We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, services, and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
new jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent location, services, and friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent four days at Hostal Colon that it happened to be during the local Feria. The rapport price/quality was excellent. The hotel is clean and located in the city center, on the main street of downtown area, close to everything. The room was large, equipped with everything you need (including fridge, hairdryer, TV, internet). We even had a small terrace in addition to the balcony as our room was on the top floor. The furniture is old, but fits well with the style of the building and area. The staff was very friendly and I want to especially mention Maria Teresa from reception desk. She has a good command of English, is funny, helpful, always smiling, and knowledgeable about the tourist attractions of the area. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    15
    6
    13
See reviews for
15
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendalough, Wicklow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Hospederia Colon is on a busy main street in Antequera. All the attractions of this fine historical town are easily accessible from its central location. My wife, and I stayed four nights in a large double room with a tiny balcony. In early June it cost €30 per night for a double! The en-suite room was very comfortable and spacious, the bed was good and bathroom facilities were modern and kept to high standard. The daily cleaning and hard floor washing was almost obsessive. I cannot fault the Colon on any point of housekeeping. The staff were most helpful and generous with their interest and kindness. Terese has very good English and she took care of most of our inquiries. All of the staff, including those with limited English, were very helpful at all times. Breakfast is not available here, however, there are many cafes in the vicinity. I have been in three star hotels that do not match the standards set by Hospederia Colon. Do not be put off by references to 'hostal' or 'pension' - these titles are misleading. This is a fine budget hotel - it operates like a hotel, it simply, does not have a lounge,or restaurant. We slept well here, apart from street noise on the Saturday night. If this concerns you, you may wish to inquire about a quieter room overlooking the tiny internal patio.

Overall, then, terrific value-for-money. The building has character and charm. The long street leads , at one end, to the old quarter and the Alcazaba. Following the opposite direction from the Colon, you find the centre of town. Along the way you'll pass several impressive buildings. The most impressive are the 'council' buildings - the Ayuntamiento - do try to enter this impressive place.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise, inquire about quiet rooms at the rere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The double room with bathroom cost 35 euro per night and we accommodated four nights there. Our room included a closet, an armchair, an air-conditioner, a small fridge, own bathroom and a balcon.

In reception are snack and drink machines. There is also a parking place (not in same building), which cost 7 euro per night. The keys may be asked from the reception staff.

Inside the hotel is a bit worn and there was a funny smell. Apart from those facts this place is good to sleep, if you are not too picky. At least it's cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulmalukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
585 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel was very comfortable: the room and the bathroom were spacious, no problems with hot water, there was free wifi (which was good in our room) and a PC with internet access on the first floor. The windows in our room faced the patio, so it wasn't noisy (but there was cigarette smoke when guests went out for a smoke). There was a mini fridge in the room, which is very important to me. The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful, he explained how to park the car around the hotel, gave us a map of the town etc. The common areas of the hotel were pretty interesting - decorated with old objects. I did enjoy my stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dos-caras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcolon, Director de Recepción at Hospederia Colon Antequera, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Google Translation
Dear Customers:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Antequera.
Wishing you much health and happiness
attentively
Jose Ramon Gomez
Hospederia Colon Antequera


Estimados Clientes:

Gracias por haber elegido nuestro establecimiento para pasar sus vacaciones en Antequera.
Deseandoles mucha salud y felicidad
Atentamente
Jose Ramon Gomez
Hospederia Colon Antequera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I first stayed in the Hostal Colon four years ago, when I was impressed by the charm of the rooms (full bath with bathtub!), the low price -- and the extraordinarily helpful and friendly young woman Teresa at the front desk, whose English was considerably better than my Spanish.

I have returned for 3 months to Antequera, spent hours walking around this charming city and used the easy bus and train connections to take short trips to other places in Spain. I would recommend this town, and this hotel, to anyone. I walk everywhere, and use public transportation to get out of town.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while, ask if one of their apartments (Castellana) around the corner is ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agouraserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We spend three nights in Antequera: The first night in this hotel was a nightmare, the other two I slept like a rose. The first night we had the cheapest rooms available, located on the third floor of the hotel. The Lonely Planet described them as rustic, in fact they were worn down, noisy (heard the neighbors having *** all night long), incredibly hot and the mattresses were a joke. Next morning we immediately booked two rooms in the "newer" part of the hostel, which offered very good value for money: spatial, good beds, plus a small fridge.
The hotel has a particular feeling with all its dark hallways, could very well serve as setting for the next "Hostel" movie. The people a the front desk were very helpful however.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Parking in Antequera is next to impossible. Hotel has limited parking on first come first served basis but they charge seven Euros per night. We went Holy Week and the evening processions were interesting but road closures meant we had to leave our car on the outskirts of Antequrera and walk in, then go back at about 11:00pm to get it .

The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are plenty of places to get a cheap breakfast. Also fridge and microwave is provided for those who want to make simple meals themselves.

Most receptionists do not speak English. WiFi internet access is free, a VERY slow computer is provided for those without a laptop. All round good value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#6 of 15 in Antequera
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castilla Hotel
Castilla Hotel
#14 of 15 in Antequera
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Colon Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Colon Antequera

Property: Hospederia Colon Antequera
Address: Calle Infante Don Fernando 31 | Centro Historico y Comercial de Antequera, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Colon Antequera 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Colon is divided into two parts, one part more modern and renovated rooms with en-suite bathroom, heating, air conditioning, flat TV, safe, dvd, telephone in the bedroom and elsewhere rooms with shared bath, plus old and with very cheap prices for backpackers and guests who prefer to stay and spend little dormir.Nos found the city center, on the main avenue in the historic and commercial center of Antequera. We have private pay garage near the Inn. Free Pet. Free cot on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospederia Colon Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Colon Hotel Antequera
Antequera Hospederia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing