visit, preferably in a 4x4, in the historical town of Sinaia!

Room Tip: Mountain views on both sides of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccclaudiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

A collegue and I stayed there for 4 weeks on business. After a long flight to Bucharest and road trip to Sinaia the hotel staff did not speak English. The rooms were comfortable but need a touch up because of stained carpets and scatches on the walls etc. The usual coffee and tea in your room will cost you which I have never seen before so take your own. The maid service is slack and they need to improve. They dont supply bags or forms for your laundry so take your own and record what you put in. The restaurant is ok but they need to change the menu say every 20 years. We went through nearly every item twice and the food has no imagination. Breakfast needs to be improved as I will never eat scrambled eggs and sausage again because thats all they supplied with a few cuts of cold meats and cheeses. No toast available just bread rolls from the previous day. I noticed that when they get a crowd in (weekends) the catering staff cant cope with the influx of another 20 or so guests and panic. The bar is pricey and if you can find the barman he may give you want you order because he too does not speak English. Internet service is only available on ground and mezanine floors. No internet in rooms which makes it hard for the business traveller. The hotel is good for a weekend away but not for the business type for extended stays. Yes a lot of work to be done and staff training required by this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rswtrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stayed for one weekend in February with may family.
It' s obvious that this hotel had better times years ago.
After a quick tour Romanian tourist can recognize "the hand" of the state ownership - this is the reason why a beautiful hotel is degrading day by day.
Room are Ok, more maintenance will help. The view is great.
Pool is the main point of attraction, especially in the winter - half of the pool is outdoor and you can swim outside in the ~ 35C hot water to look at the stars. As said in title, more cleaning will help.
There is also a sauna and a small jacuzzi (with too hot or too cold water, it depend on the mood of the operator).
The infrastructure of the pool (lockers, showers, towels, bath wraps) is poor, so better take your own from home.
The restaurant is average, the food will not kill you and I have to remark that waiters were intensive trained not to smile or behave friendly with the customers. This remark is applicable to all personnel.

Conclusion: does not worth the money (90EUR per standard double room, breakfast included). We will not go there second time, altough we had a great time at the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnicules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dağ manzaralı odalar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _zmir_T_rkiye3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank freezingstasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
2.7 mi away
Bastion Hotel
Bastion Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sinaia
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
New Montana
New Montana
#9 of 29 in Sinaia
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rina Hotel Sinaia
Rina Hotel Sinaia
#6 of 29 in Sinaia
236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sinaia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mara

Address: 1A Toporasilor St., Sinaia 2180, Romania (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Price Range: £52 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing