We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Los Dolmenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Excellent hotel. Really good food in restaurant. Breakfast a bit chaotic and quirky, until you work out how it works. Lovely atrium inside the building. Just too far to walk into Antequerra (especially when it's hot)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We found this hotel literally by spotting it from the road as we drove toward Antequera seeking a place for one night. We were attracted by its location - easy driving distance to the town centre but still located well outside where it offers easy in/out by car and free parking. The room was very nice, clean and reasonably priced. There is a restaurant adjacent but we did not try that because we wanted to check out old town Antequera that evening and found dinner there. Breakfast was included in the room price, served in the bar just off the lobby. The breakfast meal consisted of coffee/tea plus a toasted ham sandwich on the usual fine bread. If you have a car this is a great place to stay on a visit to Antequera.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I would recommend this hotel to family, friends, couples, business and solo travelers. Even Anglophiles and non-Spanish speakers will find the staff here friendly and helpful. The hotel is either brand new or has been wholly remodeled/refurbished. I didn't make the booking so I don't know anything about the hotel beyond my visit and the fact that the price was really good. The hotel itself and rooms are clean. Stairs, elevator, courtyard - clean. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are clean and new, with excellent water pressure. Area is pretty quiet, but sometimes the resturant/bar can be very noisy and busy --BUT once you close your door, your room is quiet.

The room staff visited and cleaned daily. The entire hotel was clean, room, bathroom, toilet all clean and new. They supplied a shower cap, shower gel/shampoo, razor and shaving cream, bar soap, toothbrush & tiny toothpaste, and even a comb if you needed it. There was a fridge in the room and a large closet. Excellent Hotel, but for a nice quiet meal, I recommend the small (almost invisible) little restuarant 3 minutes stroll on the main road toward Antequera. It has a patio surrounded by shrubs and a reed canopy. It is right on the road, and quiet unassuming -- but the food is good and reasonably priced. (the menu is not in English though, so bring your dictionary).

More Details regarding hotel stay: All of the HOTEL staff was very friendly and quite helpful. Many speak some English (and I shamfully admit my Spanish is quite weak). The breakfast they supply is through the restuarant attached to the Hotel. You get a ticket for coffee and toast. Three of the four mornings we were there this included a plate of ham & cheese. The first morning we only were given our choice of coffee drink and toast (very nice toast). Then on the following mornings we got a plate of ham & cheese also. I didn't know what to expect, but I think my inability to speak Spanish put some of the older restuarant staff off (as they seemed a bit grumpy) This was not unusual for a number of places we went. The younger staff at the hotel and bar/restuarant were very nice and seemed in a more cheerful mood. The bed was very comfortable and you had access to your rooms climate control. The balcony we had (Rm 201) looked out over a round about, fountain, and vast landscape. It was beautiful. The traffic was busy at times, but never very noisy and once you shut the door, it was very quiet. One night there was a wedding party at the hotel and quite loud and crowded at the restuarant and outside, but once we shut our doors -- quiet. It was wonderful.

We chose this hotel because it was easy to find, away from teeny windy streets of a beautiful town. If you've ever driven in Europe you know the best and oldest villages are hard to navigate in a vehicle. This hotel is near Antequerra, a quick taxi ride to the center of town(about 7 Euros) or a slightly (not too pretty walk) uphill (perhaps quite hot) 40min walk to the center of town -- but stop in and check out the ancient Dolmens on the way! The walk is on roads for about .5 miles, then you hit a dirt road and get away from traffic (but turn right when you hit pavement again or you might miss the Dolmens).

Only negatives: No pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A 3* Hotel on the road side. ... close to Malaga and close to all other major location. Clean tidy and normal size room no thrill ttitude. .. plenty of parking space. .. in house spanish style coffe bar and restaurant. Sure worth the money, spacious bathroom with shower/bath. We stay for one night and have really no complains. Even that the Hotel is on the roads side no traffic noise. .... Wifi signal could be boosted, room 104 had no or ver weak signal. Facebook and Skype seem to be blocked.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Furrydandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A clean modern Spanish-style hotel about a 10 minute drive from Antequera. It's a convenient place to stop if you are on the road, free safe parking in the grounds. The room was spacious with a good sized bathroom with bath/shower and bidet with a fair selection of toiletries. Perfectly clean. We paid €50 as an internet rate, and I noticed the rack rate was €60, including breakfast.

Breakfast is basic toast and coffee in the cafeteria next door - now non-smoking. The staff are helpful, but I imagine their English is a bit limited if you can't speak Spanish. TV is Spanish channels with only the awful CNN in English.

We didn't try the restaurant, but got a taxi into Antequera, where there is much more choice - only €7 each way.

If you have time go Fuente de Piedra, where there is a large saline lake which in early summer has thousands of breeding flamingos - a fantastic sight. Also a half hour drive up a mountain road will take you to El Torcal de Antequera - a national park with stunning rock formations that have been carved into shape by snow and wind over the centuries - well worth a look.

Also there are some unbelievably well preserved dolmens in the area if you can find them (signposting is awful)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Thought long an hard about how to review this hotel.

There was nothing particularly wrong with it, but it basically lacked any charm or character.

We chose it because it was at a convenient road junction and we were travelling all over the region. From this viewpoint it served the purpose, and the majority of the other guests seemed to have chosen it for the same reason.

Room was large enough but beware - the fountain on the roundabout right next door goes on all night - an the road seems to attract every HGV that is travelling from Malaga to Seville - all night!

If you do not speak Spanish you might struggle, but the staff were just about OK, need some encouragement to interact more with guests.

Food for evening meal was a bit erratic, and breakfast was taken in the bar with the local workforce on their way to work - smoking allowed! Very basic breakfast.

Overall good value for money, good road location for getting about, but lacking in any charm or character.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartscotland1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

For the past four years, we've held Spring Break in Southern Europe with our two small children, now aged 5 and 6. Following France, Greece, and Italy, we now wanted to explore Andalusia. No doubt, the best way is to drive from Parador to Parador, but we considered this logistically challenging with the kids. Instead, we decided to base ourselves in Antequera, literally at the crossroads of Sevilla-Granada and Cordoba - Malaga/Ronda/Gibraltar. (The freeways in Spain, incidentally, are amazing, having benefitted of EU investment subsidies. Except for the road to the the airport and the coast, we drove on flawless roads through sometimes spectacular landscape, what we imagine California to be 50 years ago).

Just over a year old, Los Dolmenes is a brand new facility. Its location is super convenient, about one mile from the freeway and before you get into town, so it allows you to minimize your driving time. Convenience should be your main driver here; it is at the edge of an industry park (no manufacturing, just distribution, offices, etc.) Having said this, it is adjacent to an old olive grove and rolling hills, offering some pleasant views (i.e. unlike e.g. the Novotel in Malaga, which sits right on the highway) . It is very quiet. The photo's on the hotel's own website of outside views and interior finishings are accurate.

Our room - a triple -was large enough for a fourth bed, and had a sizeable bathroom and huge double bed (2x1.20m, i.e. 8 foot wide total, bigger than a US king size bed). Most (all?) rooms a have a nice balcony. As a bonus to parents, the rooms on the second floor (called the 1st floor in Spain) open to a large glass covered atrium with several tables, where you can have a glass of wine and read when the kids are asleep while not letting your hotel room door out of your sight. (Though we were lucky with the weather, February would generally be too cold to use the balcony for this purpose.)

The included breakast is simple (toast, jam, coffee/tea) but fine. We didn't try the daily set dinner menu, priced at an incredibly low EUR 9.- There's an Aldi supermarket close by, and there's nice things to see in Antequera itself also. Housekeeping was perfect. There's no pool or playground, but if your aims are similar to ours, we would highly recommend this hotel.

P.S.
Try the road trip from Antequera to La Garganta del Chorro, and then on to Ronda, which passes by some spectacular scenery (note: it does include one-lane mountain roads). You also pass by a privately run Wolf zoo in natural surroundings; wolves are not our favorite animals but I realize it's unique.

Stayed: February 2009
3  Thank dmtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
813 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
113 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Hospederia Colon Antequera
#14 of 15 in Antequera
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lozano
Lozano
#11 of 15 in Antequera
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Dolmenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Dolmenes

Address: Carretera Malaga 7282 | Km 9,3, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: £49 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Dolmenes 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Dolmenes Hotel is located at the foot of Mount Romeral, with privileged views over the city of Antequera, the Lovers Cliff and "El Torcal de Antequera" The megalithic constructions, Dolmens of Antequera, give name since 2007 to our Hotel. In fact, we are just a few meters away from Tholos of El Romeral Caminito del Rey "The kings Path" and El Torcal Antequera two of our most important places of Hinterland tourism and cultural tourism in Malaga, heart of Andalucia. Knows the story of Antequera through its "Alcazaba", "La Colegiata" Cathedral , its churches or palaces with the atmosphere of its historic archaeological and architectural heritage . Visit one of the most important megalithic constructions of European prehistory as they are "The dolmens of Menga, Viera and Tholos El Romeral" . Complete your visit with its several museums, including the Municipal Museum , Oil Museum and Bullfighting Museum . Enjoy the magical setting of the most spectacular karstic landscape in Spain , "El Torcal de Antequera", with some exclusive worldwide formations. At a few minutes from Antequera, you can relax doing Ornithological Tourism in the most significant Lagoon in Spain - salt complex , "La Laguna de Fuente de Piedra" with thousands of species of birds as well as the elegant flamingos, definitely a place of great ecological value. Near Antequera , you can find so attractive places like the famous "Caminito del Rey,Desfiladero de Los Gaitanes" , the prehistoric cave "Cueva de Ardales" or the natural fountain of hundred pipes "Fuente de los Cien Caños" in Villanueva del Trabuco, source of the river Guadalhorce with an spectacular beauty . All these attractive options are part of the cultural heritage of the province of Málaga a few minutes from our hotel. Make your holidays different and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Los Dolmenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing