We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the spot and top value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Simple clean room and the decor a little old fashioned but location couldn't be better and the staff couldn't be nicer. The girl at the desk gave us a list of her 5 favourite tapas bars and we had a great tour of the town

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simontolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little 2 star hotel in the heart of Antequera . We had room 205 on the 2nd floor overlooking the square . The room was so spacious and Comfy bed . Bathroom huge and spotless. The family hosts were simply perfect . 5 stars all the way for us!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lou134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had two rooms at the front of the hotel on the first floor. It was a bit noisy, but it didn't affect our stay. We had been looking for an inexpensive place to sleep and had no need of frills. This hotel delivered and more.

The place was smart and very clean. The showers were nice - hot and powerful. The guy on reception was friendly and gave recommendations for Tapas - Meson Iberico - and breakfast - a pastisserie approx 200 m left as you leave the hotel - which were both excellent.

For approx 18 euros per person per night, we were very very pleased with this hotel.

PS - We visited Antequera o a whim, and were so glad we did - a really beautiful place.

Room Tip: The front rooms might be noisy but they look over the square. We were very happy with ours. If you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Walker-S-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a nice and authentik hotel wright in the middel of Antequera with in walking distance of al major sights there. I have stayed here for one night. My room was in the front and that was really noisy. It was just if the cars were driving through the room.... Also my bed was less confortable because of my back problems. But I had a wonderfull stay and will recommend this hotel, only rooms on the quit site. Distance from Busstation or Trainstation is about 15 minutes by foot and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quit situation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dientje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Great value and perfect location for exploring Antequera. Our room was very clean and well equipped with a fridge & TV. Hotel staff were warm and very friendly. Great visit & for the money we had absolutely no complaints.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jonjoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Antequera is a city about 40 km from Malaga, right in the heart of the Andalucia. A really good place to stay is the Hotel Plaza San Sebastian. It's right in the centre of Antequera and right beside all the bars and activites. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, I stayed there for a week in September, 2013, and at 25e a night it was fabulous value. Nothing luxurious, but I had everything I wanted, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom really clean and spacious. The owner is a very pleasant lady who was very helpful and friendly. The safe is not in the room (which I would prefer) but they look after this for you at reception.

The great point about this hotel is that it is central to everything. The tourist office is just across the road. The Alcazaba (the big moorish castle) is just up the hill from the hotel, and the municiple museum (in the Palace of Najera) is only around the corner. The bus station is only a 15 minute walk away.

All in all Antequera is very Spanish, friendly but not too touristy. There are lots of attractions outside the town (such as Lobos Park, with rare white wolves roaming free, and El Torcal) but if you havn't a car you probably won't be able to visit these. The aforementioned museum is well worth a visit, they have a beautiful life-like statue of St. Francis there, as well as one of the best preserved Ephebe (Greek Youths) in the world.

Being in the heart of the Andalucia, Antequera is a good spot for visiting nearby cities of note, as there is an excellent bus service in and out of Antequera. When I stayed there I visited Serville, Grenada, Cordoba and Ronda. Be warned though, Antequera train station is about 12 km outside the city (yes! and poorly serviced) in a litttle town called Antequera Santa Ana, so access it by bus or car. The bus service runs frequently and is excellent value.

I highly recommend this town and the hotel plaza San Sebastian in particular to stay. As for eating, don't bother with the cafe next door to it, the staff are not very friendly there, you will get great food in any number of small bars within walking distance: recommended are Rincon de Lola, the hotel Castille (just up the hill) and my favourite El Numero Eno hostal (see separate review).

I loved my time in Antequera and will be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Some reviewers said the plaza was noisy at night. I found it the total opposite. So as my room was a...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel couldn't have been in a better position for visiting Antequera. Just a short walk from the attractions and the bars and restaurants. We were made very welcome on our arrival and our room, at the side of the hotel was quiet, but didn't have a view. The shower head needed attention and once reported was dealt with immediately. The wifi reception in our second floor room was a bit hit and miss, but there was excellent reception in the first floor lounge. We had breakfast at the bar next door which was very convenient. We had booked parking with the hotel and were pleased that we had done so, otherwise parking would have been almost impossible. The hotel was well cared for and very clean, I can recommend for anyone wanting a few nights right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the square at the front due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aitch865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#6 of 15 in Antequera
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coso Viejo
Hotel Coso Viejo
#10 of 15 in Antequera
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza San Sebastian

Address: Plaza San Sebastian 4, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza San Sebastian 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing