We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real taste of Spain!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View

Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area
Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Choice of three dining areas
View of Castle from the terrace
Night view from the terrace
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stylish Rustic Kitchen with all modern appliances
Kitchen - washing machine and dishwasher
Lounge snug area with flat screen TV & amp; DVD library
Lounge snug area
Stoned walled bathroom with large walk-in twin-headed shower & foot wash
Twin-headed shower
Quarry stone stairs leading to the plunge pool
Sunbeds with a View
Sunbeds
View from the Terrace
Close-up of Castle from Terrace
Early evening from the Terrace
Nearby hill walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Apcook_11
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real taste of Spain!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Myself and my partner were both looking for a holiday that offered a real taste of Spain both in accommodation and surroundings. We were not left disappointed.

I'll start with Rupert and Melanie, both very lovely people who more than catered to us. As it was my partners birthday on arrival a bottle of sparkly was provided with a lovely message. They were friendly, informative and a pleasure to speak to offering a real insight into Antequera and spots to visit.

The villa was fantastic, I would talk about the amenities such as a TV, sound dock and BBQ but it's not relevant as you won't spend much time inside. The villa is beautiful and offers a real 'home away from home', it was clean, a great size and really did provide a taste of Spain. The pool was a god send in the heat and we spent the majority of our time on the sun deck upstairs, a lovely covered area by the pool with fantastic views across the town.

As a location Antequera is amazing. Although it's not necessarily a tourist spot the bars and restaurants are filled with social and friendly people/staff. This is rustic Spain so please be aware a basic understanding of the language will go a long way, that said there are plenty of places that offer English translations, including the Chinese restaurant. There are several historic and beautiful building sorted throughout Antequera and although it's a small town you could spend a week and still not see it all, the side streets and eateries will keep you busy!

It's also very cheap to eat out, although the facilities to cook are provided why would you want to? We ate out every day/night and still came home with plenty of Euros left.

I really couldn't recommend the villa, location but more importantly the people (Rupert and Melanie) enough. If you're looking for a great place to stay for incredible value for money you need look no further.

I am genuinely looking forward to coming back to Antequera and I know I will most certainly be giving these guys a call. Thank you for an incredible opportunity to experience Spain!

Will be seeing you guys again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAA332
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Castle View was the highlight of our trip to Spain.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Castle view surpassed our expectations. We were two couples and were very comfortable using this as a home base for a week. Driving in Antequera is a bit challenging but once we got used to the narrow, one-way streets we had no problem. The central location of the town made day trips to Sevilla, Cordoba, Granada, Malaga, Marbella and Ronda very easy. But Antequera itself is full of charm and well worth exploring. The view from the roof top patio was truly amazing and we spent as much time as possible there. We were close enough to town to walk in to the market for fresh fish, groceries and a great little wine store. What more could one ask for? Highly recommended!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrian R
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Perfect place to stay to experience the "jewel" that is Antequera. Walking distance to everything in Antequera. Being on a hill overlooking the old town means great views -but you do need to be able to walk the hill / stairs home !!
A perfect base for side trips to Granada, Sevilla, Malaga, Ronda, Cordoba etc Great restaurants and tapas bars. Very authentic. Visit before it takes off!
The house has all the necessary stuff and more. The private terrace is lovely at sunset.
Rupert and Mel were very helpful with tips and bookings etc. Had a problem with the hot water heater, but Rupert dealt with it promptly. Ended up with a new unit to try to solve the issue promptly.
Very happy with our stay there. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evening views from the terrace watching the sunset on the Alcazbar.
Liked least: The walk up the hill! [But it got easier]
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jtmlkirk
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

If ;you are looking for a centralized base to explore Andulucia or a place to spend a quiet week, Castle View is the place. Beautifully sited on the hills above Antequera, this lovely home has all the amenities and hosts, Rupert and Melanie want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Wifi was intermittent and weak
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
And0608
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay with amazing views”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had been to Antequera before and fell in love with it then. We had stayed in a nice hotel then much prefered the private accommodation of Rupert and Melanie´s house this time.
The hill was steep but worth every step for the stunning views.
The comfort all round was excellent, with Rupert and Melanie both wonderful hosts.
Will definitely to see you both again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith_the...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful and memorable break”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The view from the roof terrace at Castle View was a `wow'´! The house is well situated as you feel away from the bustle of the centre of Antequera, yet are so close to it. It was lovely in the evenings looking over the town at the castle all lit up. The house had everything we
needed, as indicated in the advertisement.
Our compliments to Rupert and Mel on their taste in refurbishment. Fab bathroom!
We had a really great break, and should we come back to Antequera would look to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zedeka
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent property with amazing views”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a lovely stay in Antequera, and Castle View was an ideal base.

The view as promised was incredible, and it was gin and tonics on the terrace every evening!

We spent a lot of the time just chilling out in the house and eating in. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the little shop 30 seconds away was really useful when we couldn´t be bothered with a supermarket shop.

There was a lot more to Antequera than we had anticipated, and we are planning to come back next year for two weeks rather then one.

Rupert and Melanie were well informed about the town and the surrounds, and we will be in contact again. Thank you both for a super stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing