We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Spanish Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Reina Cristina
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“True Spanish Character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable week at the Reina Christina Hotel which oozes old fashioned Spanish charm with impressive Moorish architecture and very grand furniture. The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the grounds are delightful. The medium sized outdoor pool has plenty room around it with comfortable mesh loungers and sun umbrellas

Our room (250) was large and well supplied with wardrobe space and drawers. A free fridge and big TV with various English news channels (but no actual English programmes) was welcome but the room wasn’t very practical in terms of bathroom layout or plug socket locations

The holiday deal included an upgrade which got us a room with a good balcony getting sun all day and a constantly changing port view between the orange trees in the hotel grounds. The ‘Welcome’ plates of fruit, biscuits and bottled water were good but failure to replenish tea/coffee making elements isn’t what’s expected

The hotel’s buffet restaurant has a very wide choice at both breakfast and dinner with tasty well cooked food - you have to be ultra picky to leave hungry. The buffet is constantly refilled and the food is hot. Drink prices are very reasonable (2 Euros for a large glass of drinkable house wine or 8.5 a bottle) but the staff are often very busy. Getting served at the bar can be difficult particularly at busy times

Algeceries (an easy 15 minute walk away) is a traditional working town with little for tourists but it’s nice to watch the world go by over a drink in the attractive main square. The town is very well placed as a touring base for visiting surrounding sights – we would really recommend Ronda (go by train, it’s a 90km drive with half that distance over twisty mountain roads) and Cadiz (easy drive on motorways and a truly beautiful city)

Although the Reina Christina might not be quite up to a modern 4* rating in certain respects but it’s a very comfortable 3.5* level and left us with happy memories and a good holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosieandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your wonderful review,this kind of comments are the ones that made us feel proud of our job ,and give us the impulse to carry on giving the best of all our team members in order to archive our main goal ,provide the best well deserved holiday experience to our costumers.

We hope to see you back soon for another great holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    395
    200
    77
    85
See reviews for
160
553
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A very old rustic hotel in the middle of a commercial zone. Poor staff rude inattentive and prefer to serve spanish people first. Loud and overfull dining room. Paying guests a wedding and a thirtieth drug addict anonymous convention all at the same time in one tiny dining room. It wed bedlum. Try another hotel really don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumf149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to improve our service for future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algeciras hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
sheerness
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

went to this hotel 0n 23rd april for a week we were booked to have a twin port view upgrade but on going to roomwe were facing a wall went to reception and were told no port view rooms were vacant so we took room 362 which was ok the hotel is excellent food and staff and surrondings enjoyed it so much we have booked to go back in November but this time paid for a port view thank you d bright

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheernessDavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your wonderful review,this kind of comments are the ones that made us feel proud of our job ,and give us the impulse to carry on giving the best of all our team members in order to archive our main goal ,provide the best well deserved holiday experience to our costumers.

We hope to see you back soon for another great holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from a four day trip with my mother and have to say it was a delightful experience staying in the hotel.The trip was booked through Fleetway travel for an unbelievably cheap price so my expectations were low because I could not see how anything other than pretty grim could be offered,however I was wrong .The reception staff (Sole what an amazing multitask receptionist) allowed me to upgrade to a suite (at extra cost) but the room was AMAZING and worth every penny.In my view despite the additional upgrade cost we still had a good value break because meals were part of the package and were always hot and plentiful.
If you want water to make tea then a visit to the local supermarket (cost 4 euros in a cab) will deliver huge bottles at 0.50 euros each ,but you will need a cab back and these are easily found.
Plentiful supply of bars/cafes in the city centre,all at very good prices and the efficient manner of service makes for a very relaxing and enjoyable experience.
The weather whilst we were there was hot and sunny,the pool delightfully cool and empty.
Do take bite repellant because my mother was bitten,I fortunately not,but the itching drove her nuts !
So I judge every place I have been to with the "would I go back " and n this case a big YES.
p.s Gibraltar has a nice little airport too !

Room Tip: Our suite was in the corner which meant it was enormous and so so quiet,overlooked the pool.We actua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Globales Reina Cristina.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and i will be making sure that i pass on your comments as the whole of the staff will be very much grateful for it.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here in March this year so the weather was a little hit and miss, but it didn't matter at all as the staff did their utmost to make sure we enjoyed ourselves anyway.
The hotel would have been a sight to behold in its heyday, pulling up the long driveway and seeing it open up in front of you.
Thats not to say that it is 'past it' now, just that it would have been even more magnificent when all the old time glamourous folks were a visiting!
The reception staff were inundated with a coach full arriving at the same time as us, however, they were unflappable, and took the time to make us feel welcome, and even upgraded us to a suite free of charge!
The food was not to the standard that I had hoped for, but this is probably due to the fact that I had read several reviews indicating that the restaurant was a destination, rather than just somewhere to fill up. We went half board so our breakfasts and evening meals were included, and this was a buffet style situation, rather than the restaurant itself, which seemed pretty pricey.
We ate out a few nights and the staff were happy to call taxis for us and applauded our 'locals restaurants' choices, rather than trying to keep us there, which can so often happen in hotels.
The indoor pool was a lovely temperature, and whilst a little small, this was probably due to the copious amounts of kids filling it, our fault for booking during half term, I guess!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Overlooking the terrace gives beautiful views of the sunrise & sunset everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear faithful guest
Than you very much for your comments about you recent stay ,we hope not the last one!!!
We sincerely value our costumers opinions because they always help us to provide better service.There are many aspects we need to work in to make our establishment better and you are certainly helping us to do that.

Let me take the opportunity to invite you to our hotel once again .

Thank you very much .
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda, Klaipedos Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Such a beautiful hotel! I have stayed in january during my visit to Gibraltar and it was an experience! Hotel with a history and heritage, perfect staff, good food, beautiful view and location. Also there is an inside swimming pool and gym with sauna. loved it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vik2rija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review,this kind of comments are the ones that made us feel proud of our job ,and give us the impulse to carry on giving the best of all our team members in order to archive our main goal ,provide the best well deserved holiday experience to our costumers.

We hope to see you back soon for another great holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent a week at the Reina, on a half board basis, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there...the hotel is very impressive and in its heyday would surely have been opulent....the room we were allocated was easily acceptable being clean and comfortable....the breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals easily acceptable....except, for me, on chinese night......the staff were always polite and helpful. The only things I would say is that if you are going there to spend the week drinking you will find it difficuilt to get fully intoxicated as the bar staff are not the quickest I've encountered. There was also a lack of pool maintenance whilst we were there.

Although the hotel is in a working city it is superbly placed to visit the the area's attractions such as Ronda, Marbella, Sevilla etc., and for those wishing to go farther afield, Morrocco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
We sincerely value our customers' opinions because they always help us to better serving you and future customers.
There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
AC Hotel Algeciras
AC Hotel Algeciras
#1 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.9 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Reina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Reina Cristina

Property: Globales Reina Cristina
Address: Paseo Conferencia s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Reina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Reina Cristina in located Algeciras, Cadiz and just a few kilometers from the resort of Tarifa famous for its beach and surf, and just a few minutes’ walk from the gateway to Africa that is the port of Algeciras. The hotel has 168 elegantly decorated guest rooms and boasts beautiful architecture that reflects its rich history. The Globales Reina Cristina is a true paradise within the city of Algeciras, thanks to its extensive gardens, stunning pools (indoor and outdoor) and it´s beautiful views of the Straits of Gibraltar. THE PERFECT LOCATION FOR YOUR EVENTS The Globales Reina Cristiana can also provide all the services you may require for business meetings, conferences and other events. The hotel has a dedicated events team available to help you arrange your wedding, banquet or events within the unbeatable setting of the city of Algeciras. There are 8 function rooms available for weddings, banquets, or events. There is Wi-Fi and ADSL available throughout the hotel and there executive rooms available for those travelling on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Reina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Cristina Algeciras
Algeciras Reina Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing