We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casa Cantillo(Carmona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Finca la Luz(Carmona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
194
192
73
26
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
192
73
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalcazar de la reinanice hotelnarrow streetsswimming poolold townhotel facilitiesstreet parkingsmall townrooms are spaciousthe underground car parkthe room was niceadjoining restaurantstayed here for nightsseville airporttown squareformer palacean oasis
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Were at the Alcazar in hot July for Sevilla visit purpose. Carmona is a lovely town that comes alive after 8 pm when is cools off. It's only a 15 min. ride from Sevilla so perfect if you don't want to stay in a city hotel and taste the real Andalusian life. Have a drink in the square in Carmona and watch the local families come out and talk to each other. Nice experience.
The hotel is OK. Not wow but surely good value for the money. The pool is cleaned every day and was a wonderful oasis after a hot day in Sevilla. Yes, there are some pigeons flying around and drinking from the pool all the time but that surely isn't a big issue. Some feathers will be in the pool but as stated it was cleaned every 2 mornings that we were there. The beds and surely the hotel towels (for free at the reception) should be renewed.
We found some small dead ants in our bath upon arrival and according to the fresh smell in the room we think it was just sprayed for the bugs. However when you have temperatures of +40 it is quite normal that small bugs try to enter the rooms. The edges of the shower/bath could be cleaned better.
Indeed, as stated in other reports, avoid the restaurant (way too expensive and food not up to standard) but surely try the tapas in the same building - and the same kitchen ! unbelievable.
Eating outside with the locals at 11 pm was a nice experience.
Airco, TV and beds were all OK.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I picked this hotel for our last night in Andalucia - rather than to stay in Seville - for its setting, pool, size (not too big) and proximity to the airport . It was very disapointing.
- Manner of most staff only just civil, poor training. Lack of supervision or management main problem.
- Bedrooms: we had rooms by the road, very noisy from passing vehicles less than 1 meter from the window. The internal soundproofing is inexistant. The bathroom fittings are old. The beds not very comfortable.
- Internet: in the lobby, did not work and the reception staff couldn't care less!
- Pool and surrounding not clean so did not use it. No changing room. Relax chairs all dirty and rusty.
- Restaurant: meal very poor. Purple sauce with steak truly awful, could not have been done by a professional chef. When told, the waiter couldn't have cared less! No attempt at professional presentation of dishes.
- Bar: no orange juice (in Spain!), had to have Fanta for Campari and orange!
- Breakfast: poor, inadequate supervision of buffet (eggs and bacon both cold), no fresh bread only sliced for toast...
Real shame as this place with proper management has real potential.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maroclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Quiet, good quality hotel with helpful, courteous staff, easy parking and close to the centre of the old town. The outdoor pool with the courtyard would be very inviting in the summer (but not in Febtuary!). The buffet breakfast was of reasonable quality (not the greatest coffee or juice) with a good selection of food.

What struck us as slightly strange is that attached to the hotel is an Irish Bar!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mentorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Alcazar de la Reina. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. The staff left a nice array of bath products, in a beautiful shade of purple. We were pleasantly surprised to find a mini refridgerator tucked into a cabinet. Our rate included a wonderful self-serve breakfast, with a wide variety of foods and beverages to choose from. My one complaint: we requested a room over looking the courtyard. We did get the view we chose. Unfortunately, the courtyard is covered by a weather-proof tarp which made the courtyard very warm. We had air conditioning that seemed to be hotel controlled so we were quite warm in the room. Next time I'll know to request a room overlooking the pool or the town.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed in the Alcazar de la Reina for one night (a Saturday) after flying in to Sevilla. The hotel was the venue for 2 (two) weddings, as a consequence hotel guest were crowded out (literally and figurally speaking) by the wedding guests. Our room was OK and old fashioned but we had expected some more luxury. The views over the Carmona plains were however very beautifull. As mentionned by other reviews, the swimming pool and courtyard are the Achilles Heel: not very clean and lots of evidence from the weddings remaining the day afterwards. Breakfast (in the basement restaurant) is ok but nothing special.
Old Carmona is a beautifull though very small town and its hard to spend more than 1 day in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews