We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Globales Reina Cristina
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Mirador(Algeciras)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AC Hotel Algeciras(Algeciras)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Hotel(Algeciras)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
370
442
234
89
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
442
234
89
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport towngrand hotela la carte restauranthalf boardbuffet styleoutdoor poolmini golfgibraltar airportworking townboth breakfast and dinnerorange treeslovely old hotelhired a carla lineaspanish townreception staffpublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our 3 night break at the Reina Cristina didn't get off to a great start, - an hours wait outside a slightly dodgy looking MacDonalds for the Hotel transfer, combined with some less than favourable Trip Adviser Reviews, didn't bode well for the service we were to expect....HOWEVER.. When we entered the Hotel gates things improved dramatically, Reina Cristina is a beautiful colonial style Hotel set in immaculate grounds.
At check-in we were offered a larger room by way of an apology for the delay in pickup & were more than happy with it, older traditional style bedroom furnishings, but spotlessly clean, with masses of storage space, a modern bathroom & a double balcony, there was no noise at night & we slept like logs, the Air Con could have a little more effective, but was adequate for the time we were there. There was also the added bonus of free Wi-fi.
Our next 3 days were mainly spent relaxing in the sun on comfortable loungers by the pretty pool. We ate & drank at the Patio Bar as well as in the Buffet, Food was nothing flashy but nicely presented & always served with a smile. Bar Staff were always cheerful & polite, despite not always speaking a great deal of English.
All in all, our stay at the Reina Cristina was amazing value for money, we booked a bargain break for some last minute sun, our expectations were not high, but we were very pleasantly surprised, & would definitely go back again.
For those who have poorly rated this Hotel, I would question just how much they paid for their trip, (everyone we spoke to were either staying with Secret Escapes or other such like bargain deals), you do get what you pay for & our stay at Reina Cristina was definitely worth far more than we paid for it, a great base for visiting Gibraltar & the surrounding areas, or for just unwinding in the Spanish Sun.

Room Tip: Always try for an upgrade, the best rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear customer
We are extremely grateful for the time you have used to write here your experience in our hotel. It is a great helpful and a good motivation to all the staff know that customers are satisfied with our work.
We will note about the recommendation for the bar. We are always improving to give you the best service.

We hope to have you here on your next visit to Algeciras

Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Following a 6 hour delay from Manchester - (thank you Monarch) we stayed at this hotel 29th September for a week - we were ready to come home after the first night
Our room was something like you granny's granny would have lived with, dark painted cheap wood - scratched and chipped. A thin bed covered with an tired thin pink cover, and inexplicably a small fridge standing in the middle of the room, yellow inside - not dirty just old.
Everything about this hotel is tired, threadbare carpets cracked tiles, flaking paint.

We had two attempts to move rooms, eventually we paid a supplement for an upgrade. A slightly more stylish room - until we discovered we had one single wardrobe and no drawers - creased clothes all week.
The air conditioning unit was switched on, it sounded as if it was working but it blew only warm air - not what you need at 28 degrees - we asked for a fan. It arrived on the third time of asking.

The food quality in the buffet restaurant is so poor that we chose to eat out of the hotel, The bar lunches were better quality.

After some persuasion we were allowed to dine a la carte at a supplement - mistake.... our first evening in this restaurant was ended abruptly when a mouse ran in front of my husband. Our second attempt proved that the food in there was no better than the buffet - my "duck delight in a fruity sauce " was in fact a broiled duck leg with a cold lumpy white sauce with dried fruit - not a delight at all. My husband tried twice to enjoy his steak cooked to medium the second time it was returned from the kitchen still bleeding he decided to leave it.

The indoor pool and the gym were "out of service" for the full week.

The staff are friendly but there is no management presence in the hotel. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine as an apology for the mouse and bought a drink for the poor quality of food in the a la carte restaurant - a kind gesture but really they just need to sort out their issues.

I did seek an appointment with the General Manager to discuss my issues but she declined to meet me.

I booked this break through Secret Escapes, I am not sure that I trust them enpough to use them again following this horrible holiday at what they call a 4* hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear customer

We appreciate your confidence in us and your opinion and we feel sorry about your not satisfaction with your stay in our hotel.
With the air conditioning, we had problems for a day and as soon as possible it was solved.
Our Hotel is located in the center of abig garden so the occasional presence of this type of situation is a bit uncontrollable. In spite of this we use pest control services.
As for the hotel management, we are not aware of your desire to express your dissatisfaction, to what we would have agreed without any inconvenience, as we do with customers who request it.
The rooms are being reformed in order to offer better conform and service.
The gym is open and the indoor pool was closed for maintenance.

Thank you again for your comment.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Truly a unusual experience if you have been use to modern hotels. Built around 1902 this hotel is just three floors high in true Spanish style with big tiled over hanging roofs and good size rooms with high ceilings, limited air con but room fans supplied. All situated in large grounds with swimming pool. Food of a very good standard buffet style with good variety of choice. Wine (house very good from around euro 8.50 bottle) and drinks at very reasonable prices. Staff all very helpful and friendly.
Immediate area is a port town which has built up around the hotel but there are plenty of places to visit all with in about 100 km area, Gibraltar, Cadiz, Ronda, etc.

Room Tip: Request room with balcony upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear customer

Thank you very much for your comment and also the help provided to other Tripadvisor users providing such a positive experience in our hotel.

It is always gratifying to know that customers are satisfied with our service.

We hope that on your next visit to Algeciras you deposited again your trust in us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely old 'Spanish charm ' hotel set in lovely grounds .algeciras is bit of a dump ...a working Port Town with not much for tourists ! But good base for visiting Cadiz,Gibraltar, Ronda & Estepona. The hotel staff , especially the bar staff are Very helpful & friendly & work really hard ! The hotel is very old & retains it's old Spanish charm which is lovely, but the bedrooms are in desperate need of refurb ... Don't accept rooms 1- 5 ( downstairs) we were originally put in room 1 ...horrendous ....dark, gloomy & damp smelling , not good if you feel claustrophobic !!! Food was basically good , but think they could do with a new chef! We went thro 'Secret Escapes ' so it was relatively cheap ... Think we got value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SABERUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear customer

Thanks for your interest and for your comment.
Sorry about your dissatisfaction with the room but we are making reforms to get greater satisfaction from customers and so be able to offer the highest comfort and the best service.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Reina Cristina is a beautiful vintage hotel with a rich history. During World War II, it was used by the British as an observatory overlooking the Straight of Gibraltar, Sir Winston Churchill stayed in this hotel. The hotel has ambience and the terrace/bar areas are delightful to eat or just to sit and have a drink. The staff is very friendly, especially at the bar. The rooms that I saw needed updating, however, we were fortunate to get a recently, very tastefully renovated room. The only problem we found was the "old" closed in smell we encountered in the corridor and in our room. Opening the balcony doors did help with the musty smell. No time to have dinner at their restaurant (visiting Gibraltar), it was their "Romantic Dinner" evening in this oasis. Sadly, we only stayed one night, on our trip through Spain, and definitely will be back to enjoy a longer stay. I most certainly can recommend this "grand" hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladvisor923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews