We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Certificate of Excellence
Fuengirola
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with room for improvement”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a two night stay at the hotel, staying in a room for two adults and one child. First important note is do NOT rely on your sat nav to get you to the hotel by car. It will take you up some streets suitable only for a mini or smaller! Instead, use the yellow tourist road signs that guide you along passable street and / or contact the hotel to guide you if you have a mobile phone.

The pluses and minuses:

PLUSES:

+ Lovely hotel with character in a mansion house.
+ Pool adequate and generally clean. I borrowed the pool net just once to scoop out a few bugs and feathers before taking a dip. But overall it was clean.
+ Rooms good size with air con that worked OK.
+ Shower temp and pressure in bathroom sufficient.
+ Parking OK - Underground garage for charge or free gated car park that is locked at night.
+ Service friendly
+ Eat in Bar next to hotel. Tapas good value, beer ice cold. Service very friendly.
+ Quiet location, nice views.
+ Close to restaurants, sights and 5-10 mins walk from Parador

THE MINUSES:

- Access by car can be difficult. Do not use Sat nav. Phone hotel for guidance.
- Cleanliness in room. Bath & Basins clean but marble floor dirty. Think it could be a case of staff being overstretched.
- Breakfast. There is variety but the quality is just OK. (Tough tasteless bacon, jams cheap quality, fruit not fresh, etc).

Overall I woul recommend the hotel. It has its faults but the overall experience was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    150
    62
    24
    6
See reviews for
75
219
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Booked into this hotel by mistake, thinking we were going to be close to Seville. Finding out it was 30 kilometers aways was a shock. Luckily, the tourist office at the train station knew how to get there. Taking the 30-45 minute ride on the bus can be enjoyable, be sure to put your luggage inside the compartment on the side of the bus.
Our mistake turned into a delight visit as we were able to enjoy the quiet, quaint, atmosphere of the town. Beware, the bars and restaurants only open during certain hours. If you get there at the wrong time, you might have to wait until 8:30 or 9 p.m. to eat a hot meal.
The hotel's facilities are great, the rooms, the lobby, the restaurant next door are of 4 star quality. The breakfast buffet has many items on its menu.
Biggest disadvantage of staying in Carmona is lack of transportation means. The town is divided into two sections, the old and the new. If you don't have a car you have to walk up and down steep narrow streets. There are two means of public transportation, a free tourist bus which only runs when it has enough customers and an urban bus which makes a large loop around the city. There's plenty to see, good food and most of the people were very friendly. We arrived a couple of days after a major festival and all the business owners were taking time off. But to our delight a religious procession to the Virgin de La Rocio took place during our stay. Glad we made the booking mistake. FYI: I hear it gets HOT during the summer.

Room Tip: Get a street side room to enjoy the great panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsolisjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The internet Wifi and airconditioning were not working in the rooms - not good for a 4 star hotel with 4 star prices. We have stayed in hotels for half the price with working airconditioner and internet. The airconditioning doesn’t operate until end April, until then only heat - not helpful when the temperature outside is 30 deg. There is supposed to be Wifi in the rooms, but the lady at reception was not surprised when I told her there wasn’t. There was good Wifi reception in the reception area – “could she move us to a room above reception?”. “No, unfortunately not possible”. Not sure why - this is a large hotel and there appeared to be very few guests.

The rooms are large and comfortable, although the bathroom needed a rejuvenation - old tiling, some cracks and stains.

The hotel is an old historic building and is very impressive - large courtyard and large swimming pool. I think if all of the facilities that you are paying for are working, then it would be very comfortable.

Carmona is a lovely town for an overnight stop, many old interesting buildings, small cobbled laneways and beautiful central plaza - a very relaxing place for a drink on a hot afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurgena, Spain
Level Contributor
219 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A quietly elegant hotel, beautifully located in a quaintly historical little town.
Nice large and comfortable room and a very good breakfast, what more can you want?
We did not eat our evening meal in the restaurant but had a drink in the Irish Bar attached to the hotel which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alcazares48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were Blown away by this hotel, the reception staff were excellent the room was beautiful and spotless clean can't find fault with the hotel room at all. The Tapas Bar at the hotel was lovely the food was excellent, We booked a table for a meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening the setting was stunning the food was Typicaly Spanish fare very tasty the only thing that let it down was my main course, the food was luke warm and served on cold plates, they took it back to heat it up and they put it back on another cold plate which straight away chilled the food again. Such a small thing but in the end I left the food as my husband had finished his and I had gone past mine by that time. Stick to the tapas bar as it is much better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The facade was beautiful. It's interior courtyards were cool, calming and delightfully designed. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable and all the staff were friendly and obliging. We didn't take breakfast( just coffee) but the selection of it , laid out in a lower floor highly decorated room, looked very appetising. Definitely worth a visit for it's location. Parking is available and free WiFi completes our recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 223 was close to the lift burnt much customer noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank But2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our family group enjoyed a good stay in the Alcazar ( and alternative .. the Parador was fully booked). Staying in Carmona is a good option to take especially if you find that Seville is either too booked up and/or expensive. Seville is only 30 km away an easy short bus ride. Carmona also worth looking at in its own right . Alcazar de la Reina offered a good standard of rooms, service and meals. We had no interest in trying the pool which for some reason is featured by some of the visitors... we enjoyed exploring the town , touring to Seville and Cordoba.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.3 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Palacio de Carmona
0.0 mi away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#6 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar de la Reina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar de la Reina Hotel

Property: Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
Address: Calle Concepcion 2 | Plazuela de Lasso, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar de la Reina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcazar de la Reina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazar De La Reina
Alcazar De La Reina Hotel Carmona, Spain - Province Of Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing