We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with a few quirks”
Review of Bastion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bastion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First, it is very clean and classy. Second, the location--in a wooded area, next to a stream, just down from the Pelezh castle--is idyllic. It is wonderful to open your room window and hear the stream and look out at a very green panorama. You are far enough away from the main street of Sinaia to escape its occasionally busy traffic and noise. Third, the front desk staff are very nice and accommodating. Fourth, the breakfast is wonderful, with ample variety and both hot and cold foods. Finally, the price is fabulous for such a great accommodation.

Now for the quirks. The room is a bit on the smallish side, and there are signs that maintenance needs greater emphasis. In our room (203), the shower door leaked onto the floor, which made things a bit treacherous. The floor towel was hardly large enough to control the flow of water. The water pressure was also a bit weak, and temperature was inconsistent. The light just inside the door of the room has a motion sensor to turn it on, which can be handy when you would otherwise stumble around in the dark for a light, but it is also obnoxious, as it is set to stay on for only 5-10 seconds before turning off again. The result is that it is constantly going on and off, and it is never on long enough to be that useful. The bed had a single duvet that barely covered the expanse of it. Accordingly, it was not easy to keep both sleepers covered the entire night. Finally, we were here in mid-June, and they had turned off the hot-water heaters. So, there was no way to change the temp in the room when it got too cold. There is what appears to be a thermostat near the door to the hallway, but it is not clear what you are controlling and, turning it up all the way, nothing happens. I saw no evidence of vents or an air conditioner. During our time there, it was rainy and a bit chilly, particularly at night. There was nothing we could do to get warmer. Finally, the breakfast staff could use some lessons in how to be simply pleasant, even if that just means a look in the eye and a smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Impossible to find if like us, you have come to rely on a GPS navigator in a foreign country. In the end we had to ask a couple of locals for directions. The town is larger than expected and the castle, and therefore Bastion (the old stables) is toward the end of the town. Having said that, the staff are efficient and friendly. Room spotless, but the bathroom a bit musty and smelly, perhaps because it is totally enclosed. The exhaust fan ran for ages to no avail. Breakfast was sensational. I highly recommend the pâté on toast - yum! Staff in restaurant also excellent. Easy walk to the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyanneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is ideal for travelers without children, as the rooms all have only one double bed and it does not have ammenities for children. The papanasi (typical Romanian dessert) was one of the best I have tried while living here.

1  Thank Sukurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family in the 'apartment' - 2 adjoining rooms at top of building. Very quiet and comfortable. Lovely welcoming and helpful staff, beautifully decorated rooms and perfectly clean. We ate in restaurant and food was lovely. Recommend!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank corkerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nice small hotel surrounded by trees just a short walk from Peles Castle. Good breakfast and very comfortable spacious room, with many windows and two Air direction (At least Room 405 has that). Since this is an old history building, there is no elevator, but there is courteous service from hotel employees. The only drawback I found was that at the time of staying, there wasn't printed tourist information, such as a local map and information regarding walking condition and the cable cars in the area, but you can always rely on the internet and your smart phone to solve this issue....

Whoever comes to Sinaia by train, don't make the mistake I did and climb the stairs that leads to the town center (in front of the train station) with all the personal belongings, only to go down later again.
Much more fast, easy and convenient is to follow the road to the castle: Exit the train station and cross the road to the sidewalk on the other side. Then, turn right and walk along the road about 300-400 meters until there is an exit which curve into the town and you reach a small roundabout. Continue straight up until you reach the hotel (All this should take approx. 12-15 minutes with your stuff). Another easy option is to take a taxi from the train station (about 3 minutes drive) .
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 405 is on the upper floor (second level from outside) with no elevator, but has many windows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Osh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

very close to the Peles Castle, in fact it is walking distance, with nice cozy rooms, and an amazing architecture. Two nice restaurants, with very good breakfast and various types of meals. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mihai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A verry nice hotel, verry clean, nice stuff, smiley, the rooms lokiing verry nice, nice location...I higley recommended for everyone, the prices are more than ok for the area, is located a little bit out from the town in a verry nice place close to Peles castle

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank cityinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sinaia hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#8 of 29 in Sinaia
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Camelia
Vila Camelia
#7 of 29 in Sinaia
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sinaia
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
0.5 mi away
Rina Hotel Sinaia
Rina Hotel Sinaia
#4 of 29 in Sinaia
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regal
Hotel Regal
#5 of 29 in Sinaia
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel

Address: Aleea Pelesului no. 2A, Sinaia 106100, Romania
Region: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Sinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sinaia
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing