We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight near Malaga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Antequera
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here on route to Malaga Airport
Great hotel wonderful staff very helpful
Rooms very good very clean
Food was good relaxed dining room
In one hour back in airport hire car returned
Worth considering when traveling

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swallow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 days in the Parador and enjoyed this hotel very much. First of all, everyone working in the hotel was friendly and helpful, especially the clerk at reception. If we go to a hotel and find a single unfriendly employee, this gives us a sour taste in the mouth and reflects on the quality of the hotel. There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel. We stayed at the Parador because we wanted to see as many of the churches as we could. Antequera is a city in Andalucia which has the most Baroque art in its churches.

Our room was Room 126, overlooking the pool and garden below. The room was large and had two twin beds pushed together. There were blackout drapes. The long desk had convenient electrical connections and a desk chair. There were two upholstered arm chairs in a light grey fabric. There was a small round table between them. There was plenty of lighting with two lamps beside the beds and one free standing lamp beside the desk. There was a flat TV set on the wall and a large mirror. There were three large closets with plenty of hangers.

The large bathroom had walls of translucent glass. There was a double sin and a bathtub with shower. A separate compartment had the toilet and bidet.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful. There were fried eggs already cooked, sausages, many types of cold cuts, different types of juice, and a wide variety of fruits and breakfast sweets. There was also jamon iberico (Iberian ham), which is expensive and served only in the best hotels. There was also cava (champagne) for those who wanted it. This was one of the best breakfast buffets we have tried in Spain.

The breakfast buffet opens at 7:30 am on weekdays and 8 bam on weekends. If you go early, then you can get a table with window seats and see the spectacular view below of the countryside. There are many birds that fly in the garden.

On the first day the Parador gives you a free drink to welcome you to the hotel. We asked for a white wine and were served a very good sherry.

The Parador is situated with a 10 minute walk to downtown. I suggest that you see also the Garden of the Sacred Heart at the top of the hill, with a beautiful statue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Although weather was grey and drizzly, this parador made up for it.
Although the frontage is unprepossessing, you need to get into the hotel to see what it has to offer. We had a huge room on the bottom floor with the largest bathroom I have had in a hotel, complete with double jacuzzi! The room had a large terrace and views of the room which would have been lovely in summer! As is often the case the restaurant was nearly empty, but as the weather was not great and the walk into the tow would have entailed getting wet we stayed in, and the food was fine - very generous portions!
Antequera has many churches and the alcazar all walkable by all but those with mobility problems.
However the room and especially the bathroom has been the star here! Room 228

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank addis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is not like other Paradors we have stayed in but a very modern hotel overlooking the landscapes of Andalusia. Sit by the pool to enjoy the views of rocks formations and the sunset, there is a smart, trendy terrace where drinks are served and an elegant restaurant.
Recent refurbishment has made the most of wonderful views with spacious terraces and large windows overlooking the countryside and city of Antequera.
Car parking is easy and plentiful - baggage can be dropped off right by the main door.
Our room, number 130, on the upper level near the reception, was spacious with neutral decoration, minimalist contemporary furniture and soothing lighting.
Reception staff were most helpful with a request for extra pillows and instructions for using the television - although the selection of English language channels was poor.
We had dinner on the terrace by the pool where we had traditional regional food made with fresh, seasonal produce. The terrace offers Spanish wines and this is where we encountered a major problem which soured the whole visit.

The wine list was a poorly printed and set-out photocopy. Most of the wines were reasonably priced in the €16 to €30 range but there are TWO Tempranillos one at €18.50 and another at €93.60 Euro - this is the only wine on the list at this sort of price!

I didn't notice the expensive one on the faded photocopy and simply asked for "a bottle of the Tempranillo" - guess which one was served - well, it was very nice. There was an almighty fuss when the bill came but the waiting staff steadfastly refused to call the manager - I refused to simply pay up and, eventually, it was agreed that the cost of the cheaper wine would be charged.
So beware!
We enjoyed a comprehensive buffet breakfast in the main restaurant.
Overall we enjoyed the Parador de Antequera apart from the wine incident.

Room Tip: Room 130 was fine - ask for a room on that level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly return again.
The welcome was very warm and friendly .
Our room was good ,clean and spacious .
The only negative was finding the hotel,the signs were not all the same some green and white (the normal Parador ones) some were yellow and one was red which was confusing.
The breakfast was an amazing display of foods from wonderful fresh fruits and,fresh juice to pastries breads and bacon.certainly a good start to the day.


Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We weren't expecting too much from this Parador, despite the good reviews, fearing we were in for something of a letdown after the impressive architecture and history of Zafra and Arcos Paradors visited on the way there. But my children voted it the best of the three, and after a couple of days I found myself coming round to their point of view. It had something to do with the charm of Antequera itself; but the shimmering white (early 70s?) architecture of the Parador is impressive, the location in newly planted gardens relaxing, and the staff helpful and friendly - if somewhat distant in the Parador fashion. They even kept the (small, unheated) outdoor pool open in late October for crazy foreigners who might want to take a dip out of season! The restaurant didn't quite live up to its billing, and the Parador hosts corporate functions in a dedicated area, but for a relaxing and stylish stay within striking distance of Malaga, Cordoba and Seville, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horizonscanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a modern, bright Parador. It has an excellent location on the way into town and is in a quiet setting. Very comfortable rooms and accommodating staff. We looked at a superior room, but the standard room at half the price was more than what we needed for space and amenity. Grounds are very well maintained and this is probably lovely in the summer. Dinner was excellent in the Parador restaurant and breakfast showed a large selection to choose from. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
881 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#5 of 15 in Antequera
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.4 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#7 of 15 in Antequera
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Hospederia Colon Antequera
#14 of 15 in Antequera
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Antequera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Antequera

Address: Paseo Garcia del Olmo 2, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Antequera 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green gardens, white walls, confortable furniture and a refreshing swimming-pool bring life to this Parador which is located near to all the important centres, and is ideal for meetings and relaxation. Antequera, which is set of dolmens, one of the best preserved in the world ,is also a barroque enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Antequera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Antequera Hotel Antequera
Parador De Hotel Antequera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing