We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Italia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Ilunion Fuengirola(Fuengirola)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$76
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel(Fuengirola)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florida Spa(Fuengirola)
US$146
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa(Fuengirola)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Rampas(Fuengirola)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Yaramar Hotel(Fuengirola)
US$151
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
71
28
6
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
28
6
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishcheap accommodationgreat locationsingle roomroof terraceexcellent place to stayshort walkbars and restaurantsbus and trainthe hotel is cleanmalaga airportstayed for nightsnight stayother guestsair conbeach frontstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose this hotel ahead of two others from the reviews on trip advisor.
So, does it live up to the extremely good reviews on this site? Well, yes it does.
It scores very highly in three key areas, location, cleanliness and price. Added to this, it is very quiet even though it's sat right in the heart of the restaurant/bar district of Fuengirola. This is due to the double sets of double glazed patio doors to the balcony.
There is no pool, but there is a private sun terrace with 6 or 7 beds and a couple of patio tables with chairs. This area gets the sun from the afternoon right through to sunset and gets very hot.
The family who run this hotel are very welcoming and bend over backwards to ensure you get the most from your stay.
The location is close to the beach, and fish alley, where you'll find loads of restaurants catering for many different tastes. Also close by is one of Fuengirola's main squares. Just off this square are many local Tapas bars where you can get Tapas for around 1.8 euros each. The bus and train stations are also only a short walk away, as is the main shopping area
If you want a hotel with amenities such as a lounge bar, restaurants etc. then this is not for you, but if you want an extremely good value, clean, well run hotel with a comfortable bed, ensuite shower and bath, air con and free safe for your valuables, then look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich9086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hostal Italia with my 8 year old daughter after we were unable to stay in the apartment we had booked and I'm so glad that we did. The hotel had everything that we needed for the 10 night stay, it was spotlessly clean with new towels each day and the staff were exceptionally friendly (especially Lola, who was always so friendly and welcoming).

The hotel has a gorgeous sun terrace which was hardly ever used and there were washing lines on the roof where we hung our towels out to dry over night. We had to change rooms for the very last night of our stay due to the lateness of our booking but both rooms were bright and airy with lovely air conditioning and shutters which kept light to a minimum. There was also extra glazing in the room that was next to the street and we can honestly say we weren't disturbed by any outside noise.

The location of the hotel just couldn't have been any better, it was a stones throw from the beach, restaurants, bars and the harbour and situated just around the corner from the Plaza de la Constitution.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough and we are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dann7466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I really don't have anything bad to say about this gem of a guest house!!
It is in a superb location - central Fuengirola. Directly behind the port, maybe 50 metres to the beach. It's on a little side street near one of the town's cafe squares - lovely place to get food /7 drink :)
It's easy to find from the train or bus station & is an easy walk with luggage.
The guest house is family run & spotlessly clean. The rooms are average in size, but have lovely spacious bathrooms & full air-conditioning. There is a bar & 24hour reception. My friend & I didn't have breakfast, but everything looked lovely.
I would recommend this hotel to families & couples. It is not noisy as the patio doors are double, double glazed so you can remove the noise from the streets below.
All in all a total gem of a place :)

Room Tip: We were both on the 2nd floor & our rooms were lovely. 202 & 212.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissRicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We picked this hotel for its location close to the Plaza de la Constitution and the boulevard.
What a pleasant surprise! A little family run hotel with absolutely lovely people.
The room was good size and cleaned every day. Good A/C and bathroom.
They have their own carpark places for Euro 9 per day (Euro 15 in the public parking garage)

Despite its location close to bars, restaurants and the beach it was amazingly quiet in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Belanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a friendly family-run place to stay in Fuengirola on the Costa del Sol.
There are 40 rooms, many with terrace or balcony, and the hostal is open all year round.
It is a five minute walk from the railway and bus stations and is just off the main square, Plaza Constitution.
There are lots of bars and restaurants close to the hostal, which has been run by the Fernandez family since the 1950's.
From the rooftop sun terrace there are views across the town to the mountains beyond.
It is possible to take a simple breakfast in the hostal bar, or you can choose from dozens of cafes on the promenade, only a couple of hundred metres away.
Take the train direct from Malaga Airport to Fuengirola. Buy tickets from easy to use machines before boarding. The journey takes less than half an hour and is very cheap - two tickets cost 5.20 euros - keep them because you need them to exit the station.
This is a very nice place to stay, but be aware that it is in the heart of town and you might experience some noise from late night revellers. We would happily stay again.

See our video report here:
http://youtu.be/fODgW6KVLVw

Room Tip: Streets can be noisy until early hours - ask for a quiet room if necessary. The family is very helpful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimePassages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews