We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Fuengirola
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Before coming away with my boyfriend we read some of the reviews and were slightly worried that the hotel looked too good for the price.

Overall, the hotel was amazing. The food was incredible- different every evening with a personal chef to cook meat and fish to order. The rooms were quirky and modern, with incredible views of the mountains and sea. The infinity pool was the highlight of the hotel - with sofa sunbeds, cocktail bar and relaxing music.

We both used the gym everyday, which was well equipped and pretty big for a hotel gym. Overall - would definitely give it 5*. The only recommendations we would give - would be to secure a sunbed on the infinity pool at 10am otherwise you won't get one for the remainder of the day. Also recommend using the nearby shops (up a steep hill) as drinks prices are V expensive - although this is easy to get around.

Did a day trip to a nearby town - train line is very close by,

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMoore1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, freedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests' experience at our hotel are enjoyable ones.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    562
    267
    133
    88
See reviews for
156
1,025
46
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Booked to stay at this hotel through Voyage Prive in January 2014 to get away from the UK weather. The hotel is easy to find if you stay on main highway. It is a very modern design and if I'm honest a bit too modern for my wife and I's taste. saying that the hotel is very comfortable and the staff were excellent and friendly throughout.
If visting makeuse of the roof top infinity pool and bar. Whilst it was only sunny for two days whilst there the pool area was lovely and made you feel you could have been anywhere. The rooms themselves are well equipped with large walk in shower and large bath. There is also a thriving sports club with a good selection of equipment free and machine weights. There is also a spa which we had use of as part of the VP experience. The Spa was very good not sure would have paid for it though. Food was very nice and good choice. The bar in the hotel lobby is quite strange and has no atmosphere so would probably put some people off,
Would i go there again? Unfortunately not too modern.
Would I recommend? Yes.
Did we enjoy? Yes

Room Tip: Sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streakySWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay wiith us met your expectations.

We will take your opinions into account because it will doubtless help us to improve our guests' experiences in the future.

Looking forward to receiving you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had 7 nights (29th Dec 2013 to the 5th January 2014) at this hotel. The hotel is very easy to find, just off the motorway. We highly rate the hotel and our experience.

The hotel is new, modern, quirky, minimalist in places, but has interesting design, art and features throughout the hotel. It has an amazing elevated position offering privacy, peace and fantastic mountain and see views towards Fuengirola.

The rooms are spacious, large balcony/terrace, again, with spectacular views. Beds, pillows are very comfortable, great nights sleep. Rooms have air conditioning and large flat screen TVs. Excellent power shower and bath.

The breakfasts were very full and varied, the usual breakfast range, with Cava, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meats, breakfast station for omelettes etc. The evening meals offered a choice of three starters and main courses with a range of salads etc. I think this was due to the hotel not being full. There was no problem getting an second main course. We had some delicious fish 4 out of the 7 evening meals.

The New Years Eve gala dinner was amazing, top quality food (crab/lobster, filet steak, a range of wines and Cava and selection of deserts), excellent service, great live band and disco, hats, masks, maracas etc, with free bar, with top brands. We lasted until 4.30am, but we hear it went on until 6.30am. Special mention to David who was the DJ for the night who also worked in the restaurant. He was spot on, warm and friendly and an asset to the hotel team. Javi (the only staff who stood out as being unhelpful and unfriendly, including to the Spanish) could learn a thing or two from David.

7 days comes with a free Spa ticket (worth 35 Euro), which was amazing, never experienced such powerful jets.

The hotel offers a full timetable of classes such as Pilates, yoga and spinning at 8 Euro a class, we never used this. Good size indoor pool which was free. The gym was also free and was fairly well equipped.

Roof top terrace and infinity pool is as shown on the hotel site, out of this world.
I can see why the hotel and experience wouldn’t suite everyone. It is slightly isolated, you probably need a car, and the hotel has no enteriantament team, but these are all a bonus for us. Go for it, we certainly would return.

Room Tip: We had room on floor two overlooking Fuengirola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirección T, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us four your stay in Costa del Sol and share with us your opinions and feedback.

We are very pleased you've enjoyed our New Years Eve gala dinner. Certainly, it was very lively and had a great atmosphere.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a 2 night New Years break. The hotel is set just off the motorway and way back from the beach. The road down to the beach was closed so it´s a long way round to access the coach and a car is necessary. The hotel itself is disappointing. The decor is very modern but so much so that it feels very unfriendly-there are no home comforts and it feels cold. The free parking in the garage was a nice touch. However, the room we simply did not like. The shower is next to the bed and the door opens out on to it which proved very impractical plus the toilet and shower door were see through so there was no privacy. We had a superior double room which apart from a very side view of the sea, the only difference it seemed was a bath which was placed in front of the patio door. Again very impractical as you stepped out onto the tiles and no where for your towel or toiletries and you couldn´t leave the curtains open!. The sink was behind the bed and so you felt surrrounded by the bathroom. There was a chair by the bath and some wood blocks but no where apart from the bed to relax. We did not sleep well as the mattress and pillows were very soft and we just didn´t feel cosy. The toilet seat was broken and one of the wardrobe doors didn´t open properly but there was a safe in the room and a mini bar if you wanted it. It had a TV which was ok but the angle to view it from the bed was not comfortabel. The staff were very friendly although you had to wait a long time to be attended to. I appreciate they have to cut back on staff with the recession but surely at New Year when the hotel is busy they could have had more staff working. The rooftop pool, although not in use is very nice and there are plenty of areas to enjoy the sun. When we arrived we were told we could use the gym and the indoor pool but as we didn´t know before, we hadn´t brought suitable clothes so could not use them. The New Years Gala dinner, we did enjoy, the food was very good and the entertainment and novelties. The breakfasts too were good so no complaints there. They have a good selection and a Show Cooking chef who seems to run the breakfast marvellously. They do have a spa and sports club next door which seems very popular and a restaurant but it was closed when we wanted to eat there. Unfortunately I wouldn´t stay there again as the rooms were not inviting-such a shame and not cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for a frontal sea view not side and not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutupointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in November 2013. It was our first romantic break away without the kids and was expecting a luxurious hotel that would blow you away, and that's exactly what we got. The location was beautiful and the scenery was fantastic, even the weather was great.

The room offered up a superb contemporary layout and the facilities in the hotel were great with a fantastic indoor pool and spa. We didn't really have much choice on where to eat on a evening, however the tapas restaurant was top class and HIGHLY recommended, the staff were helpful in getting you to grips with where to go and where to shop and how to use the tram service (which is invaluable with the steep hills).

The gripes we had was on the service, I ordered a bottle of champagne on ice for our room on arrival, which I was promised would be there and had to go and remind them about and there wasn't any restaurants to choose from to dine at in the evening and the room service menu needs improving with a wider choice. We were offered a mobile phone that we could use to order room service but would be charged for the calls, which was just wrong.

Despite this we would (will be) returning back there as it is a perfect retreat for adults only if luxury is what you are looking for.

P.S. Try the Twizy cars they are brilliant fun :)

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to get a sea view on a top floor and your bath overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Some people have slated this hotel but i feel most of there reviews are nit picking. It is true that the hotel has some fault's and the rooms although quirky in design are a bit floored in application. That said they are spacious and everything worked in our's, the fact that it is an adult hotel is a bonus no kids running around makes it a good place to relax.
The Spa is good and the infinity pool on the roof is very nice, I was a litle unsure about the stark and arty interior on arival but this grew on me. There are complaints on here about the staff and they are sadly justified, also the food dosent realy warant the hotels four star rating, that said there is plenty of it and its tasty enough. Overall i would say it is worth staying here if you want to find fault with the hotel there are things you can pick up on, that said for the money and for a relaxing break i found it fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonahA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013. Was very disappointed with it. In our opinion it was not worthy of 4 stars. The food was of a poor quality each evening. The hotel was out on a limb, no bars etc anywhere near it or shops. Would not recommend or return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malmoEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fuengirola hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,421 reviews
2.1 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#9 of 37 in Fuengirola
990 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Hotel El Puerto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Las Palmeras
Hotel Las Palmeras
#28 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mainare Playa Fuengirola
3.1 mi away
Las Rampas
Las Rampas
#4 of 37 in Fuengirola
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Address: Avenida del Higueron, 48 | Autopista Costa del Sol, Salida 217, 29640 Fuengirola, Spain (Formerly THB Reserva del Higueron)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Fuengirola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Fuengirola
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fuengirola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron is located near Malaga and Marbella, Spain, vibrant cities on the Costa del Sol. This private resort is in a tranquil area with stunning sea and mountain views, and is exclusively for adults 16 years or older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva Del Higueron Fuengirola, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing