We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta de la Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta de la Luna
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baeza
MAdrid
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“best location in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you want to visit Baeza you will not find a best place located in the town. A few steps from the Cathedral and within the historic district probably the only decent hotel. It is not luxurious but it has a lot of charm. Nice rooms, nice patios. Food is nothing to write home about but still is worthwhile. Good relation price/quality. I would recomend to book one of the bigger suites as the rooms can get a little small otherwise. Perfect if you are travelling with kids.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest suites in the main (and older) building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JavierCC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    153
    74
    30
    11
See reviews for
92
244
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Another hotel with the old world charm that we were seeking. Baeza is a beautiful town.It was very quiet when we were there in late October, and this hotel fit right in with that atmosphere. Our room was quiet, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable, which proved to be a challenge on our 3-week road trip. The hotel has parking (challenging to get the car into the garage, though). We ate in their restaurant that night, and had some seriously good tapas for a very reasonable price. The portions were huge and we could not eat it all. The hotel is located near the town center and it's easy to venture out on foot and see the sites. The next day we drove 15 minutes to the town of Ubeba which was also amazing. Both towns are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almeria
Level Contributor
334 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

All hotels in Ubeda were full , so we fell back on this one and were not disappointed .
Well signposted in the old town and perfect position for strollng round the sights .
Couldn't find their garage , but parked in the street nearby without problems.
The room was comfortable , quiet , clean and elegant.Suites are special.
Tapas bar packed at lunchtime (see separate review ) , empty at night.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: splash out on a suite with jacuzzi for a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemzadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayded here for 2 nights. The hotel - which is located in an historical building -has a good location to visit Baeza or Ubeda. We had a standard room which was OK, had everything you needed and it was clean. The hotel also has a nice tapas bar which serves good tapas and has a cosy atmosphere. Good value for money. However....there were minor points. First of all, the WIFI is either not working or very slow. Second, the swimmingpool, which is rather small, was dirty. We could not understand this because it is somehow the eye-catcher of the little patio of the hotel. Strange they leave it like that, it has nothing attractive...And third, the breakfast is expensive and served in an unpleasant room without windows. Although there is plenty of choice, we had to ask for hot water for the tea (the water on the buffet was cold). We had breakfast rather late and there was not much left for us....So this could be better, certainly when you compare it to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazytraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel Puerta de la Luna is located in the center of the town of Baeza (Jaen), Spain in a completely renovated convent near the cathedral. The renovated 44 large rooms with an equally large bathroom include A/C during the hot summer months. This was not needed for our one-night stay in October as the days & nights were cool and comfortable. There was an outside courtyard with lots of seating areas surrounding a small swimming pool.
Comfortable and luscious and deserving a return visit.

Room Tip: parking is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

All is good, including authentic rooms, furniture, inner yard with orange trees over the small pool.
Breakfast is good enough and a la carte restaurant offers full range of local specials and wines.
There are two problems, I faced with: Wi-Fi internet and service. The Internet was out of order for entire week I used to stay there. It affects all the trip planning, especially for cases like mine (to use the hotel as the base and to observe all the nearest specials). The problem with the service can be described in one word - language. If you don't speak Spanish it might be a problem.
One more thing - If you would like to save some money on parking (14-16 euro per night by the way), just use free public spots outside the old medieval city. It's just 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Does make sense for car travellers, who's planning to stay more then 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Senya_The_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The swimming pool although quite small was very welcome on a hot afternoon. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was very modern. Altogether a very nice hotel. Tip - We booked Dinner bed and breakfast and were able to negotiate a very good deal with the hotel directly, we also got parking included in the cost. Dinner was of good standard and the service was fine. The hotel has quite a lively modern bar well worth a visit in the evening.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twowheelheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baeza
0.3 mi away
TRH BAEZA
TRH BAEZA
#2 of 9 in Baeza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Campos de Baeza
0.3 mi away
Palacio de los Salcedo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#2 of 14 in Ubeda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
5.7 mi away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#1 of 14 in Ubeda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de la Luna

Property: Hotel Puerta de la Luna
Address: Calle Canonigo Melgares Raya s/n, 23440 Baeza, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Baeza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baeza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Puerta de la Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta de la Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De La Luna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing