We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel”
Review of AC Hotel Algeciras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Algeciras
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night choosing this hotel because we were able to get an excellent rate. The location was not ideal (we did not have a car) but the hotel itself was fine. We had a nice room with an amazing terrace and view. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom door was funky, made of glass with no lock (the same as another AC hotel in another city).

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    232
    58
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
213
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Located near the harbor - great place to overnight for catching the ferry the next morning in Tarifa. Nice breakfast buffet, garage (no charge) right behind the hotel. Rooms modern - loved the glass sink in the bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel for business or as indicated a great place to sleep if you're doing the Tangiers ferry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here two nights driving in from Ronda and seeing GIbraltar for the afternoon. The hotel is clean and modern. Checkin was quick and we were given internet codes for the room. Room was clean and comfortable.

Views from the room were of Gibraltar but through the port infrastructure. We stayed for two nights as we were spending the day in Tangier the next day. It is about a 30 minute drive to the ferry in Tarifa - almost no traffic on the Sunday morning we drove down there for the 9 AM ferry.

We did not use the hotel restaurant. Parking is in a building behind the hotel which it seems has plenty of room. We arrived just before the police set up a checkpoint at the rotary just in front of the hotel. They were stopping cars, inspecting them, etc... We had to wait to park our car in the garage because of this.

Overall a positive stay. We only dealt with the reception staff who were all helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel as you have views over the port to Gibraltar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acalgeciras, General Manager at AC Hotel Algeciras, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with teh AC Hotel Algeciras.
Thank you very much again for your feedback and attention to us.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Tell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A decent hotel, what you'd expect from a huge international chain, Very businesslike and everything works, but absolutely void of any personal touch or something to remember it by. There aren't too many options in Algeciras though, so this is probably a very good option. Located about a 500m walk from the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on a 10-day journey through Portugal, Spain and Morocco. We expected what we got-a place to sleep with decent amenities, a hearty dinner (ice cream was unusually terrific), continental breakfast, and close proximity to start long leg of journey to Morocco through Ceuta.
The hotel delivered, although was disappointed in service in restaurant. If the only other guest, a single diner, asks to change the tv channel, and the only server spends 20 minutes working with the tv, that guest had better be the owner of the hotel.

Please add conditioner to the bathroom products. Por favor.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kforney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

After a long trip in Tangier, this hotel reminded us of how comforting Western amenities can be. While it's by the port, parking is easy, check-in is easy, and there's a great Italian restaurant down the street. I'm still unsure why I felt compelled to review this hotel but after spending over a week in so called "classic" hotels, the AC was just perfect in it's modernity. Über clean, comfortable beds, and extra wide showers....anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M10edmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Algeciras is a port town with not a lot to see and do for the tourist but stay overnight to catch a morning ferry to Africa. The Marriott Hotel was clean and well situated with sea views from our window. We had a junior suite which had a separate lounge area and two bathrooms. The breakfast was simple and the service adequate. I thought the hotel represented very good value for money. It is a practical, clean and safe option. I would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: The junior suite was very good value in allowing us to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWhistler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acalgeciras, General Manager at AC Hotel Algeciras, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the AC Hotel Algeciras.
You´re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience.
Thank you very much again for your feedback and attention to us.

Sincerely,
Guillermo Tell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algeciras
1.4 mi away
Globales Reina Cristina
Globales Reina Cristina
#2 of 12 in Algeciras
1,115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alboran Algeciras
Alboran Algeciras
#3 of 12 in Algeciras
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Algeciras
Mercure Algeciras
#7 of 12 in Algeciras
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#5 of 12 in Algeciras
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#9 of 12 in Algeciras
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Algeciras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Algeciras

Property: AC Hotel Algeciras
Address: Ctra del Rinconcillo | esq. C/ Hermanos Portilla, 11204 Algeciras, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algeciras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Algeciras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Algeciras 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rinconcillo, next to the port and the Hipercor Commercial Centre and only 2 Kms from the city centre. Its strategic location offers magnificent views of the Strait of Gibraltar, the North of Africa and Algeciras Bay, and also makes it the ideal place for shopping trips or visit to Gibraltar, Ceuta, guided tours of Tangiers and Tetuan, as well as providing easy access to the Sotogrande golf ourses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Algeciras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Algeciras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing