We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning hispano moorisch rustic villa -great...”
other travellers have booked this property
infinity pool with a stunning view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena
infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
almond trees in flower in February/March
part of the garden with horses in back ground, early summer
lounge (pls. note TV is now a flat screen one)
the oriental down stairs  bedroom
romantic fourposter bedroom with balcony overlooking the garden and swimming pool
Mexican twin bedroom
Path to swimming pool and lavender walk
Desert tent for exclusive use of guests
Interior of desert tent, ideal for relaxing, yoga, eating, listening to music etc
BQ area
one of many terraces
part of garden
infinity pool  area, 3 large terraces,6mx11m, 70cm at shallow end to 2 m at deep end , walled/gate
rental villa previously the oldest bakery in the area, Cortijo la Serena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ian J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning hispano moorisch rustic villa -great retreat.,”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second stay and again it was a great experience for us all. The grounds and the villa are fantastic, and it is a great place to have a thorough break and spend relaxing family time, which was exactly what we needed. The pool was a great focus for us and the grounds added to an exhilarating experience. Beyond the villa there was easy reach to Malaga, Granada and Cordoba as well as smaller more local villages.
We hope to have another few weeks here again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa & grounds
Liked least: WiFi a bit inconsistent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydiamurp...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Villa”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was our third time to visit the place we've come to know as paradise villa, so needless to say we love it and couldn't recommend it highly enough. I've been here with friends, and family and loved it each time. The house itself is beautiful and everything you could need or want is provided. The grounds are simply stunning, the pool, the BBQ area (which is my screen saver on my pc in work!) the tent, the boules court....the pictures simply don't do it justice. The villa is also fabulously situated if you can drag yourself away for a day trip; Donald and Kathryn are wonderful hosts to boot. What can I say, I'll be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuala372
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth.”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fantastic villa, house and extensive grounds decorated with great taste and sensitivity to local area. Amazing pool, boules court, built in BBQ area and even a Morrocan tent to chill out in.
Everything was provided and Kathryn and Donald were just the perfect hosts. I couldn't recommend this place more for maximum chilling out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and grounds
Liked least: The slightly hairy drive to local village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizbethPi...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we were approaching the villa, we couldn't stop smiling because it was so breathtakingly beautiful. We received such a lovely, warm welcome from Kathryn and Donald - we knew that this was going to be just perfect. And it proved to be the case, in every single respect.
Kathryn had left us a wonderful selection of tapas and a delightful bottle of Rioja, which was very much appreciated after our long journey. The villa was delightful, full of character from the old beams in the bedrooms to the beautiful decor. It was so apparent that the villa had been lovingly and painstakingly restored. It was scrupulously clean and all mod. cons provided - powerful showers, well-equipped kitchen, very comfortable lounge area. In all, a real home from home.
The grounds were absolutely stunning - from cactus to palm trees to roses and rosemary bushes and then, to top it all, the eclectic mix of garden decor, the eye catching Moroccan tent, hammocks, barbecue area under the beautiful old Spanish oak tree ... The list is endless. The piece de la resistance (although hard to choose, because there were so many!) was the wonderful infinity pool - with the view stretching to the mountains - cypress and olive trees being the only break to that exquisite view. The weather was fantastic - we took full advantage of the very well-equipped pool area - sun loungers (six, although only two of us!) and parasols, cooling outdoor shower etc.
We ate every evening outdoors; we were spoil for choice with there being three areas for dining. Although we had every intention of eating out, we simply couldn't drag ourselves away from this beautiful haven of peace, eating to the sounds of the birds and geckos and watching the stunning tableau change as the sun sank down ...
Kathryn and Donald were so intuitive to our needs - we were seeking privacy and peace but we knew that they were there to give us tips, heads-up of local events of interest to us. We had the best of both worlds, thanks to them.
The villa's location was ideal: Seville, Cordoba, Grenada, the coast (just to mention a few) all within easy reach but, as mentioned above, Cortijo La Serena was more than perfect for us. We can't wait to return.
Thank you Kathryn and Donald for making ours an unforgettable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSAP48
Fredonia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They have thought of everything!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I recently spent 2 weeks visiting Spain with another couple and spent the last 6 days at this truly stunning property. It is located about 35 minutes north of the Malaga airport. It is a short drive down a dirt road to reach the property. We loved the beauty and the peacefulness of the home and its surroundings, yet it is in a central location to places one might want to visit in the south of Spain. The owners have supplied the home with everything guests may need for a comfortable stay. There is even a fully stocked medicine box as well as a small travel medicine kit. Fortunately, for us, they remained unopened.

I think what sets this vacation rental apart from other is Donald and Kathryn themselves. We arrived on a Sunday and Kathryn offered to shop for us. She not only picked up the groceries we requested, she had the tapas plated, wine chilled and provided us with a bottle of delicious olive oil which is locally produced. The owners live on the property and are readily available for recommendations and advice. Both she and Donald helped with our touring plans. We enjoyed meeting them, their 4 dogs and Mimi, the cat (their pets are confined to their own enclosure. We asked to meet them and enjoyed their visits). I can recommend this property to other travelers without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonfizz
Somerset
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second visit to Cortijo la Serena, but our first one in Winter; still the same breathtaking scenery I remembered, but cooler especially at night; this was not a problem as the the villa was nice and warm. We took the opportunity to travel further afield and had a wonderful time exploring the surrounding area including Granada and Cordoba The weather was perfect for sightseeing and we enjoyed many long walks through the beautiful countryside surrounding the villa.

Once again Kathryn and Donald’s hospitality was outstanding, helpful but never intrusive, the perfect hosts. A fabulous week in a charming home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D K
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing winter stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We chose this property based on TripAdvisor reviews and this was one of those unfortunate times when TripAdvisor failed.

I traveled with my family to South Spain to see the magnificent sites in Granada, Cordoba, Seville and coastal towns. I knew we would clock a lot of mileage (ended up with 2,400km in 8 days ;-) so I was looking for a location that would have convenient driving distance to all the major cities. Antequera looked good (on a map) so we searched for a property in this area. After our first choice did not work out we booked Cortijo de Serena through TripAdvisor.

Confirmation process was swift and we were on the way.

I have to say that we were pretty unfortunate with the weather. The forecast for the area was showing nice and sunny +20 degrees in the few weeks prior to our arrival. However, on Feb 13 couple hours after my plane landed, strong winds picked up and the temperature dropped to +8 and further lower to +1 during the night time.

It is important to note that the rental property is located about 45km (45 min drive) north of Malaga at elevation of 800m according to Google Earth so the temperature will naturally be lower at the property compared with the coast (should be a good thing in the summer heat but worked against us in February).


The rental property is a part of a bigger house with the hosts staying next door. It has a small sitting room with couple of coaches and a small TV. There's a bedroom and a toilet with a shower. Kitchen has a large dining table, two small refrigerators and a microwave. There's a gas fired stove.

Upstairs there are two bedrooms and a split-level toilet with a shower.

The master bedroom has a very small door, so if you are taller than a child watch your head, especially if you are trying to crouch to the bathroom in the dark. I hit my head at least twice there. Also be careful getting up from bed - the steel frame has some sharp edges and my wife scarred her leg pretty bad.

During the nights it was very cold - I guess Spanish houses are not well equipped for the low temperatures. We had three layers of blankets on and we were still cold. The house has several electric heaters but they were not sufficient in this weather. The bathrooms were cold and the water pressure was not sufficient for a comfortable shower.

Outside there's a nice garden and a pool - we obviously didn't use it due to the weather.

There's WiFi but the connection is pretty slow and the hosts asked us not to do anything else other than web browsing/emails - I guess they are on the same network. I need to connect regularly to my office VPN due to the nature of my business - the bandwidth was not sufficient for that so I had to use my 3G connection - with very mixed success either.

The property is very remote, you need to drive on a combination of paved and dirt roads for 10-15 minutes off the motorway. There's nothing but endless olive fields along the way. Our car got pretty dirty driving in these fields. I used Google Maps on my phone to get around and never got lost. You need a local data plan though otherwise it may be pretty expensive if roaming.

Grocery shopping is in the town called Archidona - a mere 4km away in a beeline but takes a good 20 minutes to get to. You pass a Malaga Penitenciario as you drive there.

Bottom line is this. If you like to be in a remote location undisturbed by emails and enjoying the views of the olive plantations - this is probably an ideal location. We found that it was too cold, uncomfortable and remote for our purposes so we had to leave after three nights. The hosts refused to return the money for the nights that we did not spend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
We take any allegations about our property and in particular your stay very seriously. I would like to clarify our position:

More than 2 weeks after your vacation of 4 days in our rental property you wrote to us demanding a partial refund on the basis of a shower lacking pressure and being cold at night. We responded immediately pointing out that we live behind the rental property and that as soon as you arrived we had indicated that we are 24/7 available to our guests to assist, help or advice when needed.

At no point during your stay did you flag up any issues.The first morning, after a first night stay we always ask our guests if things are satisfactory, you stated that every thing was well, no problems.
During the time you were here you made no complaints what so ever. As you did not give us the opportunity to rectify any issue you might have had during your stay we refused to give you a refund. You responded that this was a bad move on our behalf as you would be writing a review which we understood would be disparaging.
We would now like to respond to the points mentioned in your review:
We take the comfort and enjoyment of our guests very seriously and encourage our guests to come and find us should they need assistance in any way. Our 58 great reviews bear testimony to this, as well as, to their great stay in general during both the winter as in the summer months and we also have a lot of repeat visitors to the property.
After we checked out the water pressure in the bathrooms which we found to be totally satisfactory we had our plumber over to check the water pressure and he could not find any fault. The pressure is strong as the rental property is the first down a hill from a water tower.
Each room is provided with heating which was on from the day before your arrival. We put a winter duvet and flannel sheets on each bed as well as blankets. It was unfortunate you did not mention at any time during your stay you were cold as we would have supplied you with electric oil radiators for each room. There was a further gas heater and open fire with firewood supplied and already prepared for you which you choose not to use.
Concerning the WiFi we ask our guests not to download films etc., browsing the web and emails is perfectly fine, our internet speed is up to 24 Megas which is not slow and the monthly capacity is 25 Mbytes.
We can not dispute that the weather was bad during the week of your stay. There was a red alert for the coastal and the Ronda areas which we told you about. The rest of Andalusia was on orange alert for that week. The cold weather had nothing to do with the property's situation.
The property is rural but certainly not remote and ideally situated for visiting historical cities. Our previous guests commented on the the tranquillity of the place which was very welcome after an urban hectic lifestyle for most of them.
We offered to guide you and show you shorter routes to nearby villages which are both at 10 minutes away and offering all amenities, but you declined.
Archidona, the nearest town is 15 minutes away, Antequera at a mere 25 minutes away by car.
Andalusia is the main olive producing area for Spain, it is natural you will see a lots of olive grooves along your route. The garden of 8 acres contains a huge variety of trees and shrubs, and we have numerous almond trees which were in full blossom, a very pretty sight. Also the fields and undulating hills surrounding the property with the mountains as backdrop have been voted an area of outstanding beauty.
You catalogue the kitchen amenities but have left out many more items such as the microwave, electric oven, washing machine etc..
Also in the living room you fail to mention other than the 2 settees, a further armchair and a chairs providing sufficient seating for all our guests. Perhaps you did not notice them?
We have indeed one low door leading to a bedroom. The property is old and in times gone by, people were of smaller stature. You had a choice of 3 bedrooms so if one was not convenient you could have chosen another one. We also put night lights in each of the 3 bedrooms in case our guests need to get up at night and do not want to disturb their partner.
It is clear to us from your review that you would have liked a more urban modern rental property rather than a rural one and that you were unhappy with the weather. Because you did not mention any issues during your stay and therefore did not give us a chance to rectify any issues you thought you may have, it is unreasonable for you to expect a refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing