We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunar landscape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Torcal Natural Park

El Torcal Natural Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.76*
and up
UNESCO Natural Monument: El Torcal Hiking Trail Tour from Marbella
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful expanse of land decorated by dramatic natural rock formations.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lunar landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We came here after vising the El Lobo wolf park.
Quite a long drive up the mountain but wonderful views. The centre has free parking and a good café. The rock formations here are quite spectacular and the views across the countryside are sublime.
We did part of the 45 minute walk around the centre and saw a wild fox who walked straight past us and a large green lizard. Lots of large birds overhead but too high up to identify. Wish we'd had time to complete the walk.
Difficult to imagine that this mountain top was once under water. Definitely worth a detour if you're in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJJS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    368
    34
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting natural site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was a bit of a drive out of Antequera, including major uphill driving. Very interesting rock formations, we saw an ibex and a giant vulture on a short hike into the park. Worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views and great walks (even with kids)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We liked it so much that we ended up going twice during our holiday. It was our top activity during our visit in Andalucia. We went there with our 6-year old daughter and she really liked it as well. At the info point you can buy a map for 3 Euro (which is shaped not very practical) which shows rock formations that kids can search for and discover. This can add to the fun.

After doing the short 1,5km trail the first day, we were amazed by the views, the nature and the serenity of the place. We came back a few days after doing the long trail. The long trail also offered sufficient shadow to still be enjoyable during a hot summer day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“mind blowing, if you like this sort of thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It is like looking over the creation of the world, as the vast rocky landscape and sculptural rock formations at El Torcal were once actually the sea bed. Now they sit at the top of Andalucia. For all that the lack of soil should make the place barren, it manages to sustain a few bramble-like plants, trees and even wild life.
From different view points you can look down over surrounding countryside or across the rocky tops. A long and windy road up leads up to the cafe/nature centre and demarcated walks. Mind blowing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mersault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Amands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A must when travelling south Andalucia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here you can really admire the beauty and miracle of nature. Take the longer tour for a really amazing experience or take your kids and settle for the shorter, but equally fantastic walk through El Torcal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucVanBogaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Torcal Natural Park also viewed

El Chorro, Province of Malaga
Antequera, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Antequera, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Torcal Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing