We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very pleased”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having just returned from a 10 night stay in June this year with our friends first time at this hotel,.We found the Torreblanca Hotel very conveniently situated with the sister hotel close by for a choice of the evening entertainment.The rooms are very spacious and clean.The staff very friendly and the food very good,something different to chose from every day.We requested a high floor with rooms next to each other and got both.Will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Great Location

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have sun in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments, please do not hesitate to contact us , before your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    272
    167
    46
    34
See reviews for
267
210
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If it is the night life of Fuengirola you are after, this is not the hotel for you.
While it is near to Fuengirola it is a train journey away.

If you want a quite resort this is the place to be. It has a few bars and restaurants and one or two shops but it does have good transport for visiting Malaga and other towns on the coast so it is an ideal location for day trips even to Fuengirola!

As other reviewers have said it is so easy to get to from the airport, just €2 from the airport. I will post a forum message about how to use the train if you want more details.

The Hotel dominates the area with a commanding view over the sea, no other tower block blocks the view.

The hotel is large and spacious and the staff are very helpful and friendly from the cleaners and gardeners to the reception and service staff in the bar and restaurant. And I mean very friendly, forget the comments about rude staff, we all have our off days, not that I experienced that.

The rooms are larger than most hotels, with an entrance hall with bathroom off to the side and another door to the bedroom and balcony off that. Since every room seems to have a balcony, which is a miracle of architectural design, they do overlook one another a bit.

The other clever design feature is that even though it is a large concrete block the rooms have the feel and decoration of a rural Spanish casa. The bathroom is not “dated green” but a design feature just as is the paint work and fixtures.

If you are on the side with the station you can hear the trains but with the balcony door shut you can’t and in any case it is not intrusive.

The restaurant never seemed crowded and plates were cleared rapidly. The restaurant staff were exceptional. The food was OK, if you have read any of my other reviews you will know I like my food but I don’t expect more than I paid for and I was content. The other guests seemed to really enjoy it especially the children Although I must say the pastry was as good as I’ve had anywhere at any price.

The evening entertainment was more suited to the young children disco dancing and quizzes and bingo for the adults. The bar staff were helpful and the home brand drinks acceptable.

The pool and garden areas were clean and not crowded there is loads of space.

All told it was a good hotel BUT

There are issues they are not on the day to day basis but in the general management of the hotel.
No one seems to have an overall managerial responsibility. My bathroom had not been check before I took over the room or I would not have had to complain. There was a really nasty dirty mark on the wall of the hall, the room was made up each day and towels change bins emptied but no one cleaned the hall wall!

The paint work had scratches, ok but some bits of the wall had been filled with poly-filler but not painted. Very poor maintenance even I could have fixed it.

People have complained about the lifts in previous reviews. One lift was broken from Sunday to Thursday. By Tuesday they said you could use the service lift while the mended the other lift. Great but they could have cleaned it! And in any case with customers complain about the lifts any half decent management would have sorted the broken life ASAP.

Just a trip on the lifts, they do get busy at certain times don’t go down to the restaurant at 8.00 go at 7.45 or 8.15, people seem fixed on going on the hour.

Bottom line as always, would I go again and the answer is probably yes or definitely yes if the hotel management improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreyPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks, we expect to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is our second review of the Torreblanca hotel, and judging by recent reviews, it must be like marmite .The staff are brilliant, special mention for Sylvia on reception ,Carmen in the restaurant and chef Palomas a top bloke,if only people tried to get to know them during the holiday.
The rooms are always cleaned to a good standard ,the food is varied with plenty of choice and well cooked .
The pools and surrounds are kept in pristine condition by a hard working team,granted the only downside can be the influx of Spanish guests at weekend, but after all it is their country .

Room Tip: it is swings and roundabouts the rooms at the back are close to the train line the rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we will be pleased to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I book this on line and thankfully got a good deal otherwise I would of been very upset.
The Good
The receptionist was fairly helpful
The hotel is brilliantly located. Trains were great and frequent
The rooms are fairly large.
The sea and promanede and are great.
The cleaners come each day, they will change the towels
The waiter who served the drinks in the restaraunt.
The pool and garden area lovely, the lifeguard was very visable.
The bad
The reception area is horrific there are only two very slow lifts. When you arrive nobody to take you to your room, this is meant to be a four star
The rooms are old, barely clean.
The resteraunt is horrific, the food can only be decribed as dreadful never hot only ever luke warm. The variety is non existent. Food from breakfast is served for luch and dinner.
The waiting staff just take your plate without asking or interacting.
The entertainmnet if you can call it that. Awful
the bar in that area the barman was just rude and made out he did not understand what you were asking for. The Sangria came from a packet.
This hotel has potential because of the location but it is tired and old and not interested in it's customers. I would not recommend going to this hotel until work has been carried out.

Room Tip: Balconies are very samll. get a room on the upper floors a little less noisy I imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dissappointed298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks for your time in writing your comments, we regret do not fill your expectancies.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

Cymru/Wales
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

There are two faces to this hotel, depending on when you are there! During the week, it is very quiet with a feeling that the hotel is almost empty, and then the weekend arrives with an influx of Spanish people, coachloads of different age groups. Now, I love Spain and the Spanish, but the hotel has a completely different atmosphere at the weekend, so be prepared for noise!! and quite honestly, the pool bar doesn't cope very well with so many people!
It would help if AI guests could serve themselves to beer/ soft drinks/ water, this would alleviate the queue in the small hatch at the pool bar!
The hotel is in need of refurbishment and the air con in our room was noisy and not really effective at all. Entertainment is non existent, except when the Spanish arrive and provide their own entertainment which can be entertaining to watch if you can put up with all the shouting!
The positive side to this hotel is that it is very clean, the rooms are spacious, the staff are lovely, location is brilliant, gardens are well kept and both pool areas are nice with plenty of sun beds. Also, the Dining room is very pleasant and food generally good as are the AI drinks. For these reasons, I would return to the Torreblanca on my next visit to the Costa del Sol!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Julieteilyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments, that the best way to improve our facilities.

We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is spotlessly clean. Its a little old fashioned by todays standards, but who wants to sit in a hotel all day when the sun shines? A short walk to the seafront, not too much of a problem for anyone, and even quicker by using a short cut through the lovely gardens. No problem in finding an empty sunbed when we needed one. Gardens are very peaceful and well maintained. The gardens/pool areas do have opening and closing times, this stopped those people who like to place their towels on a sunbed reserving a place. Food was similar most meal times, but we didnt go hungry! Easy to get served at the bar and a good selection of wines. All staff were lovely and always busy. On our last day, there was an influx of spanish families arriving for a holiday weekend. I believe that any hotel which is well loved and used by its own local people is a good hotel to stay in. This hotel was full with happy families of all ages. The free wifi in the reception area was an unexpected suprise for my teenage daughter!

Room Tip: Take the train from Malaga airport. Much cheaper than a taxi transfer and quicker than a bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traceyteasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we will be pleased to see you in your next holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a 4 night all inclusive stay at this hotel as a late deal so really got a bargain. The rooms are very dated and would benefit from a refurb, however they are very spacious and extremely clean. The 2 pool areas in the gardens are lovely and are really nice place to sit and enjoy the sun. The food isn't fantastic, however there were 3 of us with very different tastes and none of us went hungry. The hotel is in an excellent position and the beach and promenade is a short walk away. The train station is behind the hotel (and you can barely hear the trains which stop running at night) and for a couple of euros you can go right along the coast. The hotels biggest asset is it's staff who are friendly and attentive. The hotel is advertised as 4 star but personally I think the hotel is more like a 3 star. However I feel we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and you will get a good view. Also get the train from the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaCumbria5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico L, Gerente at Hotel Monarque Torreblanca, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments about our hotel, we expect to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
0.8 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
991 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
Hotel Monarque Cendrillon
#29 of 37 in Fuengirola
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monarque Torreblanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monarque Torreblanca

Property: Hotel Monarque Torreblanca
Address: Avenida Torreblanca s/n, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monarque Torreblanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monarque Torreblanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monarque Torreblanca Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing