We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Lodging, Good Price, Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic Lodging, Good Price, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I valued the combination of price, cleanliness, and location. Without question, I would stay here again if I were backpacking around Europe. If I was on a bigger budget, then I would probably just stay in Gibraltar, but that would be a different type of trip.

The hotel is just outside / directly across from the ferry terminal. It took 5 minutes to walk from the terminal building to the hotel. I do mean DIRECTLY across the street from the terminal. Our room was very clean with tiled floors - which I like for cleanliness. The surrounding neighborhood is tidy, and seems nice enough. We did not linger around outside in the evening hours, though it seemed safe on our walk back from the bus station at dark. There were a couple of prostitutes working the corner area outside the hotel, but aside from their forward behavior, they could be ignored. The train station is just a few minutes further walk up the same street past the bus station. We went and made our train reservations one day, and returned at 5am the next morning to catch the train. The streets were perfectly safe at all times we walked them.

The internet worked great.

The bus station is less than a 10 minute walk up the adjacent street. You can catch the bus for a 30 minute ride over to Gibraltar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
26
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed overnight here whilst waiting for family to arrive from UK, it was clean and basic, views over the Port and Gibraltar. Beds were soft but really could do with updating, bed linen and towels were clean. We could not get the air con to work, Tv had no English channels.The staff were friendly and helpful, We paid 40 Euros for a double room with twin beds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the port and Gibraltar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aitbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

For a hotel just to overnight for the Tangier ferry it is fine. Basic rooms, clean and had a room with a balcony overlooking the port. The reception were very friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk from the bus station and across the street from the port. Paid $40 Euro for one night.

Room Tip: ask for balcony over looking port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The only good thing is that it is close to the harbour, if you are leaving/entering the city. We had a view towards Gibraltar, pity the harbour disturbed the view in the foreground. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the rooms remind me of mental hospitals, and the rooms are very cold. Had double blankets and slept with clothes on, including hat, so the sleeping quality wasn't too bad after all. I'm sure the room were clean, but since the interior is rather tasteless and old, it's hard to get a fresh feeling of it all. Oh, the other good thing: there wi-fi on the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algeciras hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you come to algeciras from morroco and only to transit, this hotel is a good option already. Does not matter you come from Tangier Med or Tangier to Tarifa there will be a shuttle bus to bring you to algeciras port and from the port is just 5 minutes walk to this hotel. To the train station and bus station is just 8 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is normal and clean, if you get the room that has balcony that face the street maybe it will be a little bit noisy when you sleep with an open window. The reception only speak spanish and french so it is quite hard to communicate. Do not use the phone to call from this hotel, they charged really expensive and is just a local phone call not the international!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel faces the port: very convenient for boats to Africa. I found the room larger than usual for a hotel in this price bracket . It was clean, and had an excellent bathroom with a bidet. There is also a lift The desk clerk recommended an excellent restorant just one block away (Meson Algeciras) where I stuffed myself like the Thanksgiving turkey for 8E. And yes, it is a bit dated but if you want decor you will pay for it. All in all, vey satisfactory. I am a senior lady travelling alone.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Wonderfull stay.friendly and very helpfull staff.very clean.room been clean everyday.easy transport.easy to shop, lots of restaurant/cafe, nice people and helpfull.Will be staying in the same hotel over Easter Holiday 2013. LOVE IT and CANNOT WAIT!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julajuli100562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
0.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras

Property: Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Address: Avenida Marina 7, 11201 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing