We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid hotel and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A splendid hotel and experience”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed only 1 night at the convento la magdalena with my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday. It was the perfect choice! A special offer for september meant that our stunning double bedroom, buffet breakfast and spa came to 90 euros for both of us..... which for a 5 star hotel was incredible good value for money.Courteous staff, large, clean and luxurious rooms and bathrooms, a well maintained spa and a stunning breakfast display, I cannot praise this hotel enough. It gave us a chance to experience 5 star accommodation which we normally can't afford! It is quite isolated, so you will need a car to travel to Antequera and there is nothing else around in the immediate vicinity.. but we were quite happy to stay at the hotel and enjoy the spa area and eat at the hotel's restaurant. 10/10 ... !We will return again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayabr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    120
    41
    18
    27
See reviews for
48
219
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iznajar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We went to try the hotel's restaurant on a recommendation.
The place looks to have a stunning setting, but we struggled to find the restaurant. It appeared that we had to dine outside, and could only choose from a very limited menu, all of which was prepared on a barbecue. No other dining options were given.
The staff seemed friendly, but were a bit lacking in their attention, had to ask for the wine list a few times. We chose a pretty expensive bottle as a treat, which the waiter brought to our table, shook it about quite a bit while opening, then, when poured, unceremoniously plonked the cork back in and put it on the table. We were expecting a little bit more care and attention from a 5-star location. Similarly, we thought that bigger glasses would be provided for us to enjoy the wine. None were forthcoming, and when we asked they brought out some glasses that were almost the same (very small) size, and not able to do the wine justice.
As for the food, we had jamon iberico, but it was poorly cut, and a very small portion indeed for the price, we can get far better from our local restaurant, and for half the price. The second plate we shared was pretty good (octopus), but again very, very small. The main course suffered the same fate. My entrecote came with 1 1/2 slices of a (lukewarm) potato, a bit of red pepper and green pepper. That was it.
The terrace was so poorly lit I had to hold the menu near a pillar light to be able to read it. The place iself is huge, but the terrace was paved with patterned concrete, which looks very tacky. It looks like most of the waiters need some extra training, and they overcharged us on the bill.
All in all a very very poor showing for what is meant to be a 5-star place. I don't think I'll be going back...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Arrived, with my 90 year old father for a stay over Christmas. Hotel door was locked and I was made to stay in pouring rain whilst I insisted to reception, through intercom, that I had a reservation. My father fell over entrance steps in dark and bruised his arm. When we eventually were allowed in we were told they thought we were intruders (!) and then a series of lies, including that they didn't have a reservation for us and that the hotel was full. In fact the hotel was empty and there were no staff. I showed them proof of booking and insisted on having a room as it was 1.30 in the morning. Woken at 2.45 by manager of sister hotel, telling us to go there. We refused to move in the middle of night. Woken by deliberately banging doors and loud music pumped into our room at 9.00 am. Obviously we should have been informed in advance about hotel closure but our treatment was little short of disgraceful.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank handel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We were treated like royalty from arrival to departure. Every member of staff we met was friendly, polite and helpful and spoke English. We were given a suite with two bedrooms, lounge, dining room and sitting room. The whole place was spotless, the bedrooms were roomy and comfortable. The dining had superb views over the mountain valleys. The food was excellent and service first class. Plenty of choice and a good wine list. Prices were very reasonable - more in keeping with a four star hotel. We paid €75 (Euro) ppp night for dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel is isolated in the mountain side but only five minutes drive to Antiquera. The only downside for us was that there was no tea/coffee making facilty in the bedrooms but then that is probably the same in most Spanish hotels. We still had a wonderful experience for the three days we stayed there and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shayfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Arrived on Tuesday 8th Sept, booked for six nights. Excellent reception. Pleasant and charming. Immediately apologised and said that unfortunately on Saturday night the hotel had been booked for a wedding and three hundred people were expected. We were welcome to stay but there was going to be a band playing all night and we probably wouldn't get much sleep. They had booked us into their sister hotel the Antequera Golf and in compensation upgraded us to a suite. Having stayed in Paradors all over Spain and on several occasions having the same problem with weddings, never have we been compensated in any way but been left to lump it, this was pretty good. The room we had in the Convent had a view towards the tennis court. But no problem only had to ask, given room next door with view towards the water wheel,olive groves and mountain. First few days seemed to have the hotel to ourselves. Restaurant in evening, food fantastic, excellent service. Bliss, but it couldn't last. Friday evening a large crowd of loud braying Brits turned up. Looked like the sort of people I detest most, obscenely overpaid jumped up town Clerks. Saturday night, spent in huge room in Antequera Golf, that hotel is a bit tired (definitely wouldn't have chosen it !) Couldn't wait to get back to the Magdalena. We had asked to go back to the same room and as soon as it was cleaned we were back in. Hooray. This hotel can be a bit tricky to find. If you come out of Antequera on the 343, there is no sign indicating the hotel. If you go to Google Earth and get the cursor to 36*59'57.97''N 4* 35'37.63''W (where * means degrees) that is where you turn right (or North) off the road. The other road to the hotel, come through Antequera and aim for the Antequera Golf Club, after this there is a large signpost to the hotel. The overhead view on Google earth is Oct 2004, and shows the hotel and immediate area before it was renovated. I'm in two minds recommending this hotel, because I would like to go back and find it just as peaceful not full of ghastly Brits. But the staff are brilliant. The food is fantastic. The hotel fully deserves the five stars it has. If you are interested in all things Roman, take a walk past the tennis court. There is a path hacked out of the hill which used to carry fresh water all the way to Antequerra. Makes a very pleasant walk because of the gentle incline.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is a very nice hotel. I would recommend it to relax for a few days. It is far from Antequera town center, so it is not the best option to visit the town. However, the hotel facilities are good and modern, with the asset of this being a historic building. Great spa, with nice views of the mountains from the swimming pool. We had dinner at the barbecue restaurant. I was surprised by the good prices for a 5* hotel. The food was good and the service attentive. The only problem we had during our stay that it took the waiters at the restaurant more than 30 minutes to bring us the check after we requested it. We asked for it several times but they failed to comply. My recommendation to the management is that they should improve the organization of the restaurant. Other than that, our stay was perfect and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I stayed here for one night and as i pulled around the corner to see the Hotel in the distance for the firdt time, i was blown away! it is the most stunning view. And i was not disappointed once i walked into the reception. The staff are ALL amazing, they do not know the word "NO" and went out of thier way on every occasion to deliver the WOW to us during our stay. We stayed in the biggest suite in the Hotel which had two main bedrooms, a hugeliving area with three dining areas. The rooms are amazing and the overall cleanlinessand comfort is second to none.
The actual hotel is so beautiful you do not want to leave. We also had breakfast which was lovely.Overal the most amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliescroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
2.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#4 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de la Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de la Magdalena

Property: Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Santa Catalina s/n, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Convento de la Magdalena 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Convento de la Magdalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing