We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I book this on line and thankfully got a good deal otherwise I would of been very upset.
The Good
The receptionist was fairly helpful
The hotel is brilliantly located. Trains were great and frequent
The rooms are fairly large.
The sea and promanede and are great.
The cleaners come each day, they will change the towels
The waiter who served the drinks in the restaraunt.
The pool and garden area lovely, the lifeguard was very visable.
The bad
The reception area is horrific there are only two very slow lifts. When you arrive nobody to take you to your room, this is meant to be a four star
The rooms are old, barely clean.
The resteraunt is horrific, the food can only be decribed as dreadful never hot only ever luke warm. The variety is non existent. Food from breakfast is served for luch and dinner.
The waiting staff just take your plate without asking or interacting.
The entertainmnet if you can call it that. Awful
the bar in that area the barman was just rude and made out he did not understand what you were asking for. The Sangria came from a packet.
This hotel has potential because of the location but it is tired and old and not interested in it's customers. I would not recommend going to this hotel until work has been carried out.

Room Tip: Balconies are very samll. get a room on the upper floors a little less noisy I imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dissappointed298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Many thanks for your time in writing your comments, we regret do not fill your expectancies.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

There are two faces to this hotel, depending on when you are there! During the week, it is very quiet with a feeling that the hotel is almost empty, and then the weekend arrives with an influx of Spanish people, coachloads of different age groups. Now, I love Spain and the Spanish, but the hotel has a completely different atmosphere at the weekend, so be prepared for noise!! and quite honestly, the pool bar doesn't cope very well with so many people!
It would help if AI guests could serve themselves to beer/ soft drinks/ water, this would alleviate the queue in the small hatch at the pool bar!
The hotel is in need of refurbishment and the air con in our room was noisy and not really effective at all. Entertainment is non existent, except when the Spanish arrive and provide their own entertainment which can be entertaining to watch if you can put up with all the shouting!
The positive side to this hotel is that it is very clean, the rooms are spacious, the staff are lovely, location is brilliant, gardens are well kept and both pool areas are nice with plenty of sun beds. Also, the Dining room is very pleasant and food generally good as are the AI drinks. For these reasons, I would return to the Torreblanca on my next visit to the Costa del Sol!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Julieteilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Many thanks for your comments, that the best way to improve our facilities.

We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is spotlessly clean. Its a little old fashioned by todays standards, but who wants to sit in a hotel all day when the sun shines? A short walk to the seafront, not too much of a problem for anyone, and even quicker by using a short cut through the lovely gardens. No problem in finding an empty sunbed when we needed one. Gardens are very peaceful and well maintained. The gardens/pool areas do have opening and closing times, this stopped those people who like to place their towels on a sunbed reserving a place. Food was similar most meal times, but we didnt go hungry! Easy to get served at the bar and a good selection of wines. All staff were lovely and always busy. On our last day, there was an influx of spanish families arriving for a holiday weekend. I believe that any hotel which is well loved and used by its own local people is a good hotel to stay in. This hotel was full with happy families of all ages. The free wifi in the reception area was an unexpected suprise for my teenage daughter!

Room Tip: Take the train from Malaga airport. Much cheaper than a taxi transfer and quicker than a bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank traceyteasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments, we will be pleased to see you in your next holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a 4 night all inclusive stay at this hotel as a late deal so really got a bargain. The rooms are very dated and would benefit from a refurb, however they are very spacious and extremely clean. The 2 pool areas in the gardens are lovely and are really nice place to sit and enjoy the sun. The food isn't fantastic, however there were 3 of us with very different tastes and none of us went hungry. The hotel is in an excellent position and the beach and promenade is a short walk away. The train station is behind the hotel (and you can barely hear the trains which stop running at night) and for a couple of euros you can go right along the coast. The hotels biggest asset is it's staff who are friendly and attentive. The hotel is advertised as 4 star but personally I think the hotel is more like a 3 star. However I feel we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and you will get a good view. Also get the train from the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaCumbria5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments about our hotel, we expect to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

sat in the lobby of the hotel torreblanca waiting for the taxi back to the airport and we're already missing the place. The staff have been courteous, the room fantastic, the whole experience has not disappointed us at all.

Room Tip: as long as you avoid being too close to the train line side, a pleasant holiday awaits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments, we expect to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just arrived back from Torreblanca hotel, was not a 4 star more like 2 star. Very clean and staff very pleasant. Spent 3 nights there became very noisy when lots of Spanish families turned up on the Saturday but were gone by sunday evening. Hotel needs complete make over carpets in hallways to rooms very dirty and stained. Food very much the same, not great variety needs to be definitely downgraded to 2 star or at the most 3 star so people know what they are getting. No entertainment very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments,

We regret did not filla your expectancies, we are considering some refurnished works, at the end of this season, during the closure.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

just got back yesterday from a two week holiday and can only say had a great time,yes the rooms are a bit dated but are huge,two double wardrobes good size bathroom large balcony air con and very clean. on ninth floor no problem getting lift yes you can hear trains but only when door warning goes off stop running midnight,with door shut cant hear them
food spot on always something there carvery every night pork,lamb,beef,chicken
good drinks in bar 2euro a pint 4 for a short but good measure
two good pools loads of beds
staff very friendly don't believe all the wingers complaining good hotel nice rooms and nice food,if you want tea coffee in room should read room info before you book tells you what you get.free tea and coffee every morning in restaurant
would recommend this hotel to anybody and would go back again,had a wonderfull time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments, we expect to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,079 reviews
2.8 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Globales Gardenia
Globales Gardenia
#11 of 37 in Fuengirola
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ronda 4
Ronda 4
#12 of 37 in Fuengirola
685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartamentos La Jabega
Apartamentos La Jabega
#10 of 37 in Fuengirola
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monarque Torreblanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarque Torreblanca

Address: Avenida Torreblanca s/n, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £49 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monarque Torreblanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monarque Torreblanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing