We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay”
Review of Lisboa Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisboa Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Excellent place. On arrival I was greeted by Rosa, friendly cheerful owner, very helpful...explained ferries to Morocco and gave me a map of Algeciras. Nice clean, quiet cheap place to stay. Has a terrace, Easy to get to ferry port, shops etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumpybiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Lisboa Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff who provided a map and timetables for ferries to Ceuta. Room was nice, private double with balcony and private bathroom. Free rice and pasta for guests, kitchen had a balcony. Would definitely stay here again. Good location for ferry terminal, about a 15min walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undercoveranalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The rooms are old but clean and comfy. The fan is a nice touch on hot days. The hosts are out of this world. The hostal is a great value if you are waiting for or coming off the ferry. There are several nice tapas bars less than a 10 min walk away up the hill. I had no complaints and will stay there again on my way back from Morocco.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank PrairiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here on the way to Morocco and on the way back(we left most of our luggage there at no extra charge) - the ferry timetables are a joke we arrived back at 3am and had to wake the owner who remained very friendly despite the hour. The room was clean and comfortable with a small adequately equiped little kitchen area.
Parking was a bit of a problem as in many spanish cities with a 5 minute walk. Plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Dawes_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here for one night in August 2012 after returning from Morocco on the ferry. I was just looking for something cheap and easy for the evening. The hotel is in a good location and easy to find. One downside would be that they advertised Wi-Fi and then when I got there it was broken. The staff were friendly and the room was average but clean with a good fan. The have a nice rooftop terrace and that evening there was a party thrown up there by a bunch of us guests and it was a great time. I recommend it highly for an evening to/from Morocco but probably no more as there are better places like Tarifa for multiple days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a good place to stop off for a night on the way to or from Morocco. The hostel is devoid of any character, other than the extremely friendly owner Rosa, but the rooms are clean and the water is hot. Given the complete lack of things to do in Algeciras, this hostel is well located as it is near to the main square, bars and port and train station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I travelled there in November. There was no heating and the room was cold. There were bits on the floor which stuck to my feet and socks - like saw dust. During our stay, we got moved rooms whilst we were out, with no prior notice.

There is nowhere nice around the hostal to eat, drink or chill out. It is centrally located though for easy access to Gibraltar and Morocco. It's cheap too

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salamander36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
0.2 mi away
Marina Victoria Hotel Algeciras
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mir Octavio
Hotel Mir Octavio
#8 of 12 in Algeciras
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
1,172 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisboa Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Hostal

Address: Calle Juan Morrison 46, 11201 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Algeciras
Price Range: £31 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lisboa Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lisboa Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing