We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even Better !”
other travellers have booked this property
infinity pool with a stunning view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
infinity pool with a stunning view
The rental farm, Cortijo la Serena
infinity pool, view over garden and rolling hills with mountain range in background
almond trees in flower in February/March
part of the garden with horses in back ground, early summer
lounge (pls. note TV is now a flat screen one)
the oriental down stairs  bedroom
romantic fourposter bedroom with balcony overlooking the garden and swimming pool
Mexican twin bedroom
Path to swimming pool and lavender walk
Desert tent for exclusive use of guests
Interior of desert tent, ideal for relaxing, yoga, eating, listening to music etc
BQ area
one of many terraces
part of garden
infinity pool  area, 3 large terraces,6mx11m, 70cm at shallow end to 2 m at deep end , walled/gate
rental villa previously the oldest bakery in the area, Cortijo la Serena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
LondonAnn...
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even Better !”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A return trip to La Serena did not disappoint. The Cortijo which is in a great position for touring, had recently been redecorated and refurbished, making it even more comfortable and a pleasure to be in. The house was warm and cosy. Despite the problems Malaga had experienced with unusually bad weather, the area around La Serena escaped the worst of it so still able to travel around without any problems. New restaurants had opened since we were last there and I am constantly surprised by the quality and originality of the food on offer. It was definitely a gastronomic few days. Catherine and Donald, the owners of La Serena, were as usual helpful and very informative which can save so much time when on a short visit. One of the things visiting in the winter months here is that you get to see things that are not around in the summer. The blossom on the trees, open fires in the restaurants and the snow on the Sierra Nevada. Museums empty of people so free to wander with ease. This area and the Cortijo are not just for Summer visits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is an amazing house, traditional Andalusian decor, immaculate clean, fully equipped with everything one could wish for on a holiday. Fantastic location for exploring Andalucía. Don't miss out on this holiday home!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LidlPrinc...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A perfect rural retreat with all you need at hand”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The pictures give you some idea how gorgeous the house is, but of course the scale of it will only hit you when you arrive. We were greeted by Donald and given a brief tour of the house and gardens, pointed at a fridge full of lovely snacks, given directions to local markets and left to get on with the serious business of relaxing.
We soon found our favourite spots as every effort to make guests comfortable has been taken; so if you fancy lounging on silk in the tent, by the pool or in the perfectly framed hammocks in the shade, you're going to be happy from the minute you get there.
If we're honest, we were a tiny bit nervous about the owners being on site as we're very private people, but we needn't have been at all concerned. Kathryn and Donald are both very charming and consummate professionals, they are somehow both there when you need them and completely invisible the rest of the time, it's quite a trick.
I'd recommend this house and this part of Spain in a heartbeat, it's quiet but not remote and so well supplied with everything we could have asked for - from kitchen supplies to places to sunbathe or escape from the sun when needed - really, it's a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's hard to pick one thing, the tent is of course stunning, but the area is amazing too, the insight of the owners into this was invaluable.
Liked least: Not being there now.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
929Jane
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Gem of a traditional Spanish property in the heart of beautiful Andalucia”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Cortijo la Serena for two blissful weeks this summer. As a family, we enjoy getting to know and explore different countries, and this was our first - and hopefully not last - holiday in Spain. In fact, our adult son, who loves to travel to new places each year, said that this was one place he would definitely choose to return to.

The accommodation itself could not be faulted. Lovingly restored by the owners, Kathryn and Donald, to its traditional charm, the villa met all our needs, and more. Eating outside each day was such a treat, soaking up the warmth and marvelling at the beautiful setting - the cortijo's own grounds, with the magnificent mountains beyond. Plenty of shade too, in the heat of the day. Then, of course, there was the pool area, which we returned to late afternoon most days, to relax following daily excursions and before our evening meal.

Cortijo la Serena could not be more conveniently located. Approximately 40 minutes' drive from Malaga airport, yet it seemed a world apart from the hustle and bustle of the coastal resorts. Set in peaceful surroundings, with olive trees as far as the eye could see, our accommodation was still only a short drive from neighbouring towns such as Archidona, Antequera and Rio Frio, with their interesting buildings, market squares, shops, nooks and crannies and selection of good restaurants. Easy access, too, to the Malaga-Granada motorway and to the high-speed railway line near Antequera, where we hopped on trains to Ronda and to Cordoba. The Alhambra in Granada and the La Mezquita in Cordoba are wonders to behold. We also enjoyed walking in the unusual terrain of the El Torcal mountain area.

The owners, Donald and Kathryn, were so welcoming and interesting to talk with - always available nearby, yet offering us complete privacy.

We also found the Spanish people we met when we were out and about to be friendly and helpful too.

Would love to return to this property - perhaps at a different time of year, to see its beauty in a different light.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dream holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have to say cortijo la serena was the most amazing holiday destination we have ever been to, the entire holiday from start to finish was pure luxury. The villa itself was amazing with a great traditional kitchen and the bedrooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, the 2 bathrooms were great especially the master bath upstairs which was beautifully decorated and very quirky. The outdoor space is something else, it takes your breath away how stunning the landscape is and sitting round the gorgeous pool transports you to exotic faraway places. Myself and my family had such a great time we are booking again for our next school holidays. Thankyou Donald and Kathryn for providing such a beautiful experience that we will keep with us for a long time xx we have already recommended la serena to lots of our friends and as soon as they saw our pictures they definitely agreed how beautiful it is

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning hispano moorisch rustic villa -great retreat.,”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second stay and again it was a great experience for us all. The grounds and the villa are fantastic, and it is a great place to have a thorough break and spend relaxing family time, which was exactly what we needed. The pool was a great focus for us and the grounds added to an exhilarating experience. Beyond the villa there was easy reach to Malaga, Granada and Cordoba as well as smaller more local villages.
We hope to have another few weeks here again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa & grounds
Liked least: WiFi a bit inconsistent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydiamurp...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Villa”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was our third time to visit the place we've come to know as paradise villa, so needless to say we love it and couldn't recommend it highly enough. I've been here with friends, and family and loved it each time. The house itself is beautiful and everything you could need or want is provided. The grounds are simply stunning, the pool, the BBQ area (which is my screen saver on my pc in work!) the tent, the boules court....the pictures simply don't do it justice. The villa is also fabulously situated if you can drag yourself away for a day trip; Donald and Kathryn are wonderful hosts to boot. What can I say, I'll be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing