We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget hotel in Antequera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Hospederia Colon is on a busy main street in Antequera. All the attractions of this fine historical town are easily accessible from its central location. My wife, and I stayed four nights in a large double room with a tiny balcony. In early June it cost €30 per night for a double! The en-suite room was very comfortable and spacious, the bed was good and bathroom facilities were modern and kept to high standard. The daily cleaning and hard floor washing was almost obsessive. I cannot fault the Colon on any point of housekeeping. The staff were most helpful and generous with their interest and kindness. Terese has very good English and she took care of most of our inquiries. All of the staff, including those with limited English, were very helpful at all times. Breakfast is not available here, however, there are many cafes in the vicinity. I have been in three star hotels that do not match the standards set by Hospederia Colon. Do not be put off by references to 'hostal' or 'pension' - these titles are misleading. This is a fine budget hotel - it operates like a hotel, it simply, does not have a lounge,or restaurant. We slept well here, apart from street noise on the Saturday night. If this concerns you, you may wish to inquire about a quieter room overlooking the tiny internal patio.

Overall, then, terrific value-for-money. The building has character and charm. The long street leads , at one end, to the old quarter and the Alcazaba. Following the opposite direction from the Colon, you find the centre of town. Along the way you'll pass several impressive buildings. The most impressive are the 'council' buildings - the Ayuntamiento - do try to enter this impressive place.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise, inquire about quiet rooms at the rere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

The double room with bathroom cost 35 euro per night and we accommodated four nights there. Our room included a closet, an armchair, an air-conditioner, a small fridge, own bathroom and a balcon.

In reception are snack and drink machines. There is also a parking place (not in same building), which cost 7 euro per night. The keys may be asked from the reception staff.

Inside the hotel is a bit worn and there was a funny smell. Apart from those facts this place is good to sleep, if you are not too picky. At least it's cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kulmalukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel was very comfortable: the room and the bathroom were spacious, no problems with hot water, there was free wifi (which was good in our room) and a PC with internet access on the first floor. The windows in our room faced the patio, so it wasn't noisy (but there was cigarette smoke when guests went out for a smoke). There was a mini fridge in the room, which is very important to me. The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful, he explained how to park the car around the hotel, gave us a map of the town etc. The common areas of the hotel were pretty interesting - decorated with old objects. I did enjoy my stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dos-caras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcolon, Director de Recepción at Hospederia Colon Antequera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013
Google Translation

Dear Customers:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Antequera.
Wishing you much health and happiness
attentively
Jose Ramon Gomez
Hospederia Colon Antequera


Estimados Clientes:

Gracias por haber elegido nuestro establecimiento para pasar sus vacaciones en Antequera.
Deseandoles mucha salud y felicidad
Atentamente
Jose Ramon Gomez
Hospederia Colon Antequera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I first stayed in the Hostal Colon four years ago, when I was impressed by the charm of the rooms (full bath with bathtub!), the low price -- and the extraordinarily helpful and friendly young woman Teresa at the front desk, whose English was considerably better than my Spanish.

I have returned for 3 months to Antequera, spent hours walking around this charming city and used the easy bus and train connections to take short trips to other places in Spain. I would recommend this town, and this hotel, to anyone. I walk everywhere, and use public transportation to get out of town.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while, ask if one of their apartments (Castellana) around the corner is ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agouraserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We spend three nights in Antequera: The first night in this hotel was a nightmare, the other two I slept like a rose. The first night we had the cheapest rooms available, located on the third floor of the hotel. The Lonely Planet described them as rustic, in fact they were worn down, noisy (heard the neighbors having *** all night long), incredibly hot and the mattresses were a joke. Next morning we immediately booked two rooms in the "newer" part of the hostel, which offered very good value for money: spatial, good beds, plus a small fridge.
The hotel has a particular feeling with all its dark hallways, could very well serve as setting for the next "Hostel" movie. The people a the front desk were very helpful however.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Parking in Antequera is next to impossible. Hotel has limited parking on first come first served basis but they charge seven Euros per night. We went Holy Week and the evening processions were interesting but road closures meant we had to leave our car on the outskirts of Antequrera and walk in, then go back at about 11:00pm to get it .

The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are plenty of places to get a cheap breakfast. Also fridge and microwave is provided for those who want to make simple meals themselves.

Most receptionists do not speak English. WiFi internet access is free, a VERY slow computer is provided for those without a laptop. All round good value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I took a long time to settle on hotels for my stay in Spain. Cost was the driving force , and TripAdvisor was the second driving force of that decision. We decided on Hostal Colon because the reviews were okay and the price was very cheap.

Well, you get what you pay for.

We traveled around Spain by bus, and although we were confused at first, we eventually found the hotel, which was a 10 minute walk from the bus station. Very easy. It is located on a busy street, but that was the least of our worries.

When we arrived we were told to go upstairs and look at 3 rooms and choose the one we wanted. They were all the same price so we chose the biggest one. It had 2 beds, and a large bathroom. The size was great. What was not so great? Well, the safe couldn't be unlocked. They even sent their handyman out to try to unlock it and he couldn't. Also the toilet. Oh, the toilet. My husband and I went within 5 minutes of each other and we quickly learned that you can't flush the toilet less than 10 minutes in between flushes. We thought the toilet was broken at first, and it was so embarrassing. We called up the front desk lady to come look at it (and my husband had done more than #1) and we were so embarrassed. She told us to wait 10-15 minutes between flushes. Wow.

The ashtray on the bed stand had chewed gum in it, so that lead me to question the cleanliness of the rest of our room. The bathroom was okay, but could have been cleaner. The hallways smell of cigarettes (as does everything in Spain) thus our room smelled of stale cigarettes.

Normally, we aren't too sensitive when it comes to noise, but these rooms have paper thin walls. We heard the couple next door, umm, doing adult things (if you get my drift) for a good 30 minutes. We could hear EVERYTHING. What they saying, and all the noises they were making. I found it funny, but it just illustrated the lack of privacy.

One good thing is the location. It is within walking distance of all the sights you will want to see in Antequera. We really enjoyed Antequera very much, so the location is perfect.

If you need the internet, there is an internet/business room on each floor, which was nice. We didn't use it however.

Overall, if I could do it again, I would spend more money at a nicer place. Cheap isn't always the best decision.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessika14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coso Viejo
Hotel Coso Viejo
#10 of 15 in Antequera
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castilla Hotel
Castilla Hotel
#12 of 15 in Antequera
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Colon Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Colon Antequera

Address: Calle Infante Don Fernando 31 | Centro Historico y Comercial de Antequera, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: £26 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Colon Antequera 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Colon is divided into two parts, one part more modern and renovated rooms with en-suite bathroom, heating, air conditioning, flat TV, safe, dvd, telephone in the bedroom and elsewhere rooms with shared bath, plus old and with very cheap prices for backpackers and guests who prefer to stay and spend little dormir.Nos found the city center, on the main avenue in the historic and commercial center of Antequera. We have private pay garage near the Inn. Free Pet. Free cot on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hospederia Colon Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Colon Hotel Antequera
Antequera Hospederia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing