We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good location and cheap rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Reviewed 21 April 2013

For a hotel just to overnight for the Tangier ferry it is fine. Basic rooms, clean and had a room with a balcony overlooking the port. The reception were very friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk from the bus station and across the street from the port. Paid $40 Euro for one night.

Room Tip: ask for balcony over looking port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

The only good thing is that it is close to the harbour, if you are leaving/entering the city. We had a view towards Gibraltar, pity the harbour disturbed the view in the foreground. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the rooms remind me of mental hospitals, and the rooms are very cold. Had double blankets and slept with clothes on, including hat, so the sleeping quality wasn't too bad after all. I'm sure the room were clean, but since the interior is rather tasteless and old, it's hard to get a fresh feeling of it all. Oh, the other good thing: there wi-fi on the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you come to algeciras from morroco and only to transit, this hotel is a good option already. Does not matter you come from Tangier Med or Tangier to Tarifa there will be a shuttle bus to bring you to algeciras port and from the port is just 5 minutes walk to this hotel. To the train station and bus station is just 8 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is normal and clean, if you get the room that has balcony that face the street maybe it will be a little bit noisy when you sleep with an open window. The reception only speak spanish and french so it is quite hard to communicate. Do not use the phone to call from this hotel, they charged really expensive and is just a local phone call not the international!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel faces the port: very convenient for boats to Africa. I found the room larger than usual for a hotel in this price bracket . It was clean, and had an excellent bathroom with a bidet. There is also a lift The desk clerk recommended an excellent restorant just one block away (Meson Algeciras) where I stuffed myself like the Thanksgiving turkey for 8E. And yes, it is a bit dated but if you want decor you will pay for it. All in all, vey satisfactory. I am a senior lady travelling alone.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Wonderfull stay.friendly and very helpfull staff.very clean.room been clean everyday.easy transport.easy to shop, lots of restaurant/cafe, nice people and helpfull.Will be staying in the same hotel over Easter Holiday 2013. LOVE IT and CANNOT WAIT!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julajuli100562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a cheap hotel. The rooms were basic and clean and I only booked here so that I could visit Gibraltar (Hotels inn Gibtraltar are expensive man!) and then travel to Tangier by boat the next day, It was clean and functional and is rather dated but is just what I expected for the low price that I paid. The decor is minimal and bizarrely, there were three identical framed pictures on the walls of the room! There is also airconditioning in the room, however it sounds rather like a misfiring aircraft engine and so i had to turn it off in case it either exploded or took off! The staff were ok though and the hotel seems reasonably secure. in fact, it looks like it was probably a grand hotel once however it has clearly declined along with the area itself.

It is close to the bus station which services Malaga (12 euros/3hrs) and La Linea (Gibraltar) and also is close to the docks. There are loads of boats to various places such as Ceuta and Tangier (med) from the port in Algeciras, however I found out that my guide book was incorrect and to get to Tangier town properly, I would need to go to Tarifa (which looks lovely!) for the fast boat, however there is a free bus included in the price of the ticket to there.

Algeciras itself is a dump! There is nothing to do or see here and don't be suprised if at night, there are all sorts of prostitutes and other swarthy chancers crashing around the area. The only decent bar is a Spanish place on the corner of the block which forms part of the bus station around the corner - the staff are nice and they have cheap wine and tapas!

Look, it is what it is. It's cheap, basic and is ok to stop for a night or two en route to somewhere else but there is NOTHING to do in the area. You can get to Gibraltar easily, which is a great place and it cost about 1e50 on the bus each way.

In conclusion, if you are a lone traveller or a couple, are on a budget and you have to visit Algeciras for whatever reason - this is the place for you. However if you want to go to Tangier town, I'd recommend that you stay in Tarifa - it looks much better!

Room Tip: You might find that it's a little noisy in some rooms in this hotel. For most of my nights stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Old and very basic hotel. Still better than local hostels. Our room was slightly larger but £45 per night was a joke. Please note that the hotel is located very near port and busy road so do not expect to have long and good sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.1 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 12 in Algeciras
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mir Octavio
Hotel Mir Octavio
#6 of 12 in Algeciras
54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
0.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras

Address: Avenida Marina 7, 11201 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range: £28 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing