We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Mitra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mitra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Reviewed 30 September 2009

What a gem of a hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel's decor is very impressive, but best of all was our room - it's not often you walk into a hotel room and say 'Wow!'. Very luxurious, and a high spec bathroom as well. Breakfast was fine btw! Our evening meal was at the Restaurant Ribic, which also superb.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

Delightful hotel in a delightful town. I thoroughly recommend it. We enjoyed a massage at their spa (satisfactory, not brilliant) and a delicious wine-tasting (fabulous). My only quibble is with the breakfast, which frankly, was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screensick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were able to park our car outside in the Hotel's reserved spaces across the road. On arrival, the staff were very friendly and while our room was small - it was clean and had all the mod cons you'd expect in a hotel of this rating. The weather was extremely hot and so it was unfortunate that our air conditioning had broken down. We did report it on the first evening but by the time we left on day three it still was not functioning. We weren't offered an alternative room (and didn't ask) as lucklily we discovered some discarded fans in the corridor, one of which we took into our room. The breakfast was disappointing involving just a row of machines and a buffet - no staff to greet you. This hotel is well sited in the town, modern inside and despite these few niggles we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Stayed with my daughter, who found this hotel on a Slovenian tourist site, just one night on our way from Hungary to Croatia. We weren't sure what to expect of Hotel Mitra and Ptuj so were taken by surprise at the hotel's luxury and outstanding staff, including a small full-service spa that is lovelier and with more talented professionals than those I've encountered at home in NY and in France. At around $120/night with a fantastic full breakfast it was, for the price, one of the most remarkable travel "deals" I have ever stumbled on. Ptuj itself is charming, but I would make Hotel Mitra itself my destination next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed at the hotel Mitra already in 2007 when it was in its old shape. It was nice, because it was in the City centre and we liked it. Then in February 2009 we came back to Ptuj, to visit the very famous carneval, named Kurentovanje, and we were amazed how great the hotel after the renovation in the Year 2008 turned out to be. The hotel realy is unique. Great quality of the rooms, the spa&wellness centre and the wine cellar looks astonishing. I would recommed the Mitra Hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pekov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Room furnishings are dire and the pictures of the rooms on their website are pretty offputting but .... Ptuj is lovely - close to Maribor airport but real small town Southern Europe atmosphere - market in middle of town, Church with bells from 6am!! We loved our two nights but the rooms are at the front and there's street bars with late night drinking followed by the locals' early morning rising which made for a somewhat noisy stay - noise into the early hours and then more noise from 5.30/6am but we just felt that we'd arrived in a real Mediterranean town! Hotel has some parking which saves you paying. It's incredibly good value. Eat at the Ribic restaurant down by the river.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aramanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

a basic three star hotel, clean, beds not overly comfortable but ok, and staff are extremely friendly. they could not be more helpful. Charming location in a very safe city, there is parking but not obvious - ask at the hotel front desk...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONDONUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ptuj
0.7 mi away
Primus Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poetovio
Hotel Poetovio
#3 of 3 in Ptuj
36 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Slovenija
Hotel Slovenija
#2 of 9 in Rogaska Slatina
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Gostisce Golob
Hotel Gostisce Golob
#1 of 1 in Zgornja Polskava
7 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Zvezda
Hotel Zvezda
#2 of 2 in Murska Sobota
22 reviews
24.8 mi away
Terme Vivat
Terme Vivat
#2 of 6 in Moravske Toplice
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitra

Address: Preshernova ulica 6, Ptuj 2250, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Styria Region > Ptuj
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ptuj
Price Range: £70 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mitra 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mitra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitra Hotel Ptuj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing