We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much. The hotel is nice and modern, the rooms are spacious. Only issue we could find regarding the room is that the toilet is not completely private. Not a deal breaker for us, but can imagine that not everyone likes that. Rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful.

Breakfast was great, lot's of choice and there was more than enough for everyone. The pool and the pool bar were superb and the location of the hotel with respect to various day trips to Marbella, Malaga, Ronda and Granada is also good.

In short, for us this was a great hotel and we would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Although all rooms have sea view (if you are at a higher floor), I would choose a room that is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvGestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have just returned from a second visit to this hotel which is quite unique in design and features a fabulous rooftop chill out area, bar and infinity pool. The area has fantastic sun beds which we named " dog baskets" as were great big round beds with cushions and we have never been so comfy and contented sunbathing. We visited last year when the hotel was new and the modern design is now showing a little wear and tear but no matter we will return again. Great not to have amy kids running around, screaming and jumping in the pools . Hotel beds really comfortable which to us is important. Overall a great find although we appreciate the quirkiness may not be to everyones taste.

Room Tip: Last year we got a deal on a junior suite which was fabulous if you want that bit extra but this yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rattybear1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel as a couple for a long weekend as we attended a wedding nearby. The hotel looks very trendy with a big airy reception with many objects of modern art around. We arrived quite late and there was only one receptionist working and there were people queuing up behind us. I sent in a room request prior to my arrival which was honoured. The rooms seemed a little small and probably because the hotel tries to follow a mini imagistic design concept, the rooms almost appeared a little bare.

After out arrival we went to the in house tapas restaurant which had very attentive and friendly staff. The menu was all written on a chalk board and was very diverse. The food was absolutely brilliant and the total bill was very reasonable. In the morning I went to the in house gym which was one of the best hotel gyms I have been to. Subsequently I went there every single morning.

We also had breakfast included in our deal which came as a buffet in a very nice open space with a terrace included as well. I especially loved the omelette bar and the female chef who made very generous and delicious omelettes. The rest of the buffet was also very diverse and constantly restocked. The only criticism was the fact that plates weren't cleared from our table fast enough. It's a little pet hate of mine.

During the day we often spent our time by the roof top pool where you stunning views over the costa del sol. The cabanas there were also quite comfy and I could have easily spent all day there.

We only needed to vacate our room by noon, which was very handy, check out was very efficient as well.

The hotel was nowhere near any other hotels or restaurants/bars, but I quite preferred the detached feel to all the hassle you would get being close to a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanno81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from this hotel, we found the hotel very clean, minimalistic and funky. Yes it is up a very steep hill so not for the less able bodied. The staff were always polite and helpful.

We caught an early flight from Bristol, when we arrived at Malaga airport we crossed the road outside the airport and caught the local train to Carvejal, (approx 2 euros) and then the hotels land train that stops at the station at the bottom of the hill.

When we got to the hotel our room wasn't ready, the staff put our suitcases in the luggage room, took our phone number, told us to use the sports club changing rooms and use the facilities and they would ring us when the room was ready, got changed and went to the infinity pool had a drink and Within the hour we received a call to say our room was ready, staff always polite and efficient. I recommend that you put shorts and tee shirt in a separate bag along with sun cream in a separate bag at the top of your luggage ready to get changed if your room isn't ready.

Let's start with some of the negative comments posted on this site, the hotel is up a severe incline as I have already stated, but is well served by the land train that stops out side the hotel every hour and will take you to either the supermarket up the hill or to the train station and beach down the hill. Be aware the train runs from 10.00am till 2.00pm and 4.00pm till 7.00pm a timetable is available from reception.

There are no tea making facilities, so take a travel kettle, buy your milk from the supermarket up the hill and store it in the mini bar. We caught the first train in the morning and did some shopping at the supermarket, had a coffee at a local cafe and caught the next train back to the hotel. We used the mini bar to store our wine, beer water and milk.

The hotel staff changed our towels when we asked, just put them on the floor as per instructions in the room, beds changed and made up every day, no complaints about the house keeping at all, housekeeping staff were always smiling and saying "hola"

Food was fine, standard hot and cold buffet food, with a choice of different meats and fish dishes to be cooked on the grill every night, we never had the same choice twice in our 5 day stay. The chef will offer you a selection of meat and you tell him what you want, then there are salads and rice dishes, along with a selection of sweets including cheese and biscuits my favourite. You have to pay for the drinks at the evening meal, if you order a bottle of wine you can use the lay away service where the hotel will store any remaining wine for you to drink at a later date. Breakfast was a mixture of cooked breakfast and continental style breakfast, coffee and toast were readily available, along with juices and Buck's Fizz if you want it. Staff were again very friendly and efficient.

We caught the land train to the local station a couple of times and went to Fuengirola for a morning, looked like a typical Costa town, with cafés and bars a plenty, didn't go at night, but I will let you know what the night life is like as I am returning next week for a few days on a golfing break. Went to Marbella on the bus from Fuengirola it took about 50 minutes as the bus stopped several times on route.

There is no entertainment at night, but this made clear in the reviews of the hotel. We relaxed and enjoyed our evening meal and went to the infinity bar for a drink and took in the stunning views from the bar. Drinks are not cheap, 5.00 euros for a beer and 15.00 euros for a cocktail and brandy and coke. We purchased some beer from the supermarket and drank that round the pool during the day. The TV has several channels, but you need to be patient to find an English speaking station, we watched Discovery channel most of the time, I now know how it's made!. The hotel as constant music playing everywhere, mainly trance/chill out music which is played at various levels during the day, it can become repetitive as it appears the music is on a loop and just keeps repeating itself, we took an I pod to listen to and so wasn't to bothered.

We used all of the pools, and getting a bed or lounger was no problem at the pool by the restaurant or the one in the sports club, we managed to get a bed at the infinity pool a couple of times by going up in the late afternoon. We also used the indoor pool at the sports club when the weather was cloudy on our last day. You can use the pool and cafe at the sports club, the food and drink was very reasonable.

There are a couple of things the hotel could improve on in that we were not offered a welcome drink on arrival although they are set up in reception, had one later in the week and the restaurant could utilise a plate warmer as if you don't mind the wasps and eat outside the food can go cool quite quickly.

All in all we really enjoyed our break as it was what we wanted, a stress free adult only break, in a modern comfortable hotel and if we can get the same deal next year would defiantly return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask offer a sea view room as others overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyLopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

THB is a bit unusual in that it won't work for everyone.  A cross between a modern art gallery with futuristic (or back to the 80's?) lighting, with pop/dance music pumping in restaurants and at the pool, it is hardly a romantic destination. Also elderly or unfit people will probably not like it too much: eg. 5th floor rooms have a steep staircase to the bedroom and some furniture is more aesthetic than functional.

However the hotel is simply fantastic for party groups and/or if you are looking for a short active escape and we would strongly recommend it for such travellers. We went there for sports and had a great time. Expedia's discount didn't hurt either ;)

What is great:
1. Sports facilities: make sure to book a court in advance, esp. on the weekend, as the club seems very popular with locals. I wish we tried the paddle tennis - it looks so much fun! But we would have had to rent the rackets and had never figured out working hours of the sports shop... BTW, you cannot put any sports club's charges to your hotel room so have your card (or cash for a private lesson) at hand
2. Infinity pool - a must!!! Very popular and best to get there early to ensure a good bed, although we had no problems. Best to get a bed further away from the speakers which were very loud.
3. The spa - a 'sports massage' is taken literally,  ie. I could still feel it 2 days later. Fantastic.
4. The bar in the sports club: great orange juice in the morning,  even better croissants,  super friendly waiter and... well they sell 1.5l watter bottles at a third of the price of a 0.5l from your minibar.
5. Al Rolo restaurant. Don't book the half board option. Buffet dinner is really nice but do go to the tapas restaurant one evening. It's fun, unusual,  and the food is great.  Take some sort of camera with you to take a picture of the menu on the big board. 

What is not so great:
1. Coffee. A minor complaint, but you would assume a Spanish place to serve decent one at breakfast but the THB manages to dissapoint here. You have to either negotiate a coffee from the big espresso machine (unfortunately not the default option, which is a strange 'all in one' coffee dispenser) or go to the sports bar (which does quite a good coffee) and pay for it.
2. No iron to use!? Seriously??!!!

Other tips:
1. Finding directions to places: a lot of people complained about this in  other reviews, didn't really bother us, although could be slightly annoying.
2. The hill - a bit of a climb from the town/beach - for us was just one more way to exercise,  so a value add, but I can imagine older/unfit people struggle.  The 'train' was fun too.
3. I thought the omelette to order was the best egg option from the morning buffet.
4. Almost everyone in the hotel speaks good/perfect English. Only the club's fitness classes are run in Spanish.
5. There was no problem with late check-out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szansonistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here and it is amazing. We upgraded to the superior double room which had a balcony that had the best view of Fuengirola. The location is perfect if you want to escape from the world but if you want to get out and about I would recommend hiring a car. Half board basis was perfect as the breakfast and dinner options were brilliant. The staff are friendly but need a few more on for the dinner service. We had an amazing time and as a travel agent I will be recommend as many people to go here as I can.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasmaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We are currently staying at the hotel for a week and despite being a little apprehensive after reading the reviews here - having already booked, we are very happy with our choice.
Yes we do have 2 single beds but we also have stunning distant sea views from our balcony, everything is very contemporary but this is the whole point of the hotel, it's designed with loads of light and airy space, everything works, excellent lifts, friendly staff and the food has been fine - we chose half board, and have eaten lunch next door in El Rolo which was an excellent choice and very reasonably priced. My wife has used the Spa and was very happy with the facilities.
We have taken the land train down to the beach and also hired a taxi down to Fuengirola one evening although I have to say I'm glad we aren't staying there!
The hotel is on a steep hill so I guess you will find it a challenge if you try walking or are not particularly mobile, but you can't have a view without being on a hill, and taxis seem to be plentiful and not overly expensive. Although the beach is quite a distance away - I read somewhere the beach is nearby but it isn't, there are some reasonably priced fish restaurants on the beach where your meal is freshly grilled outside, I had excellent sardines for a snack at an insanely cheap price.
Perhaps the reviewers who have been complaining have unrealistic expectations so disregard them and find out for yourself how good the place actually is. Clearly the Spabish are going out of their way to make visitors feel welcome and not overcharging them.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,064 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Florida Spa
Florida Spa
#2 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yaramar Hotel
Yaramar Hotel
#3 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Consistorial
Hotel Casa Consistorial
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range: £58 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing