We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well equipped, clean apartments with friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well equipped, clean apartments with friendly staff.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This review is a little overdue as I stayed in August 2012, but felt I should contribute my thoughts! We a family of two adults, an eighteen year old and a ten year old. We were really impressed with the hotel upon arrival, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with fridge, dishwasher, hob (although microwave/oven took a bit of getting used to) and washing machine. The bathroom was lovely and I was impressed with the music system of being able to play different music in each room. Wifi was free but a little hit and miss with connecting - probably depends on where you are in the hotel. No English TV channels, although this was advertised but not a problem for us as we didn't want to watch TV anyway. The poolside was clean and was impressed by the grassy material around the pool as it feels safer with children running around - which there were a few of. Lifeguards were also present which was a nice surprise for a hotel of the size. There was a slight problem of people reserving sunbeds and there not being enough but this tends to happen everywhere and is difficult to control unfortunately.

We had breakfast included and did this each day - others have mentioned the English breakfast as not being very good but we discovered after two days that you can order from an alternative Spanish breakfast menu which has more options to try - much more appealing! The aciete y tomate was lovely. The couple who ran the café were very accommodating and friendly, and really deserve more credit!

The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk straight up from Los Boliches train station. The train from Malaga takes around 35 minutes and costs around 2.20 euros to Los Boliches (which is the second to last stop). I would really recommend the train as it is so easy to use - get out of baggage collect at the airport and the 'Aeropuerto' station is straight ahead, with ticket machines to choose stops in English. The train is air conditioned and an electronic system shows each stop as it comes to it.

Overall really recommend the apartments and would stay again!

Room Tip: Pool facing view is probably nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    76
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
83
58
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived late on a Saturday which come Sunday morning when we headed out for provisions was a problem. No-where was open, managed a bottle of water and snacks but even the pharmacy didn't sell nappies!

The rooms - clean, open plan and with air con in both the living room and bedroom. Being able to close the bedroom door means you can hardly hear any corridor noise. Kitchen equipment fine but as ever in Europe, no kettle. Big fridge freezer so you could stock up although the oven/microwave solution was a slight challenge to operate. 4 ring hob though so you can get round most requirements. Huge benefit for us travelling with an 18 month old was a washing machine, been self catering plenty before and never had this luxury!

Pool - we thought there was a separate children's pool but it was really the jacuzzi although it was used as a kids pool by many. No other children facilities and the pool kiosk/bar closes on a thurs so you need to bring your own snacks etc then (most people did anyway which never seemed to be a problem). There is a lifeguard on duty most of the afternoon.

Breakfast - served in the cafe of the hotel you are given a voucher which entitles you to 1 tea/coffee, 1 orange juice and either an English or continental breakfast. English is passable, not generous, not tiny and the 'toast' has been passed through a warm kitchen at best! The continental is poor, two slices of the aforementioned toast and a pastry which for 5 days has been a doughnut which everyone has left. Service is pleasant though and they did do us extra toast for our son.

Location - big supermarket open 9-9 is right opposite so couldn't be closer. Perfectly accessible to the main town without being right in the centre. 10 min walk down hill and you are in the square where there is plenty of eating options left and right along the sea front. The whole area is slightly dated with lots of high rise along the front, there are a few empty shops/restaurants which might be a sign of the times but you can find some good food reasonably priced. Can definitely recommend Barolo's which is opposite the small amusement park tucked back off the main road behind the big carousel.

Overall this hotel has done us perfectly well and we would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this for a long weekend, never having been to the Costa Del Sol before. We were very impressed with the apartment, all "mod Cons" and spotless. The supermarket facing had everything we needed and was so handy.
The whole area of Fuengriola is pretty dated, we travelled into Toremelinos and that also looks like it was left behind in the 70s, it is a pity really because the weather was amazing. The beach was was clean but the sun loungers we paid €8 for where heavily stained, so take your own towel with you, I had to buy one in the shop opposite but not a problem at only €3 to shield your skin from other people's deposits !!!! Yewwww
The food in the beach bar was no better than "average" but can recommend the freshly squeezed Orange mmmmmm.
Don't expect uninterrupted peace while bathing...... The African sellers/hair braiders give you NO Peace at all.... Every couple of minutes you hear "Nearly real Prada Lady", "PROPPA fake Ray Banns sir" .... Funny but annoying....
The aparthotel was the Costa Del Sols saving grace for us. Wifi was touch and go at times. The Air Con was the best we have ever had and was a welcome "friend" in the soaring heat. We found all the staff we met extremely helpful and pleasant.
Ask for a high floor, pool facing for the afternoon sun, they fulfilled our request with no problem.
Will not be returning to the area again, but would have NO problem recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquaeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 10 days. All I can say is, it's fab!! The apartment was clean and very very big. The staff were lovely, and all speak very good English. Mary, the barmaid, was so friendly! The only downside was the lack of a kettle in the room, and the breakfast portions were very small. The A/C in the room, is very strong and you can get cold very quickly! There is a supermarket just over from the hotel, which is open till 9pm, and is very cheap. 2mins down the road, there's another supermarket, which has more items in it, and a (very expensive) clothes store on the floor above. The beach is about 10 mins walk, down from the hotel, very easy to find! The train station is about 3mins away, straight down from the hotel. There's some lovely cheap restaurants all the way down from the hotel to the beach. The more expensive ones are more opposite/on the beach. On a Tues, there's a terrific market on, about 10 mins walk down the main high street (where the train station is). The Port is about a 20 min walk along the sea front, and its a lovely stroll in the afternoon/evening. If you follow the main high street along for a few miles, you'll come to Solhail castle. It was 3 Euros each to get in, and it certainly wasn't 'all that'. The beers are very cheap! San Miguel being the most popular. Small dogs seem to be very popular in this area!

Room Tip: Room opposite the pool gets more sun and is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gorgeous_Vampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Mediterraneo Real Apartments for 6 days in May. We were looking for a quiet holiday, lots of sunshine, and some nice meals - and we weren't dissapointed! Mediterraneo Real was perfect for our needs. We booked a one-bedroom apartment. Before going ,we read the reviews on Tripadvisor, and therefore requested an apartment on an upper floor, facing out over the pool. Happily, they were able to provide us with exactly that.

As others have said, it is located in the Los Boliches area, which is so much nicer than “downtown Fuengirola” in my opinion – quieter, but there’s still plenty of restaurants and amenities in the immediate areas (classier ones than “downtown”). It is a stone’s throw away from a large supermarket, so we stocked up on snacks, food for breakfast and lunch, and water –and went back on the last day for bits to bring home (chorizo, pate, etc). The location is on the top of a hill, so it’s a nice 10 min walk downhill to get to the beach – problem there is that after the beach, you have to walk 10 min UPHILL – this wasn’t an issue for us but might be for older people with mobility issues.

The apartment was immaculately clean – even passed my “run a finger along the top of a framed picture” test – no dust. There was an open-plan kitchen/living room when you walk in. The kitchen had a full-size refrigerator, dishwasher, oven and hob, and of course sink. There was a coffee machine but no kettle (!). There wasn’t an awful lot of kitchenware, only 2 bowls, 4 side plates and 4 dinner plates, 4 glasses, about 4 each on the cutlery. The living room area had a 2-seater couch and a chair – both looked slightly worn, but not in bad shape. There was a small flatscreen TV and a DVD player. We never watched TV so I can’t comment on the channel selection. The bathroom had toilet, shower (GREAT power!), bidet, hairdryer, sink with cabinets/drawers underneath for putting away our toiletries. Bedroom had two single beds, one wardrobe (sparse on hangers, so you might want to bring your own) , and a large window overlooking the balcony.

The balcony was small but adequate – there wasa table and 2 chairs, and a clothes airer. We enjoyed a glass of wine and nibbles on the balcony each night before going out for dinner, watching the sun set. There was also a small closet with a clothes washer, iron, and ironing board – all worked well.

There was an airconditioning unit in the bedroom and in the living room / kitchen, with a remote control that worked for each of them individually – air con worked great (almost too well, we had to turn it off one night as we got chilly!). There was also a sound system in the bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom – so you could put on the radio in each of the rooms, or plug in a device like an ipod and play your own music.

The pool area was very clean and the pool itself was a nice size, but it was FREEZING cold so I only ventured in once for a quick dip. There were about 4-5 families who camped out around the pool most days. One day the children were dive-bombing into the water, splashing us on our lounge chairs and making a huge racket so we headed off to the beach – they also used the jacuzzi as a “kiddie pool” so we never ventured into it. Most of the other residents appeared to be scandanavian or british, and kept to themselves. Other reviewers have said the sun loungers looked old, but maybe they got new ones before we went as we thought they were in good condition and clean.

The hotel advertises free wi-fi, but thy clarified to us that it is free for one device only. As we both wanted to use wi-fi, we purchased a code to have the second device on wi-fi. It was only €10 for the week so that was reasonable anyway. I sometimes had problems connecting to the wi-fi in the apartment – on the last day I couldn’t connect at all, only in the lobby – but my cousin had no problem connecting.

Ask for a room facing towards the pool, as this gets the best sunlight in the evening. There’s no real “views” to speak of.

As others have mentioned, a downside is the heavy furniture. One night we were kept awake as the people next door arrived in late and were moving furniture around –made loud scraping noises, and the walls are very thin. Only happened the one night, but I can imagine it would be tiresome if it was every night.

Staff were efficient and pleasant any time we dealt with them. On the last day, we had a late flight so they held our bags in a storage room and we went to the beach - on returning, they let us use the shower facilities in the hotel to freshen up, so that was very handy.

I would have no problems recommending these apartments, and if I go back to Fuengirola on holidays I would most certainly stay in them again!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor if you want quiet, and facing over the pool if you want evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Recently booked the MR through an owner rental website.My wife and I and my two smallies were more than satisfied with this apartment ,As is stated , it has all the mod cons which make a good holiday, a great holiday ,The area itself (los boliches) is quiet and is not a place for the rowdy or raucous .The pool area is fine except for the absence of a shallow end which the kids could feel more comfortable with.The aparthotel itself is mainly populated by Finns who to my mind are very aloof and keep themselves to themselves.The area is well served by a mercodana and a cortes ingles supermarket within 5 mins from hotel ,Also at the end of the hill is the renfe train which we used daily to criss cross the costa towns .A word of thanks also to the lady with the lovely bright eyes on reception who helped with my on line booking on our last night.
So in conclusion ,A lovely hotel supported by a train station within walking distance ,A nice little restaurant bar run by the two antonios which by the way should be supported more by the residents of the hotel.A very comfy apartment which I could not fault.Many thanks to David and Debbie for allowing us the use of 104,We will be seeing you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NORRIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I can warmly recommend this hotel! We stayed with a toddler (1,5 y) and are very happy with the trip. Everything was smooth from the moment we checkin at midnight to checkout one week later. Room was very clean and modern and very well equipped (washer, full kitchen etc). Good location as the foodshot Mercadona is right next door and bigger corte ingles just two blocks away. Only a short walk to the beach and shopping street in Fuengirola.
Only downside with this hotel is the heavy furniture... when a neighbour moves a chair you can hear it very clearly!

Room Tip: recommend to book a room towards the pool - it is the sunnier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLovers675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
1.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.5 mi away
Ronda 4
Ronda 4
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel

Property: Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel
Address: Calle Antonio Machado 25, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fuengirola
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterráneo Real offers beautiful and luxury one and two bedrooms apartments, including seven penthouses with splendid large terraces. As you can see and experience our apartments are built with high quality, fully equipped, and fitted with the latest technology. Mediterráneo Real Apartments is situated in the picturesque fishing village "Los Boliches", in the famous seaside resort of Fuengirola. While staying at Mediterraneo Real, all you need is one step away from your door. Fuengirola is one of the most popular seaside resorts of the Costa del Sol, due to its central location between known towns such as Marbella, Mijas and Benalmádena and only 15 km from the airport of Malaga, its warm climate and wide variety of activities and entertainment for the whole family. Fuengirola also has more than 8 km golden sandy beach along the crystal clear blue Mediterranean Sea and a lively boulevard, famous for his Chiringuitos (beach restaurants) and fish skewers of the barbeque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel Hotel Fuengirola
Mediterraneo Real Aparthotel Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing