We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best steaks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sizzlyns Steak House - CLOSED

Sizzlyns Steak House
Price range: US$3 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Prime thick juicy steaks cooked to your liking by Lyn the British owner chief and served by her very hard working husband Ted. Sizzings is not just a steak house as Lyn is old school and loves to cook the Mrs Beeton,s way. With a menu of the day (three course) at 9.95) we cater for all. New for 2013 a helpyourself salad bar.
County Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ted and Lynn run this fab little steak house. We went twice in the six nights we were there and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Great hosts who make time to chat with guests. Give it a try..... You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    18
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosyth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went to this place based on recommendations on the tripadvisor forum, and really glad we went. Currently sitting back in our apartment after the meal, and I am absolutely stuffed. All adults had a starter and main, but only 1 out if the 4 actually finished our main. Absolutely massive portions (including the kids meals) but more importantly, perfectly cooked steak. Just follow the guide on how you want your steak cooked, and it will be perfect.
On top of the good food, the owner gave a great service. Really friendly and had good banter with all his customers.
The only slight negatives I'd say was, it took a wee while for our starters to come out, but, another large table had just ordered right before us, and also my sons garlic bread starter was a bit dry. But the other 4 starters were absolutely perfect.
If anyone is looking for a cracking steak, I would thoroughly recommend this place. Although the owner might have been glad to see the back of us as my wife broke a glass as we departed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laidlawjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We called into Sizzlyns after reading the reviews and found the owner to be the best bit of service we had all week. He was very enthusiastic and had our 3 year old laughing her head off.
We ordered various different cuts of meat and none of us had a bad word to say, all cooked the way we wanted them and good size portions well presented.
Well worth a visit for a keen steak lover!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nettydoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have been to Lyn and Ted's many times and always forget to report on what is and akways has been great food, and excellent hosts, just make sure you are hungry when you go, because you will leave full and happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petermac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best steakhouse i know!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

i found this place during a morning jog about a year ago, and gave this restaurant a try 2 days later. i wasn't disappointed. the owners were really polite and were happy to talk to a new customer. i was happily surprised while taking an order, that the owners asked, what i wanted to my plate (like salad or vegetables, baked potato or french fries etc.) That thing had never happened before (because i had been in other restaurants). I took an order and after 15 minutes of waiting came my dish. the steak was juicy and tender. it was the best steak i've ever eaten. the baked potato was sweet and tasty. the vegetables were fresh and really good. and if i'd be honest, the blue cheese sauce hit the roof. I was also delighted, that owners asked few normal things like "is your food good". they really seem to care from their customers. after the dinner, i paid my bill and talked a few quick words with ted and left. the price was about 22-24€. A bit expensive, but it was worth it. after that experience i went there few more times before i went back to Finland. i really miss that place. well, i'm going back to fuengirola in few days, and more likely the 1st what i'll do, is i will go for an evening walk, and visit sizzlyns again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rontu1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sizzlyns Steak House also viewed

Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing