We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask to see the bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ask to see the bathroom”
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Characterful, central and a bit quirky. The entrance is so small you could almost miss it. My bed was large and comfortable but the bathroom was antiquated and grubby.

  • Liked — Convenient
  • Disliked — Old dirty bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clive55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    15
    6
    13
See reviews for
15
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

It might be called a hostal but it's as good as many far more expensive Spanish hotels. Perfectly located in the centre of Antequera and although it's on a busy main road our room was very quiet. In fact we were really lucky and got a room right at the front with a great balcony that we could sit out on at night. The room itself was a good size, traditionally decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonface67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Stay of three nights. On the main street. Walking distance to all
and many sites of interest. Cheapest underground car park in
Spain. Hostal it may be, but I have stayed in very much worse 3*
hotels. Large room with safe, fridge, a/c, good large shower,bidet
hair drier, etc. Two windows + french doors to typical balcony.
Top floor, little sitootery ( scottish venacular) just outside, from hallway,to catch some rays.Other rooms look into various courtyards at different levels. Get the best room you can and you are in for a treat
Should you require modern, forget it , more availability for me.
Unbelievable value.
Watch out for some of the more expensive, promoted, eateries, food
was not great. 2 * hotel opposite was used by the local peeps and
food was good.
Bill & Mo Douglas

  • Liked — its all there
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Prebooked direct with hotel for 1 night in June 2008, on arriving decided to stay for 2 nights. No problems checking in, extending stay or departing, very friendly staff. Hotel in an ideal location in city centre, plenty of banks/cashpoints, restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets within easy walking distance. We parked our hire car in secure underground parking a short distance away then walked to the hotel, however hotel can provide secure parking at additional cost. Fantastic, large room on 3rd floor which had double and single bed, massive bathroom with big walk-in shower cubicle, TV and fridge in room. Everything very clean. Bit of a problem with traffic noise the first night but, as this was the night Spain beat Russia 4-1 in Euro2008, this was to be expected!! Room only cost 40 euro per night, room only, and we ate across the street at their sister hotel, The Castille, very cheap and good quality. Antequera is a lovely town, very friendly locals and we'd definitely recommend staying at the Colon. A big thank you to previous TripAdvisor reviewers as we decided to stay here based purely on your reviews!! Planning on visiting again next Summer and will definitely book the Colon.

  • Liked — genuine Spanish feel and plenty of space
  • Disliked — Traffic noise during night, however this was mainly down to Spain beating Russia 4-1!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

On a multi-week tour of Andalusia, we found Pension Colon by accident: on the internet and we knew it was at city center, so we went there 'cold' without reservation. Staff was friendly and price was a good value, a little extra for safe parking of our rental car nearby. We stayed a couple days past our 1 night expected because Antequeras is well worth it. The building itself is unique in my experience: each floor is multi-level with many pockets in which to sit and enjoy old knick-knacks. Our room was well appointed, not new, but bath was very new and shower/sink/loo were excellent. WiFi was always on and fast enough for us. Use the Mercadona down the street for cheap groceries, also there is a really upscale shopping district about 4 blocks away that beats anything we encountered in Madrid or Granada. Coach Hermes Benetton anyone??? What a pretty city, thank you, Spain!!

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — No views, closed in but heck it's right at city center!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ABoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

Great value for money. 40 Euros for a double room. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is good, middle of town. The hotel itself is really interesting with lots of stairways and landings filled with historical memorabilia.

  • Liked — Convenient, clean and good value
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wasupsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2006

I stayed one night in Nov 2006. A good option if you are on a budget: I paid 12 Euros and got a double room with shared bathroom. The best thing about the hotel is the old fashioned style of it - there are staircases here, ornate doors there, landings, halls, corridors; all decorated with very old photos, trinkets and paintings. Free internet access, friendly staff and a good central location too.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#4 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castilla Hotel
Castilla Hotel
#14 of 15 in Antequera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Colon Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Colon Antequera

Property: Hospederia Colon Antequera
Address: Calle Infante Don Fernando 31 | Centro Historico y Comercial de Antequera, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia Colon Antequera 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Colon is divided into two parts, one part more modern and renovated rooms with en-suite bathroom, heating, air conditioning, flat TV, safe, dvd, telephone in the bedroom and elsewhere rooms with shared bath, plus old and with very cheap prices for backpackers and guests who prefer to stay and spend little dormir.Nos found the city center, on the main avenue in the historic and commercial center of Antequera. We have private pay garage near the Inn. Free Pet. Free cot on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospederia Colon Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Colon Hotel Antequera
Antequera Hospederia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing