We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Clean rooms, but not the best neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked a room here as it was the cheapest reasonably priced hotel near Gibraltar. The hotel is located opposite the docks and easy to get to. There is free parking opposite which is a bonus, but as it is the last stop before the ferry to Morocco, it can feel like you are there already.
The hotel is dated, but very clean, the beds are not very good, a bit cheap and worn, but overall it is still very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antonyantoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed only 1 night at Marina Victoria the best thing was the location to catch the ferry to Tangier next morning.Easy to find on the main street many signs with hotel names etc..
At arrival receptionist was very friendly and helpful got a very huge room with nice balcony overlooking Gibraltar and the port.
Room was clean, very big with big bathroom and even they provide disposable shampoos toothpaste teethbrush and combs which was a nice surprise.
TV worked well but we rather watched the life outside of the hotel as people pass by and ferrys leaving the port.
Many places to eat nearby we had dinner at the restaurant Marrakesh just 2 minutes walk and the food was good the waiter very welcoming.
Generally a very good experience and would definitely stay in Marina Victoria again with no hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask or book a room with balcony really nice wiew:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I valued the combination of price, cleanliness, and location. Without question, I would stay here again if I were backpacking around Europe. If I was on a bigger budget, then I would probably just stay in Gibraltar, but that would be a different type of trip.

The hotel is just outside / directly across from the ferry terminal. It took 5 minutes to walk from the terminal building to the hotel. I do mean DIRECTLY across the street from the terminal. Our room was very clean with tiled floors - which I like for cleanliness. The surrounding neighborhood is tidy, and seems nice enough. We did not linger around outside in the evening hours, though it seemed safe on our walk back from the bus station at dark. There were a couple of prostitutes working the corner area outside the hotel, but aside from their forward behavior, they could be ignored. The train station is just a few minutes further walk up the same street past the bus station. We went and made our train reservations one day, and returned at 5am the next morning to catch the train. The streets were perfectly safe at all times we walked them.

The internet worked great.

The bus station is less than a 10 minute walk up the adjacent street. You can catch the bus for a 30 minute ride over to Gibraltar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountinPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed overnight here whilst waiting for family to arrive from UK, it was clean and basic, views over the Port and Gibraltar. Beds were soft but really could do with updating, bed linen and towels were clean. We could not get the air con to work, Tv had no English channels.The staff were friendly and helpful, We paid 40 Euros for a double room with twin beds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the port and Gibraltar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

For a hotel just to overnight for the Tangier ferry it is fine. Basic rooms, clean and had a room with a balcony overlooking the port. The reception were very friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk from the bus station and across the street from the port. Paid $40 Euro for one night.

Room Tip: ask for balcony over looking port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The only good thing is that it is close to the harbour, if you are leaving/entering the city. We had a view towards Gibraltar, pity the harbour disturbed the view in the foreground. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the rooms remind me of mental hospitals, and the rooms are very cold. Had double blankets and slept with clothes on, including hat, so the sleeping quality wasn't too bad after all. I'm sure the room were clean, but since the interior is rather tasteless and old, it's hard to get a fresh feeling of it all. Oh, the other good thing: there wi-fi on the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you come to algeciras from morroco and only to transit, this hotel is a good option already. Does not matter you come from Tangier Med or Tangier to Tarifa there will be a shuttle bus to bring you to algeciras port and from the port is just 5 minutes walk to this hotel. To the train station and bus station is just 8 minutes walk from the hotel. The room is normal and clean, if you get the room that has balcony that face the street maybe it will be a little bit noisy when you sleep with an open window. The reception only speak spanish and french so it is quite hard to communicate. Do not use the phone to call from this hotel, they charged really expensive and is just a local phone call not the international!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algeciras hotels
1.1 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 12 in Algeciras
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
499 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mir Octavio
Hotel Mir Octavio
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
1,211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#8 of 12 in Algeciras
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras

Address: Avenida Marina 7, 11201 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range: £28 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing