We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View

Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area
Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Choice of three dining areas
View of Castle from the terrace
Night view from the terrace
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stylish Rustic Kitchen with all modern appliances
Kitchen - washing machine and dishwasher
Lounge snug area with flat screen TV & amp; DVD library
Lounge snug area
Stoned walled bathroom with large walk-in twin-headed shower & foot wash
Twin-headed shower
Quarry stone stairs leading to the plunge pool
Sunbeds with a View
Sunbeds
View from the Terrace
Close-up of Castle from Terrace
Early evening from the Terrace
Nearby hill walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pinkkatie...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true piece of heaven”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in Castle View for ten days at the beginning of September. This is the second time we have spent at one of Rupert and Mel's properties (we stayed at Lemon Tree last year), and once again we had a fabulous time.

We can't really comment on the town (although the supermarket is very good), as we don't really leave the apartment when we are there. Castle View is exactly as it sounds - it is all about the view. We spent hours on the roof terrace looking at the view, reading and cooling down in the plunge pool.

The apartment is really well equipped and Rupert and Mel are great at talking you through how to use everything once you arrive. The location of the apartment is great - just a few minutes down the hill to the town. The walk is back up a steep hill, but to be honest, we loved getting a bit of exercise on our way back from the supermarket and the hill was the only bit of movement we did for the whole ten days.

Other than the view, the thing that once again made our stay a cut above other rentals, was the friendliness and kind attention from the owners. From the initial booking enquiry to the time we leave, we felt looked after and cared for. We would recommend either of their apartments without hesitation and when we next need a break, doing absolutely nothing, we will be back.

(Just because we do nothing there, Antequera is perfectly situated to get around the area and is an easy coach journey from Malaga).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the pool and the owners
Liked least: That it was a bit windy on a couple of evenings, so we couldn't look at the view all night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiAndBill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just returned from two week holiday at Castle View, Antequera. An absolute gem!

The villa is gorgeous and the view is spectacular, could have spend the whole two weeks on the roof terrace admiring the view!

Rupert and Melanie are wonderful hosts. We previously stayed in their Lemon Tree apartment which was also wonderful and felt as though we were visiting old friends.

Rupert and Melanie went out of their way for us and we thank them for their kindness.

The villa is well equipped with everything you could need for your visit. The beds are wonderfully comfortable with plenty of pillows. The outside space is amazing especially the roof terrace with its plunge pool.

Rupert is particularly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Antequera and both Rupert and Melanie speak fluent Spanish and live locally and are on hand if there are any questions or issues.

We have already booked for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanM816
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views and a taste of authentic Spain.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We liked the look of Antequera when we first drove into the town, we were then greeted by Rupert and Melanie whose genuine affection for the place its culture and its people was infectious. after showing us around the lovely presented interior they then brought us up to the terrace to show us the stunning views of Antequera and the out lying areas, and I have to say we were smitten. Every evening we would sit on the terrace of the aptly named Castle view overlooking the town, relaxing with a drink or two listening to the sound of church bells. Wonderful!

Rupert and Mel throughout our stay were extremely helpful and took care to make sure our stay was enjoyable and hassle free. An example of this was when after a few days of rain and more forecast they turned up with a couple of umbrellas. Our advice would be to just take time to enjoy the history and culture of the place, enjoy its food and drink, engage with the people, but I am sure once you arrive and are greeted by Mel and Rupert you will be enthused and smitten with the property, people and town just as we were.

The property, town and spanish people was for us a great taste of authentic Spain,which is a country we have travelled in quite a bit, but we both feel that Antequera is a little bit special. Thank you Rupert and Mel for your kindness and for sharing your enthusiasm and knowledge of Antequera. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whatelles
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a provincial town”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We booked the house of Rupert & Melanie for a week in October. The weather was fantastic. We spent a lot of time hanging on the balcony. A really quiet and inspiring place. The view is amazing. The house is very big and well equipped. We are difficult sleepers so we slept separate because the beds are very small (we are used to a 1.60 meter at home). Antequerra itself we did not find really interesting. It's a town were many people seem to be unemployed and/or rather poor. Maybe because of that we weren't very impressed by the local cuisine. We didn't find any restaurant with an interesting or creative menu. It's all basic tapa's kind of stuff. Although I think Rupert will definitely not agree :-). We are extreme foodies; so picky and judgmental and very much looking for the 'wow'. The location of the house is ideal if you want to visit the hotspots like Granada and Malaga. The cities are all reachable within 1 hour or 1 1/2 hours by car (train also very easy access).
Rupert is a very kind and warm man, who did the utmost to let us feel at home. If there was a problem, he was at our service straight away.
One tip: read Rupert's navigation sheet well before arriving and never trust your TomTom, it will NOT work in Antequerra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The (small) bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AJohnCM
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and authentic Spanish experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

It is an authentic Spanish home with all mod cons as the advert stated. The view is outstanding.
We were surprised at how close the town centre is as you feel pleasantly out of it in the evenings looking down on the town all lit up.
Everything was comfortable, and the kitchen is great to cook in (we are foodies!). The chest freezer was an added bonus.
There is a nice arty feel to Castle View which we warmed to.
Antequera is a lovely town and we had the perfect base.
We intend to revisit Antequera again and Castle View is top of our list as a place to to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and proximity to the centre
Liked least: The weather wasn't great when we stayed
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck1es
South Mimms, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Proper Spanish location, oozing with character”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Charming, cozy, oozing character, with a spectacular view. We loved it.
The owners have thought of everything. Great people too, and very helpful for local information.
We particularly liked the `chiringuito´ style dining area on the roof terrace, and it was lovely to see the town at night lit up, with the castle in the background.
The house is a steep walk uphill from the town centre but worth it for the views.
The area is `proper Spain´, and the neighbours very friendly even though we didn´t speak Spanish.
The bus and train stations are a 10ish minute stroll away which we used as we didn´t hire a car.
We hadn´t been to Antequera before and adored it.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing