We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Land that Time Forgot"”

El Torcal Natural Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.70*
and up
UNESCO Natural Monument: El Torcal Hiking Trail Tour from Marbella
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful expanse of land decorated by dramatic natural rock formations.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The Land that Time Forgot"”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we have visited El Torcal, a couple of times, whilst travelling in Spain- it is an amazing place! We have completed both the long, and shorter walks-incredible limestone rock formations!, and spectacular views! Our children and my husband!) loved scrambling up onto the tops of the rock formations (they are experienced climbers!!), It is like being in a "Land that time forgot"!. Great place...Would love to return!
Tracey Mahony. Norfolk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traceymahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    398
    34
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“These limestone rock formations are just amazing, a great day trip”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited this nature park just south of Antequera and it was an amazing drive up the mountain road with spectacular views. You could see the coast of Malaga from the top! And the strange rock formations were really amazing - do try the recommended 'walk' as shown on the sign post (see my pics). Its not at all difficult and kids love it. There is also a Visitor Centre.
And best of all the nature park is free!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING NATURAL PARK”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

One of the highlights of our visit to Andalucia... so much so that we made a return trip! The rock formations are lovely and the scrambling over rocks is excellent. We made it to the top of a very windy and high ridge - and could see Malaga and the sea! Tip - late afternoon / midweek is a good time to visit as the barrier may be down so that it is possible to drive right up to the visitors centre car park. A great place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackieTrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Time out”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Alhambra, Mezquita, take some time out for superb nature scenery. Interesting, beautiful and excellently sign posted. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZoiaAshdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“On top of Antequera”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Poorly signed but either to or from Villanueva del Rosario and then follow the odd sign easy access with a large barrier when closed. The views and history along with good information boards make this a really good visit with views of the Med and beyond, the limestone has been formed over a millennia with many interesting formations. The cafe at the top is not as expensive as one would imagine and has a small shop as well.
Well worth a visit but please be aware of the sun and wind that will burn skin very quickly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Torcal Natural Park also viewed

El Chorro, Province of Malaga
Antequera, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Antequera, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Torcal Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing