We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel/ staff need "motivating"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Convento de la Magdalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel/ staff need "motivating"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Positive: Great location with stunning countrysideviews, comfortable room lovely old monastery building and the restaurant is good.
Negative: Spa area is bit tired, reception staff less than motivated given this is a 5* hotel (indifferent and unhelpful at best!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    116
    38
    14
    24
See reviews for
45
205
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Lovely hotel very peaceful and quiet. Well away from the main town a car is essential, not too easy to find but just follow the golf signs and its not too difficult. A fantastic rustic building full of character. Staff couldn't be more helpful, restaurant food and service superb as was the breakfast.
Spa facilities were also good, overall a good stay, would certainly come back. Best option is the half board.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Staying at the La Magdalena for two nights, half board was a pleasant experience. The hotel, ex convent, was exceptionally quiet, with only four diners in the evening.
The staff were charming and helpful. Wanting to visit Torcal to see the limestone rock features and no tourist guide leaflets available, front of house manager gave excellent directions.
Our room was a junior suite, which was quite large, and overlooked the front courtyard. I would have preferred a room at the back of the hotel as the views are stunning, but as our main reason for being in the area was to play golf we did not ask to change rooms.
The food, both in the evening, and at breakfast could not be faulted.
My only small niggle would be that it seemed a shame that the pool area was completely enclosed, although bed chairs and the odd parasol were available on the grass terrace adjoining the pool area.
I would recommend this hotel off the beaten track, not just for golfers, but for walkers and others who appreciate the natural surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

It was pleasure to visit Antequera , I stayed in 5 star Hotel Convento La Magdalena it is situated on
outskirts of the city of Antequera. Lots of facilities are there like good restaurants, bars and terraces. Excellent food and beverage and also golf and its accessories, pleasure to see green fees with exciting weather.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

if you want desconet, this will be your best choice. Locate in the mountains, with amazing views and greats activities around. Prepare yourself, it has a lot of birds, quite nice to heard them.
We enjoyed a lot our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Get away from it all here. Perfect views, quiet location. Car essential. Would benefit from outdoor pool but indoor pool and small gym which was quiet at all times of day although we went early season! A couple of issues in room which were attended to immediately by very efficient staff. Would recommend if you are looking for quiet retreat in perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel (ex convent) is located in a stunning location. Rooms are beautiful and and the food is good. People are welcoming and very nice. I am looking forward to go back. It is very close to Antequera and the park of Torcal which are both worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pm430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de la Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de la Magdalena

Property: Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Santa Catalina s/n, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Convento de la Magdalena 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Convento de la Magdalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing