We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
1 review
“Never again!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband i and my 14month old daughter stayed here from the 21st to 28 sept 2013. It was mostly old spanish and italian people staying. We stayed in the taller block, the room was so small, and we faced onto the harbour, just constant noise! Food ok, pool was on roof top, we went up once to see it, had to take lift then carry pram up a spiral staircase, to find a round pool all the same depth, so unsafe with just a fence around the edge. So we couldnt use it, lucky for us my parents were staying in club la costa resort, so we had to travel there everyday to use the pool. The entertainment was terrible, bingo, prize was to win a drink voucher! We were all inclusive! My big problem was i didnt have a fridge to keep m daughters milk in, i have been all inclusive before and always had a fridge in our room. The hotel is so dated, so needs some updating. Dont go!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear graceybaby,
First of all thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to know that you did not have a good experience in our hotel and we did not have fulfilled yur expectatives. We have taken note about your comments and it is helpful for us due to making improvements little by little, always depending on hotel availability in fact we will have the hotel renovated for next year. It would be pleasant for us that next timethat you will came to Fuengirola stay with us and you can check it.-
With our very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    211
    190
    108
    114
See reviews for
117
360
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A week in August for myself and my girlfriend - Brilliant!!
Having read the reviews I knew it would be alright but was taken back at how good it was.
The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views.
We stayed on the 11th floor in the larger tower and at night with the patio doors shut and air con on we never heard any noise that others have complained about.
The food was great and yes, chips are on every night but there are also many many other things. You are spoilt for choice at the amount of good food and if you do have the chips you'll want more as they taste lovely anyway.
Drinks in the hotel bar are cheap and shots are huge so enjoy!
The staff are always helpful and attentive and our room was cleaned every day.
Would love to return to this hotel and will definitely re book again and bring my 10 and 12 year old daughters.
Overall you usually do get what you pay for but this is a lot more.
Top marks for a lovely Spanish gem.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a sea view, breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please, our aim is your satisfaction, all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Fuengirola. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. We send our best greetings from heart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at El Puerto a few weeks ago and we were a bit apprehensive after reading all of the reviews about the hotel but we can confidently say we made the right choice. When we got there we were given the wrong sized room but this was sorted out immediately for us. Our room was on the eighth floor in the small tower which was great as it was very close to the swimming pool. The room was very clean and tidy. The maids came in regularly to change our towels and clean. We chose the bed and breakfast option and this was adequate for us as there was a wide variety of food to chose from. We found the bar staff very polite and friendly and they could not do enough for you. The entertainment was entertaining especially watching the Spanish oldies doing their version of the hokey cokey. We couldn't stop laughing but they were thoroughly enjoying themselves and it was nice to see this. We found the hotel was situated in a prime location by the beach and there were lots of restaurants in the area to chose from which was great for us. We had a fantastic stay and are going back next year.

Thank you El Puerto

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Rachel W,
First of all let us thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and for sharing it with the rest of Tripadvisor's users. We are really proud to know that our service and food have exceeded your expectations. We do our very best to continue improving our facilities to satisfy all the requirements of our clients. In the name of all the team of the Hotel El Puerto, we hope to see you again and have the opportunity to offer you a delightful stay. Greetings from heart,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We travelled as a group of 16 males on a 4 day golfing break, we switched to this hotel last minute due to major road works being carried out at our original choice.... and were upgraded to all inclusive....

Now then..... if you are travelling with a group like us this hotel will be absolutely fine, location great. drinks on tap all day restaurant OK along with all the food ...it is only a 3* hotel so your not gona get 5* quality!! but always found something I liked plenty of choice,

There are a lot of spanish people staying here, as for the reports of unfriendly staff giving the spanish priority... just try speaking to them in there language ..even an ola and a gacius rather than the rude oy mate.. they will love you and look after you

the rooms were a real let down but did have a safe, and you do only sleep in them, I understand they are due a total refurb in november

Swimming pool area up on the roof. no problems for us

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely go for the all inclusive,{the drinks alone made it superb value}

Great value for money

Room Tip: if you want to use the swimming pool regularly get a room that uses the same lift as there are two t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We value the feedback that you give us about the hotel, it's very important for us know the experience of our guests with your prospect, as it helps us to improve the quality of our services and thereby improve the satisfaction of our guests.Thanks again for the time you took to write about your experience. With our very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for a week in September bed & breakfast
Rooms very basic and urgently in need of update
Would give this hotel 1 star at the most
Carpets foul!
Staff unhelpful apart from lifeguard
34 sunbeds for the whole hotel
Breakfast like a cattle market
Food terrible only went the once-enough!!!
Only good point location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Kazdm,
First of all thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to know that you did not have a good experience in our hotel and we did not have fulfilled your expectatives. We have taken note about your comments and it is helpful for us due to making improvements little by little, always depending on hotel availability in fact we will have some rooms renovate.It would be pleasant for us that next time that you will came to Fuengirola stay with us and you can check it. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fuengirola hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights half board, after reading reviews before I left for my trip I went open minded yet a bit worried. However the hotel was perfect for us.
Clean reception and welcoming staff
Room clean and plenty of room
We were at the back on tenth floor so didn't hear a thing at night. There were lifts so issue about taking the stairs.
Most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.
Very clean rooms
Friendly staff cleaning rooms.
Food was average yet fresh and lots of it
Just cross the road and we were on the beach, close to bars, restaurants and shops.
Pool maybe on top of hotel but u don't need it because the beach is so close.
I'd go and stay again and again.

The only fault I could give is a slight smell of drains in our room. Yet we put all plugs in the bath and sink and the smell went away.yet Spain can have that issue anywhere u go.

Our stay was great, so big thanks to El Puerto
Xxxxx

Room Tip: Back of hotel, might not have a great view yet keeps u away from any noise if any as we never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear julie b,
First of all let us to thank you for sharing your experience in this prestigious web with the rest of travellers. For all the team is really important to know that we have reached your expectations. We work hardly every day just to get the guests feel like home.
Thank you again for your kind words. With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well where to start..................

RECEPTION STAFF
Reception staffs are very helpful and will try and sort out any problems that you have, but as with this hotel they can only do what they can within reason. I booked a sea view room and we kind of got one if you stretched your neck around the balcony corner to see one. The room was like walking back in to the early 1980's with very dated pictures in the alcoves. The carpet on the floor had seen better days, but I must say this, the maid service was excellent and they changed our towels everyday even thou we hung them back up to use again. Beds were made each day and changed at least 3 times a week. Overall the Hotel is in much need of a severe facelift to bring it in to the 2000's, paint, decor, bedrooms, self-service style eating place more on that later, and entertainment and bar service.

I did ask reception about my sea view and was told if we wanted one we would have to pay extra of which we did on our original booking and showed them the booking form from our operator and we also phone our tour operator and was told the hotel had been given all the instructions about our holiday.

The Hotel entertainment area well if your Spanish it was ok, but after the they left we was left with nothing at all not even a radio on. They have a large room on the 3rd floor that could do fantastic entertainment, but sadly it was closed and the downstairs area was used.

The pool was ok and you had a lovely view along the coast from the roof, but again the sunbeds are few and far between and if you want one you have to stand and wait for one, but if your Spanish or polish or Russian there is no problem you place your towel down and leave it and go for some lunch and return 3 or 4 hours later to use the sunbeds. We had one from 10am and were told that if we went for lunch we would lose them.

One rule for the English and another for the rest so it seems!!!

Restaurant.

We’ll all I can say about the self-service style buffet is what a shambles indeed!

Breakfast and evening meal was the same old same old for the full duration and never changed and after day 5 we started to eat out every day even thou we were half board, because we could not stand the hot dogs on offer for breakfast or the bacon which had more fat than meat on it or the chimps tea party from the large groups of polish guests eating the meals like it was their last meal ever and making sandwiches to take out even thou there were notices up saying not to do that, the staff ignored them doing so and you could clearly see what was going on by the large pile or mountain should I say on the table.

The food is very bland and has very little taste and when asking if the menu would change we were given the cold shoulder, all we wanted was some food to eat that was something apart from CHIPS or BURGERS, COLD MEAT OR CHEESE!!

If you go here be aware that there is a DISCO below the small block every Friday and Saturday night from 11pm to 7am and it is very loud indeed and if you want a good night’s sleep then staying above the disco it will not happen. We could hear the noise and we were around the back in block 2 the large one.

After this experience in the Hotel El Puerto I don't think we would ever go back to this hotel unless it had a major refurbishment and mean major. It’s ok if you want a cheap and cheerful holiday but this is not what we paid for and now we are going to take this up with the tour operator.

My recommendation is don't stay there sorry Hotel El Puerto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulG4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen S, Online Channel Manager at Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Paul G,
First of all thank yu for your feedback. We are sorry to know that you did not have a good experience in our hotel and we did not have fulfilled your expectatives. We have taken note about your comments and it is helpful for us due to making improvements little by little, always depending on hotel availability in fact we will have some rooms renovate. it would be pleasant for us that next time that you will came to Fuengirola stay with us and you can check it. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Laredo
Hotel Villa de Laredo
#19 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos PYR-Fuengirola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto

Property: Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Address: Paseo Maritimo Rey de Espana 32, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the seafront, where all the shops and restaurants, 30 meters from the beach of gray sand. The hotel has a pool located on the hotel roof, 1 bar and 1 restaurant( buffet). *The pool is closed to the public on specific dates due to private events and maintenance. For more information, please contact directly the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Puerto Hotel
El Puerto Fuengirola
Hotel El Puerto
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing