We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, quiet, yet in the centre of Fuengirola”
Review of Hostal Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Italia
Ranked #3 of 19 Fuengirola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castril De La Pena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, quiet, yet in the centre of Fuengirola”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I was looking for somewhere inexpensive to stay for a couple of nights on my way back from Morocco to the UK. Hostal Italia is ideally located for the beach, centre of town and restaurants. What impressed me most of all is that my room was protected from the street noise outside not by double glazing, but by two sets of doubled glazed sliding doors. So it's really peaceful if you want an afternoon siesta.

Clean rooms, everything works, air conditioning, flat screen TV. More of a hotel than a hostel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimCullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    28
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
20
41
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The name Hostal Italia may make you think this is a B&B but in fact what you get is a small high quality hotel in a great location. Fuengirola doesn't have many high quality hotels so don't look any further if yu are looking for a great place to stay. Located by the main square, the beach is a 3 minute walk directly down a street and a minute to "fish alley" with all of its restaurants.

The first thing that got out attention when walking into the hotel - apart from the very friendly staff - is that this place is so clean that you could genuinely eat off the floor! The rooms are the same: small but have a TV, A/C, good sized bathroom; I don't think you will find a cleaner room in a 5 star hotel. Our room was on the same street as the hotel entrance which is one-way so traffic is limited. Note that there is a roller blind that drops down that makes the room pitch black but I didn't notice that behind the blind is another sliding glass door which will further block any potential street noise. Note that they only supply soap so consider shower gel, shampoo or buy when you get there.

There is parking a few metres down the street at Euro 9 a night that is worth it, but opt for renting a small size car (which works well for driving in and out of many of the smaller villages anyway - we rented aB class Mercedes automatic). Breakfast was available for 3 euro but we opted to have the local churros and chocolate at a place just off the square by the church.

Room Tip: Our room as 211, would choose this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loredan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

At short notice we stayed a weekend here in August.
The room was beautifully decorated with flat tv screen, comfy bed and air conditioning.
This is supposed to be a hostal one star but it is more like a small hotel.
Not far from the beach and the bus station, pretty much in the centre of
this spanish town of fuengirola.
The owner was helpful and attentive.
This charming lady shows a loyal dedication to the well running of this hotel
and also, I noticed to her own elderly family who have been a feature of this
establishment for many years, and who will happily greet you when paths cross.
I have stayed here before and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: From Malaga airport or bus station you can take the train to last stop Fuengirola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pablochase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

What a lovely place, booked on the internet, no problems at all, you don't even need to pay a deposit. We were greeted very warmly, and you pay when you want to, how trusting is that? Have got a lovely view of the buzzing street below, and there is a rooftop terrace where you can sunbathe, sit and read, whatever takes your fancy! They don't have kitchen facilities in the room, but they have a communal fridge that you can leave food,water in etc.
Clean towels several times a week and the place is spotless! Cannot praise enough, will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: If you like the buzz, then you need to be at the front of the building, where all the restaurants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoardyJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#5 of 37 in Fuengirola
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Italia

Property: Hostal Italia
Address: Calle Cruz 1, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Italia Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing