We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, clean, central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Italia
Ranked #3 of 18 Fuengirola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Value for money, clean, central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

If Fuengarola is your type of town and you don't want one of the sky scrapper hotels on the beach front then I am sure you will like this hotel. We stayed a night because a family function that night was very near to the hotel. Parking near by €9. For what we paid for the hotel room I could not have got a taxi home. There was a small terrace with the room but when we stepped on it we felt like we were in the front room of the small apartment across the alley. Needless to say we had to keep the blinds shut or the apartment opposite could see every thing we were doing. It was like we checked into the hotel and immediately became part of the family across the alley. You will need to bring your own hair dryer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    24
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
19
34
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

recommend, hotel with an excellent price-quality in the central area large rooms and very good mattresses, 24 hour service, friendly and nice a meal to advise whether or not a sea view but definitely better best best best

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marinella n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location in the middle of Fuengirola, with all services just around the corner. Nice clean rooms with basic amenities, but would benefit from a fridge in the rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff that would assist you with anything you require. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed a week in November and couldn't believe my luck in choosing such a gem. Unpretentious and run by very nice owners. So close to all that Fuengirola has to offer, all just a walk away.
If you need a quiet day lounging in the sun, the roof terrace is fab.
A good evening meal is a stroll away in any direction. I found Fuengirola town much more interesting & Spanish than its neighbours. Good cheap buses and train line, everybody helpful in English.

Room Tip: take a small travel kettle, no tea or coffee in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atrebatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having been in this part of Spain for the past 11 years, this was the firt time we had stayed at the Italia. As many of the other reviewers have said this is a great base from which to visit the costa del sol. Very close to the square with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. If you fly into malaga then just catch the train to Fuengirola for a few euros and the walk is about 5 minutes to the hotel. The bias station is also very close and its pretty straight forward to get around - a bus journey to La Cala mijas costs about 3.50 return.
We had a great room overlooking the street with a wrap around balcony. The only thing we had an issue with was on Friday and Saturday there is a club nearby and although you cannot hear any music people were outside most of the night and it did not close until 7am! Still this would not put us off going again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose this hotel ahead of two others from the reviews on trip advisor.
So, does it live up to the extremely good reviews on this site? Well, yes it does.
It scores very highly in three key areas, location, cleanliness and price. Added to this, it is very quiet even though it's sat right in the heart of the restaurant/bar district of Fuengirola. This is due to the double sets of double glazed patio doors to the balcony.
There is no pool, but there is a private sun terrace with 6 or 7 beds and a couple of patio tables with chairs. This area gets the sun from the afternoon right through to sunset and gets very hot.
The family who run this hotel are very welcoming and bend over backwards to ensure you get the most from your stay.
The location is close to the beach, and fish alley, where you'll find loads of restaurants catering for many different tastes. Also close by is one of Fuengirola's main squares. Just off this square are many local Tapas bars where you can get Tapas for around 1.8 euros each. The bus and train stations are also only a short walk away, as is the main shopping area
If you want a hotel with amenities such as a lounge bar, restaurants etc. then this is not for you, but if you want an extremely good value, clean, well run hotel with a comfortable bed, ensuite shower and bath, air con and free safe for your valuables, then look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich9086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hostal Italia with my 8 year old daughter after we were unable to stay in the apartment we had booked and I'm so glad that we did. The hotel had everything that we needed for the 10 night stay, it was spotlessly clean with new towels each day and the staff were exceptionally friendly (especially Lola, who was always so friendly and welcoming).

The hotel has a gorgeous sun terrace which was hardly ever used and there were washing lines on the roof where we hung our towels out to dry over night. We had to change rooms for the very last night of our stay due to the lateness of our booking but both rooms were bright and airy with lovely air conditioning and shutters which kept light to a minimum. There was also extra glazing in the room that was next to the street and we can honestly say we weren't disturbed by any outside noise.

The location of the hotel just couldn't have been any better, it was a stones throw from the beach, restaurants, bars and the harbour and situated just around the corner from the Plaza de la Constitution.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough and we are already planning our return trip next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann7466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos PYR-Fuengirola
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa de Laredo
Hotel Villa de Laredo
#16 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Italia

Property: Hostal Italia
Address: Calle Cruz 1, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Italia Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing