We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, pity about Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coso Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Coso Viejo
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location, pity about Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just back from a week's holiday in Antequera with a tour group. From a location point of view I was very pleased I picked the Coso Viejo to stay in, as I was travelling alone (though part of the group) - right in the heart of the town, close to the sights, cafes, bars and shops. The hotel was clean and staff were helpful - the only fault I found with the place was breakfast - it could only be described as chaotic and unpredictable! I'm not fussy and a coffee, juice and toast are fine by me. But from one day to next I was never sure if I'd get all 3. One day the toaster is broken, the next the coffee is cold and like tar!!.... Having said that if I was to return to Antequera I would stay in Coso Viejo again - but maybe go out for my breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    46
    82
    28
    12
See reviews for
24
81
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We liked the location of the hotel. it was right in the center of Antequerra and infront of the hotel was nice central square where we found an interesting museum.. Also the historcal sides of Antequerra were close. The stuff was very freindly and helpfull and spoke a rather good english. Especially the young man, who recomendet us a great restaurant! The rooms unfortunatly were not according to a 3 star hotel. They were a bit poor furnished, there was not even a banch for the luggage to store and my husbands bed nearly broke. The pillows were very thin and old so we had to ask for more and better pillows. We got addionell pillows. The breakfast in the restaurant was very poor as well .Alltogther I must say the hotel dos not deserve 3 stars. I would qualify this hotel as a 1 ore 2 star hotel..

Room Tip: Choose a room inside the patio. Rooms towards the have a very nice view, but are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane4834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antequera hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
352 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

In front of the hotel is a nice central square and its close to the historical sites of Antequera.

Inside is a maze of corridors and a number of elevators leading to the many rooms.

Staff was friendly and spoke reasonable English.

The room was OK with a large TV with some non-Spanish channels like CNBC and Euronews (French). Free Wifi intern worked at a low speed in my room (300kB/s download)

There was a clean bathroom with a tub.

There was an irritating buzz in my room probably caused by ventilators from the kitchen below because it stopped later at night.

Parking is difficult in this type of cities. The hotel has its own car park but that is of no use when you arrive and you don't know where that is. So I have parked my car in one of the parking garages near the hotel and walked the five minutes to the hotel. The day rate I paid in that garage € 16,00. The hotel charges € 10,00 and later I found out that you can park your car temporarily at the square in front of the hotel . There you can unload your luggage and find out about the hotel parking.

There is a nice busy and lively restaurant in the hotel with efficient staff and good, cheap food. The menu gives the possibility to have ½ portions of the food.

Breakfast was not included in the room price but there are many places around that serve this. The restaurant of the hotel makes a good breakfast which I used. Just anything you like made to order.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

stayed here at the start of september our hotel was changed to this one at the last minute
we had decided to pay
extra and go half board instead of bed and breakfast this was a mistake as the choice of food was limited and not very good and the restaurant staff attitide was that we were a nuisance breakfast was adaquet with a fair choice the hotel itself was fine and reception staff very helpful we had the impression that the hotel did not usually cater for evevning meals for tour holiday we felt we had wasted our money on the evening meal as twice we ate elsewhere to get a decent evening meal

Room Tip: do not have a room at the front very noisy at night and early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLUEFLOWERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

this was our 2nd time of staying, great location with a lovely place to eat next door. Staff all spoke english and were very helpful. Hotel had it's own carpark. Being opposite the square was not a problem. We will certanly stay on our next visit in November.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikenloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel Coso Viejo is okay for frequent travellers. Situated in a prime City location and prices are reasonably.

But, avoid the offer of Hotel Car Parking for Ten Euro a day. It is obviously an old stable in this narrow street and you are unable to get your modern size car, in or out or around the place. You are wasting a lot of time and a big risk to your car.

Tip on arrival: Park your car on the pavement opposite the Hotel, unload your luggage and check in. Continue down the Street, turn right at the second street, Callejon de Urbina, and you have a huge 24 hours Free Public Parking Area in front of you only five minutes walking from the Hotel.

Don´t be surprised if you hear a knock on the door as late as 4.00 PM. when you are having a little nap after your sightseeing. A lady will now insist FAR FAR too late in the day to do the beds!

Just ask the lady to go away, and she will immediately call her colleague who is in hiding around the corner. This lady now insists to do the bathroom at the same time. Your wife is now hiding in the bathroom and you are standing amazed in the middle of the room in your swimmers only.

People will say: Oh, that´s Spain! No, it is not Spain, Italy or Morocco! It is just plain stupid, poor management and very unprofessional! Did you say: Fawlty Towers? Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Good views from the front. First or second floor. A/C noiseless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacoSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was a great little hotel right in the center of Antequera. Rooms were pretty basic but nice and so was the breakfast. Overall very good value. I thought the staff members were all extremely friendly and helpful although communicating in English was a bit of a challenge. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antequera hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#5 of 15 in Antequera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toril
Hotel Toril
#9 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
Hotel Plaza San Sebastian
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospederia Colon Antequera
Hospederia Colon Antequera
#12 of 15 in Antequera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coso Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coso Viejo

Property: Hotel Coso Viejo
Address: Calle Encarnacion 9, 29200, Antequera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Antequera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coso Viejo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Coso Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing