We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the gymnasium”
Review of Hotel Finca Eslava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Finca Eslava
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Certificate of Excellence
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pity about the gymnasium”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in June 2014. Overall the hotel is very nice, large spacious and airy rooms with good fittings and furnishings. The staff were friendly and tolerant of our poor Spanish, service was good, in that laid back Spanish way and breakfast was fine if not quite to the standard you would expect in a larger hotel. We had the evening meal as half board guests and it was vey good on the half board menu. We also had an evening meal using the full menu and again it was good. The hotel is out of town so walking into Antequera is not really advisable but it is a very short taxi ride from the town.

The outdoor pool area is small with limited sun loungers and unfortunately the gym is currently being renovated due to a fire that has taken place. This is unfortunate as the fitness facilities of the hotel were on of the reasons we decided to book, so not to be told about it was frustrating. However the overall charm of the hotel and the general area made up for this setback and we would definitely return once we know the gymnasium is open again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdenevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    99
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
143
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here May 19th 2014 and were most disappointed.
The pool was out of use due to a fire which was not told to us when we booked, no apology from the staff. The evening meal was inedible with unfriendly unenthusiastic staff on hand. Breakfast turned out to be worse, cold food put on a semi hot plate with cold eats right next to it. Even less charming staff for breakfast service. A beautiful building that appears to me be unloved by its owners now and could sadly rapidly go further downhill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteinSpain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good location only a couple of minutes from Junction 149 on the A92 and opposite the Olive Oil factory and only a five minute drive into the town. It had the benefit of free parking and use of the leisure facilities which are excellent. The Hotel is very Spanish and beautifully kept. Our room (103)was clean, large and had a large balcony with views of the garden . The staff were very friendly.The town of Antequera is well worth a visit but you must be prepared to walk. The bull ring and museum for 1Euro was excellent and the Consistorial Palace is a beautiful building and you are allowed to walk around it. We found 2 restaurents on trip advisor and both were excellent, Meson Iberico in the town and Caserio San Benito at Junction 86on the A45 only a few minutes from the hotel. The only failing we canthink of is the cooked breakfasts were made in advance and not kept hot but the choice of food was excellent.
Yes, they are still road building but it didn't affect us and next time we visit it will be finished and the benefits will improve the town re traffic through the centre.

Room Tip: First floor with a view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizzyannLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Fantastic hotel! Will definitely return. Situated on main road just outside Antequera . A beautiful well maintained building with rooms around a stunning central courtyard area. All the staff we met were friendly and professional. Rooms are amazing, lots of polished wood, beams and old heavy wooden doors. Spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast with every choice you could want for just 8 euros. Very reasonable rate, worth a visit to see the immaculate gardens.

Room Tip: The two rooms our friends and we had were both of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I wanted to explore Andalucia but also wanted a hotel with a good swimming pool. (We booked the hotel through Last Minute.Com This was a mistake!! They managed to book the wrong hotel and the wrong flights and although they admitted their mistake made us pay over £300 to rectify their errors!!! You can book through many other sites) But back to our stay at the Finca Eslava. The hotel is easy to find but is situated outside the town in what can only be descibed as an industrial area.However, do not be put off. Once through the gates the grounds are very well maintained and the hotel charming. Our room was on the first floor looking towards the sports centre and had a small balcony. The room was a good size and had everything you would expect in a 4 star hotel it was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was good with a wide chioce of hot and cold food.We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. The food and sevice were excellent and the prices reasonable. There is also a bar snakes menu which we also had which was equally good. The staff in this hotel were always friendly, polite and professional. They really seemed to want to ensure that our stay was as good as they could make it. The most amazing aspect of this hotel is the sports complex. We both enjoy swimming but were amazed to find a half sized Olympic sized pool at the hotel together with a wonderful,restful spa pool with a wide range of water jets to massage the rigours of the day away. There is also a large well equipped gym. As hotel guests we had free access to all of these fabulous facilities and we made good use of them. We hired a car at Malaga airport and drove to the hotel up the new motorway. The drive took about 40mins. You will need a car as the hotel is about a 10min car drive from Antequera. Antequera is well worth a visit. Excellent shops and food. Also the Alcazaba is well worth a visit. The veiws from the top are spectacular! The three Dolmans are also well worth a visit. The first two are fairly easy to find. Just use the town map and head for the cemetery. Before you leave these two ask at the desk for directions to the third.It is not far away but not signposted. The Finca Eslava is very well placed at the centre of the new excellent motorway system which enabled us to visit Cordoba and Malaga easily. We could also have been able to visit Granada had we had time. Perhaps next time. In conclusion, this is a lovely traditional hotel with great staff,excellent food and in a very good location. Thanks to you all for making our stay so happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I fancied staying in a finca in the Andalucian mountains. This probably was a bad time for this one. The rooms were beautiful and the house surely was a few years ago. The setting I am sure was great in it's day as well, we caught it when they were re-building the A roads in and out of Antequera. The town itself was a funny little place but worth a visit.
The gardens are beautiful and it is very easy to find but far too close to the road for my liking. Perhaps when they have finished the road works it will look a little better

Room Tip: I expect they are all good. My son and I both had pleasant rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My partner and I have just had one of our best holidays ever with the fitness guys at rfh, sendero sur based at the Finca Eslava. It was an amazing experience. David and Antonio the guides were awesome, super friendly and incredibly knowledgable of the area. The hotel base was perfect with great food. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinewales76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melriofrio, Director of RFH Fitness at Hotel Finca Eslava, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks very much for your positive review. We at RFH and all of the staff at the Hotel Finca Eslava are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
766 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#6 of 15 in Antequera
177 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Villas de Antikaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Eslava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Eslava

Property: Hotel Finca Eslava
Address: Ctra. A-7281 Km. 4, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Finca Eslava is a beautiful 4 star hotel right on the edge of the large town of Antequera, one of the loveliest and most interesting towns in "The Real" Andalucia.You get everything you’d expect from a hotel – and more – at Hotel Finca Eslava; from beautiful rooms, fabulous food and idyllic grounds to an incredible indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym and luxurious spa!Since December 2007, Hotel Finca Eslava has also been home to RFH Fitness, who provide fantastic fitness and weight-loss holidays for all ages and levels of fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Finca Eslava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Eslava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing