We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice stay”
Review of AC Hotel Algeciras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Finding the hotel was easy enough once we managed to decipher the address. The hotel shares the building with NH Hotels and while NH has underground parking in the building, the AC does not, so keep your eyes open for signs - the AC parking is just a few meters away. It is free and really not a far walk from the hotel.

Check in was easy but very rushed. Wifi is available (even in the rooms), it's free and reliable. Room were clean, with comfortable beds and nice darkening curtains. Service was quite efficient - small glitch with the safe but the issue was resolved in a matter of minutes after we brought it up. The only problem we had during our stay was the shower which got *very* cold every 30 seconds or so while we were trying to have a hot shower.

Breakfast was nice - breads, cheese, cold cuts, yogurt…typical continental. Service was very friendly and attentive.

The hotel was a great location for our day trip to Tangier in Morocco. We drove to Tarifa (20 minutes away), parked at the port (12 Euros/day) and took the fast ferry to Tangier - the ride took about 40-45 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    232
    58
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
213
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights as I was travelling to morocco by motorbike and the port was closed due to bad weather. The hotel staff we extremely helpful. They all spoke English and assisted with finding a mechanic for my bike as it developed a minor fault.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, warm (had AC) and modern. The food was fantastic and I found it to be reasonably priced too.

I ended up staying an extra night on my return trip back through Spain. I highly recommend this hotel. Offers everything the weary traveller needs and at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

OK if you want a comfortable bed and bath

TV making noises randomly, key card that stops working randomly, warm juice and milk and only continental breakfast. Waited 30 mins for anyone to show up at reception. WiFi is 11 Euros a day. Bar is not a bar, employee (after waiting forever) gets stuff from kitchen. Poor selection. Would not come back, unfortunately forced to stay here for a few days more :(

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acalgeciras, Manager at AC Hotel Algeciras, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mr. Stephan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the AC Hotel Algeciras.

You indicated in your response that Your Stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest´s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your-or our own-expectations. Our goal is to address yor concerns so that w can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Of course we will take measures in order to improve our service.
Please check with the hotel staff, our staff informs the content of our services, schedules and whether they are free or paid.
The wifi is free, minibar, garage, expresso coffee, newspaper, fitness center are also complimentary.
The breakfast is buffet service.
Not have bar service, just have breakfast and restaurant
Any questions or problems always inform the staff of the hotel, they will help you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights primarily as a center point for a day trip to Tangiers via a ferry from Altarifa and another day trip to Gibraltar. The hotel was fine for our purposes. It was clean and relatively spacious. It even had free parking. The breakfast was just adequate.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChallengingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel 1 night before taking the ferry to Morocco. It served its purpose - convenient, good value, clean and next door to the drop off for our rental car. Very basic room; mattress was hard and pillows too soft (they need to be replaced). Reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Outstanding service as usual and as standard in all AC hotels. This one in particular keeps up with pretty much any of the others at a very low price.

There are many things they can improve, but given the price, this is so far the best place I´ve stayed in.

I will definitely recommend it and come back if needed.

Room Tip: Apparently the higher levels have better view to the city and the bay. Now, there´s nothing much to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0t4b3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A really basic hotel with everything you would expect for the price. Friendly staff and a very good breakfast. Near the city centre so quite busy. Nothing to specifically remember. Would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
1,115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#5 of 12 in Algeciras
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
69 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Algeciras

Property: AC Hotel Algeciras
Address: Ctra del Rinconcillo | esq. C/ Hermanos Portilla, 11204 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Algeciras 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rinconcillo, next to the port and the Hipercor Commercial Centre and only 2 Kms from the city centre. Its strategic location offers magnificent views of the Strait of Gibraltar, the North of Africa and Algeciras Bay, and also makes it the ideal place for shopping trips or visit to Gibraltar, Ceuta, guided tours of Tangiers and Tetuan, as well as providing easy access to the Sotogrande golf ourses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Algeciras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing