We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“read all the other reviews, too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Palacio de Carmona
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“read all the other reviews, too”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Five stars? Not sure anymore. But the price has gone WAY down, at least in October, less than 100 euros...

This place has felt the economic crisis but the owners have to focus on one thing now: being present at the reception desk at all time. this would make a great difference. nothing is more depressing than entering an empty reception area. Of course it is a wonderful historic space which must be seen.
As far as the restaurant, well the owner's wife said we could show up at 830 but when we did not only were all the lights off but no one was to be seen. Thinking we'd missed the entrance we went outside, and when we came out there was the owner, never seen before, who explained in Spanish that he had had to fire employees and could not serve dinner...Hmmm...why had his wife said it was ok? What could be her motivation?
Anyway, the owner told us his sad story and accompanied us just down the street to another restaurant where we ate well at a very reasonable price. At the price this is very fine accomodation and good value and so unique...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    69
    28
    28
    43
See reviews for
40
168
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

although we were only 25, it felt like we filled the whole hotel, but it could have slept another 40 people. we had two dinner parties in the stunning courtyard, flemonco dancers and singers on the second night, the staff were still smiling and looking after our every wish at 2am - only to be up serving our breakfast at 9am the next morning, still smiling. all rooms were quirky and different from each other, great style. ping pong and a pool to relax in after sight seeing.

Room Tip: green room overlooking pool was one of many i would have been happy to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Felipe and Reyes Guardiola greeted us with the warmth of being family friends when we stepped into the "other world" of their uniquely decorated Palacio. Our bedroom was huge and interesting, as were the other bedrooms that we saw. The drawing rooms, loggia and huge patio were, we hate to say it, atmospheric! The Spanish breakfasts were more than ample and came with good conversations with Felipe, who went to MIT. Casa de Carmona is not an hotel in the conventional sense; rather it is a well situated, very grand and quirky guest house where you are made to feel at home.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to see the bedrooms before making your choice as they are all so different and loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieFinnemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a beautiful house which has, at some time, been decorated with style and perfect taste. The public rooms are exquisite; the bedrooms furnished with top class fabrics BUT everything is not just a little shabby, it is actually falling to pieces.

I had read previous reviews on Tripadvisor and hoped that the negative reviews were posted by people who had booked this hotel expecting a standard, bland, 5*. We live in a 600yr old house and so we like the slightly faded, unusual quirky aspects of old buildings and prefer to stay in characterful old hotels rather than the corporate beige of the big hotel chains. However we do not like staying somewhere where there is no electricity in the closed off dusty public rooms, nor in bedrooms where the loo leaks (we put towels on the floor) or where there is a hole in the bedroom ceiling!

The main problem is that there are insufficient staff. We arrived back at around 6pm after a day sight seeing to find the hotel completely deserted. No staff to be seen anywhere!

We ate in splendid isolation on both nights and although the meal was perfectly fine - there was no menu, the owner just told us what he had in - it was expensive. The first night we had mushroom vol-au-vont (tasteless) followed by smoked cod and salad for me and veal with courgette (very good) for my husband. Pudding was one glass of ice crystal laden vanilla ice cream - inedible! The bill for this was Euro 105 without wine.

There is a small swimming pool which is very refreshing after a day wandering around Carmona and the Loggia where breakfast is served (laid out on your table, Parma ham, processed ham, mozzarella, tomato, yoghurt, puts of `Hero` jam, no fresh bread only toasted baguette) is pretty. Nice coffee from a Nespresso machine. Perfectly adequate but not what you expect for Euro 220 a night.

There are no sunbeds around the swimming pool but the Loggia has tables and chairs for sitting and reading.

Altogether this place made me feel sad. Something has gone horribly wrong with this hotel which (according to the owner of another hotel we stayed in) used to be one of the best places to stay in the Seville region. Now it certainly is not.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are uninhabitable. With luck the renovations will finish soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have had the privilege of staying in this magical palacio on two visits to Andalucia, the latter being in 2012. The charm of this residence is difficult to put into words and you really have to stay and immerse yourself in the ambience to fully appreciate how wonderful it is!
We have nothing but admiration and respect for Felipe and his lovely wife for having the determination and drive to keep this business running in these most difficult economic times .The cost of maintaining a building of such grandeur must be phenomenal.
The Palacio has been run as a hotel in a very sympathetic manner and Felipe has managed to maintain the feel of a family residence
The rooms are beautifully decorated with tasteful fixtures and furnishings, having everything you could possibly require for a most comfortable stay.
The delicious breakfast is served by the patrons and makes for a really exceptional quality of service
A truly magnificent hotel experience!! We cannot recommend it highly enough!! Our favourite hotel!................trust me, check it out, you will not be disappointed...........it is essential Felipe is allowed to continue providing this wonderful opportunity to delight the senses!
Muy bueno!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

this hotel was a palace once it's general feel is 18th century the rooms are set off a central atrium, the furnishings were top quality but are now very worn but very comfortable, the breakfast room is charming, the bedrooms are a hotch potch of different sizes and styles the overall feel is comfort, the staff are friendly and helpful, a very enjoyable stay. the only drawback is the parking, although there is a car park opposite the casa it is an extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durnfordSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

When you enter the hotel, you can't believe what you see... Beautiful rooms with even more beautiful furniture! The colours are warm, inviting. The patio is a dream of peace and quiet. The rooms are really lovely, with beautiful English curtains and antique (but very good working) bathrooms. The owner, Felipe, who speaks very good English and French too, is a warm, intelligent person and very helpfull! The breakfast is delicious... Here is the door to heaven: la puerta al cielo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.0 mi away
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#6 of 7 in Carmona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio de Carmona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio de Carmona

Property: Casa Palacio de Carmona
Address: Plaza Lasso 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Palacio de Carmona 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of Carmona– a remarkably beautiful white village just 30 km East of Seville – stands the Casa de Carmona, a splendid XVIth century renaissance palace with 33 charming bedrooms. At the Casa de Carmona you will enjoy lush courtyards and living rooms, fine art and antiques, a fresh market cuisine, and the help of a knowing and well-mannered service – in sum, the palatial life of an aristocratic family. Since its opening in 1991, the Casa de Carmona has been celebrated by its guests and by the press. The Casa de Carmona is family-lived and run and offers affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Palacio de Carmona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Casa De Carmona Hotel Carmona
Casa De Carmona
Casa Palacio De Hotel Carmona
Casa Palacio De Carmona Spain - Province Of Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing